Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Document Actions

Transportation Terminology

Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990: Glossary of Terms (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency)
Defines terms related to transportation and air quality. See also Plain English Guide To The Clean Air Act - Glossary.
Commercial Vehicle Information Systems and Networks Glossary 
Defines terms and acronyms used in current Commercial Vehicle Information Systems and Networks (CVISN) documents and used in activities relevant to development of a national Intelligent Transportation System (ITS) system architecture for commercial vehicle operations (CVO).
Dictionary (Bureau of Transportation Statistics)
Definitions of thousands of terms and acronyms related to transportation. The terms and acronyms were obtained from various transportation publications and databases which exist within the federal government, private organizations, Canada and Mexico.
Glossary (Mineta Transportation Institute)
A good, general glossary of terms encountered in the transportation literature.
Glossary of Air Pollution Terms (California Air Resources Board)
Useful for understanding documents that discuss air quality and transportation.
Glossary of Commuter Choice Terms (Federal Transit Administration)
Defines key terms used in discussing a federal subsidies program designed to stimulate use of vanpooling and the like.
Glossary of Transit Terms (North Carolina Department of Transportation)
Definitions of terms used in the field of public transit.
International Pedestrian Lexicon (PedNet mailing list)
Definitions of terms related to walking. Includes French terms, English terms from the UK and North America, and Spanish terms from Spain and Latin America.
Maritime Glossary (Transportation Institute)
Maritime terms and the language of the sea.
Online TDM Encyclopedia (Victoria Transport Policy Institute)
The world’s most comprehensive information resource concerning innovative transportation management strategies. It describes dozens of Transportation Demand Management (TDM) strategies and contains information on TDM planning, evaluation and implementation. It has thousands of hyperlinks that provide instant access to more detailed information, including case studies and reference documents.
Transportation Research Thesaurus
The Transportation Research Thesaurus (TRT) was initially developed under NCHRP Project 20-32 to provide a tool to improve the indexing and retrieval of transportation information. The thesaurus covers all modes and aspects of transportation. A primary use will be to provide a common and consistent language between producers and users of the Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database. The thesaurus is currently also used as an indexing tool for federal, state and university collections. The TRT Web site allows users to access terminology through Alphabetical, Hierarchical, Keyword In Context or Keyword Out of Context displays. The full display shows relationship of terms, including SN (Scope Notes), UF (used for terms), BT (Broader Term), NT (Narrower Term), and RT (Related Term).
This page is maintained by Bobby Griffith last modified Wednesday, July 23, 2008. 02:43 PM
Info
News and Events

 

Finding Books!

Finding monographic materials (books) owned by the University of North Texas Libraries is accomplished via the Online Library Catalog.

Finding Articles & Papers

Finding articles and papers can be accomplished via a number of electronic resources at the University of North Texas.

Interlibrary Loan

The University of North Texas provides Interlibrary Loan for those materials that our library does not hold.

Remote Access to UNT Electronic Resources

For those users associated with UNT that need to access our electronic resources from outside of the campus network the library maintains a Web page that lists the common plug-ins and other requirements necessary for access.

 

UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

Post Office Box 305190
Denton , TX , 76203-5190
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection