Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Women's Studies Resources for Women Studies
Document Actions

Resources for Women Studies

Bibliographies:

American Women Artists, Past and Present: A Selected Bibliographic Guide  Over 500 women artists are represented in this work with both primary and secondary sources. Willis Library 1st floor GenRef Z7963A75T84 1984, vol. 1-2

Feminist Art Criticism: An Annotated Bibliography This work has 1099 actual entries, arranged in four broad categories: "Reference Tools," "Books," "Exhibition Catalogs," and, by far the longest section, "Articles in Periodicals and Chapters in Books." There are two types of annotations: those indebted to Artbibliographies Modern, Dialog, and RILA and those composed by the author.   Willis Library 1st floor GenRef Z5956.F44.L36 1993

Women Artists: An Historical, Contemporary, and Feminist Bibliography  There are 185 artisits represented and includes additional biographical references are provided for artists carried over from the earlier edition. The chronological range is from late Middle Ages through twentieth-century artists born before 1930, including painters, sculptors, photographers, printmakers, and craftswomen. Architects have been dropped from this edition. In all, 29 artists appear for the first time. Willis Library 1st floor GenRef Z7963.A75.B32

Women Artists in the United States: A Selective Bibliography and Resource Guide on the Fine and Decorative Arts, 1750-1986  Over 3000 U.S. women artists are here documented in the 3,938 publications reviewed. There are  two parts: Critics, Organizations and Resources; and The Literature of the Field. Topics researched range from biographical directories and exhibition catalogs through painting, contemporary crafts, and minority artists.  Willis Library 1st floor GenRef Z7963.A75W65 1990

Women in the Fine Arts: A Bibliography and Illustration Guide Contains a bibliography and an artist index. The bibliography is divided into general references, periodicals, exhibition catalogs, and newspaper articles. Willis Library 1st floor  GenRef Z7963.A75.A47 1991

Biographical Sources:

American Women Artists: From Early Indian Times to the Present  Arranged in broad chronological areas to show the realationship between the artist and her social and cultural background. Willis Library 1st floor GenRef N6505.R8 1982

Biographical Dictionary of Women Artists in Europe and America Since 1950  The two volumes present scholarship on women in art "from the Middle Ages to the present day, in countries throughout Europe as well as America and Australia." More than 20 key survey essays preface the main body of the dictionary and contextualize the latest knowledge found in the biographical and bibliographical entries of 600 women artists born before 1945. Willis Library 1st floor GenRef N6757.D86 1989

Contemporary American Women Sculptors An illustrated reference work that is the only source of information on American women sculptors as a group. Virginia Watson-Jones presents the accomplishments of more than 350 contemporary American women sculptors through photographs of their major works and detailed information about their lives and careers. For each artist information is provided on her birthplace and birth year, education, preferred media, major exhibitions, location of work in public collections, awards, selected private collectors, professional interests other than sculpture, teaching position (if applicable), and mailing address. Each entry also includes a statement by the sculptor and her signature.
Willis Library 1st floor GenRef NB212.W37 1986

Dictionary of Women Artists: An International Dictionary of Women Artists Born before 1900  The first reference book to attempt extensive coverage of women artists on the international level, offering entries on more than 21,000 women painters, sculptors, prinymakers, and illustrators born before the turn of this century. Entries were published regardless of the scarcity of information about the women included, the editor having adopted the philosophy that a little information was better than none at all. Petteys' magnum opus is a staple of all art reference collections, but what it offers in breadth it lacks in depth. Concise entries provide at most a biographical sketch before listing exhibitions and bibliographic citations. Willis Library 1st floor GenRef N43.P47 1985

Gumbo Ya Ya: Anthology of Contemporary African-American Women Artists  The work is divided into four sections. The sections are: education, activism, the varieties of feminist art, and the movement since about 1980. Bibliographies are included for each of the chapters and a fold-out timeline is found at the end of the volume. Willis Library 1st floor  GenRef N6538.N5G85 1995

North American Women Artists of the Twentieth Century Comprehensive source about women artists in the U.S., Canada, and Mexico during the 20th century Willis Library 1st floor GenRef N6503.N67 1995

This page is maintained by Gayla Byerly last modified Tuesday, July 22, 2008. 04:05 PM
Info
News and Events

 

Finding Books!

Finding monographic materials (books) owned by the University of North Texas Libraries is accomplished via the Online Library Catalog.

Finding Articles & Papers

Finding articles and papers can be accomplished via a number of electronic resources at the University of North Texas.

Interlibrary Loan

The University of North Texas provides Interlibrary Loan for those materials that our library does not hold.

Remote Access to UNT Electronic Resources

For those users associated with UNT that need to access our electronic resources from outside of the campus network the library maintains a Web page that lists the common plug-ins and other requirements necessary for access.

 

UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

Post Office Box 305190
Denton , TX , 76203-5190
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection