Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Transportation Transportation Research and Education Transportation Libraries, Schools, Museums, and Research Centers
Document Actions

Transportation Libraries, Schools, Museums, and Research Centers

Databases, Libraries, and Archives

Intelligent Transportation Society of America (ITS - America)
In cooperation with the U.S. Department of Transportation, serves as an international clearinghouse for information about Intelligent Transportation Systems (ITS).  ITS comprises a number of  technologies, including information processing, communications, control, and electronics, joined to save lives, time and money. 
Cyburbia: The Planning Community
Cyburbia, established in 1994, is an urban planning social/community and portal site. Cyburbia includes a busy message board, image gallery, planning-related blog feeds, a wiki, and a directory of related web sites.
Directory of State Highway and Transportation Department Libraries (Minnesota Department of Transportation)
Contact information for libraries in most of U.S. States.
Federal Aviation Administration: Training
A collection of resources, including air traffic controller and flight schools, test guides, and curriculum materials.
FedStats (Federal Interagency Council on Statistical Policy)
One-stop shopping for statistics produced by United States federal agencies.
Harmer E. Davis Transportation Library U. of California Institute of Transportation Studies
Established in 1948, the Harmer E. Davis Transportation Library houses one of the pre-eminent transportation collections in the U.S., and is the country's oldest university transportation library.
National Library for the Environment
Created by the Committee for a National Institute for the Environment, a non-profit organization formed by leading scientists to urge upon the government that a National Institute for the Environment is necessary to improve the scientific basis for decision-making on environmental issues.   Good source for air quality issues.
National Transit Database (Federal Transit Administration)
The Federal Transit Administration's (FTA's) primary national database for statistics on the transit industry, the NTD is the system through which FTA collects uniform data needed by the Secretary of Transportation to administer department programs. The data consist of selected financial and operating data that describe public transportation characteristics.
National Transportation Data Archive (U.S. Department of Transportation)
The National Transportation Data Archive provides updated data, graphs, and charts on nationwide transportation statistics. Maintained by the Bureau of Transportation Statistics.
National Transportation Library (U.S. Department of Transportation)
Documents on a wide array of transportation subjects. Documents may be accessed by browsing under general subject headings.
North American Transportation in Figures (U.S. Census Bureau)
Examines transportation and transportation-related passenger, freight, economic, safety, energy, environmental and demographic statistics relating to Canada, Mexico and the United States. The project is a direct result of the North American Transportation Statistics Interchange, a tripartite initiative representing the transportation and statistical agencies of Canada, Mexico and the United States. Also available en espaƱol.
Transportation Library, Northwestern University Libraries
Hosts the Transportation Division of the Special Libraries Association.
T-REX Virtual Library (University of New Mexico)
The National Transportation Resource Exchange Center (T-REX) supports the Department of Energy's efforts to insure that information related to the transportation of radioactive waste is available, easily accessible, and relevant.
TRIS Online (Transportation Research Information Service)
Contains over 535,000 bibliographic records covering transportation research published in books, journal articles, technical reports and other media.  Coverage includes Federal, state, local, association, and international publications, providing indexing for publications from the 1960s to the present. Hosted by The U.S. Bureau of Transportation Statistics' National Transportation Library.
U.S. University Transportation System Links (American Public Transit Association)
A directory of academic transportation programs at United States universities. 

United States Institutions 

Bureau of Transportation Statistics (U.S. Department of Transportation)
Here you will find studies, databases, statistics, and more.  An excellent starting point for researching transportation subjects pertaining to the United States.
Center for Transportation Analysis (U.S. Department of Energy, Oak Ridge National Laboratory)
Conducts research and development on transportation energy and environmental issues, national transportation planning and policy, military transportation and logistics, and transportation systems engineering.
Center for Transportation Research (University of Texas at Austin)
A nationally recognized program of university research, education, and public service.
Council of University Transportation Centers (Texas A&M University)
Provides a forum for interaction between more than 50 of the largest such programs, including interaction with industry and government. An alphabetical membership list at this site includes links to member Web sites.
IDEA: Innovations Deserving Exploratory Analysis (Transportation Research Board)
Program funds innovative new concepts, products, or results that would accelerate the development and deployment of advanced transportation methods, processes, systems, or technology. The IDEA (Innovations Deserving Exploratory Analysis) program is divided into four areas: the National Cooperative Highway Research Program, the Transit program, the High-Speed Rail program, and the Safety program.
Institute of Transportation Studies (University of California-Davis)
Since 1991, the Institute has produced scholarship on applied transportation issues. The publications section contains many full text reports from the Institute's research activities.
Intermodal Transportation Institute (University of Denver)
Home to the 60,000-volume historical library of the former Interstate Commerce Commission. A national center for intermodal systems planning and assessment in partnership with Mississippi State University under the 1998 TEA-21 legislation.
National Highway Institute (NHI)
NHI is part of the newly-established Office of Professional Development (OPD) of the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA), which reports directly to the Administrator. NHI aims to work closely together with the four new Resource Centers to provide professional training to present and future members of the transportation community. See especially the Universities and Grants Program page.
National Renewable Energy Laboratory (U.S. Department of Energy)
The U.S. Department of Energy's premier laboratory for renewable energy and energy efficiency research, development, and deployment.
National Transit Institute (NTI)
Created under federal legislation at Rutgers University, NJ, the mission of NTI is to promote, develop, and deliver high quality education and training for persons engaged in federal-aid transit work in order to improve public transit in the United States.
Office of Highway Policy Information (Federal Highway Administration)
A repository of highway information and statistics. The Office collects, analyzes and distributes highway related data from federal, state and local sources. Selected documents and periodicals are available here for your review.
Research and Innovative Technology Administration (U.S. Department of Transportation)
Areas of work include transportation science and technology, advanced vehicle programs, remote sensing and spatial information applications to transportation, development of hydrogen energy, technology transfer, and university transportation centers.
Research, Technical Assistance and Training (Federal Transit Administration) 
Supports deployment of technological innovation to improve personal mobility, minimize fuel consumption and air pollution, increase ridership, and enhance the quality of life of all communities.
Southwest Region University Transportation Center
A consortium that comprises The Texas A&M University System (Texas Transportation Institute), The University of Texas at Austin (Center for Transportation Research), and Texas Southern University (Department of Transportation Studies ). The Texas Transportation Institute at Texas A&M University serves as the lead institution. The SWUTC is headquartered in College Station on the main Texas A&M campus.
Texas Transportation Institute  (Texas A&M University)
Conducts interdisciplinary and multi-modal research extending into the planning, design, construction, operation, maintenance, enforcement, economic, environmental, and social aspects of transportation.
Transit Cooperative Research Program (Federal Transit Administration)
Comprises three cooperating organizations: Federal Transit Authority (FTA); the National Academy of Sciences, acting through the Transportation Research Board (TRB); and the Transit Development Corporation, Inc. (TDC), a nonprofit educational and research organization established by the American Public Transit Association (APTA).
Transportation Research Board - Cooperative Research Programs
The Transportation Research Board administers two cooperative research programs: the National Cooperative Highway Research Program (NCHRP) and the Transit Cooperative Research Program (TCRP). These programs are jointly sponsored by various government agencies and non-profit organizations.
Transportation Technology R & D Center (U.S. Department of Energy)
A division of Argonnne National Laboratory. Brings together scientists and engineers from many disciplines to find cost-effective solutions to transportation issues. Information about fuel cells, alternative energy vehicles, intelligent transportation systems, vehicle recycling, etc., is available at this site.
Turner-Fairbank Highway Research Center (Federal Highway Administration)
TFHRC has more than 40 laboratories conducting research in the following areas: safety, intelligent transportation systems (ITS), materials technology, pavements, structures, and human factors.
University Transportation Centers (U.S. Department of Transportation)
The 1991 Intermodal Surface Transportation Efficiency Act (ISTEA) and it successor, the Transportation Equity Act of 1998 (TEA-21) both funded research centers and institutes at various universities. These programs are all listed at this site. Links to the actual program sites are available here.
Volpe National Transportation Systems Center (U.S. Department of Transportation)
An organization within the U.S. Department of Transportation's Research and Special Programs Administration, dedicated to creating awareness and fostering technical, operational, and managerial innovations in the transportation system.

International and Foreign Institutions 

International Guide to Highway Transportation Information (Federal Highway Administration)
A Federal Highway Administration publication that includes highway transportation libraries, information, and research centers; Web sites; document delivery vendors, lenders, and clearinghouses; bibliographic and non-bibliographic databases; and highway transportation associations, organizations, and other professional societies.
European Conference of Ministers of Transport (ECMT)
Affiliated with OECD (Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development). Provides a forum in which Ministers responsible for transport, and more specifically the inland transport sector, can co-operate on policy. Projects include the development of an integrated transport system throughout the enlarged Europe.
International Transportation Links (American Public Transit Association)
A comprehensive listing of transportation Web sites around the world, organized by continent.
Office of International Programs (Federal Highway Administration)
Works to improve the technological and institutional base of highway transportation system performance and program delivery in the United States and abroad. Goals include enabling domestic partners to gain easier access to technology, information, and markets beyond U.S. borders; facilitating international partners' access to information and contacts in the U.S. public and private sectors; and providing better access to U.S. technology and practices for developing countries and countries in transition.
Transportation Association of Canada
Forum for government and industry members to discuss transportation issues and concerns. Serves as a center for technical excellence in surface transportation infrastructure.
Transport Canada Library Services
The homepage of Transport Canada, a Federal agency based in Ottawa. The online catalog contains references to more than 100,000 books and technical reports on transportation and related topics.
Transport Canada - Transportation Development Centre
The Transportation Development Centre (TDC) is Transport Canada's research organization. It manages an R&D program that covers all transportation modes - air, marine, road, and rail - as well as transportation of dangerous goods, accessibility, human factors, and intelligent transportation systems.
Transport, Environment and Health (World Health Organization)
This page discusses transportation and the environment in the context of the Healthy City's Project of the World Health Organization.
World Bank: Transport
The World Bank is involved in lending to developing nations for construction of transportation infrastructures. It also tracks privatization of public sector transportation services.
World Road Association (PIARC)
The road system plays a vital role in the performance of economies, in the social functioning of communities, and in achieving effective land use and regional development. The benefit of PIARC's activity will be reflected in more efficient road administrations, an improved contribution of road transport to the wider economy in an integrated transport system, safer transport, and a more harmonious relationship among road transport, transport users, the environment, and society.
This page is maintained by Bobby Griffith last modified Wednesday, July 23, 2008. 02:43 PM
Info
News and Events

 

Finding Books!

Finding monographic materials (books) owned by the University of North Texas Libraries is accomplished via the Online Library Catalog.

Finding Articles & Papers

Finding articles and papers can be accomplished via a number of electronic resources at the University of North Texas.

Interlibrary Loan

The University of North Texas provides Interlibrary Loan for those materials that our library does not hold.

Remote Access to UNT Electronic Resources

For those users associated with UNT that need to access our electronic resources from outside of the campus network the library maintains a Web page that lists the common plug-ins and other requirements necessary for access.

 

UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

Post Office Box 305190
Denton , TX , 76203-5190
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection