Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Transportation Modes of Transport Waterways and Maritime Commerce
Document Actions

Waterways and Maritime Commerce

Information About Waterways and Maritime Commerce

Dolphin: Directory of Online Port and Harbor Information  (Texas Transportation Institute - Center for Ports and Waterways)
A Web portal linking to resources related to marine transportation. Topics covered include Economics & Policy, Environment, Government & Organizations, Infrastructure & Equipment, Operations & Modes, Research & Data, Security, and Services.
Major Texas Ports (Texas Department of Economic Development)
A map showing locations of all commercial sea and water ports in the State, as of June 15, 1999. Hyperlinks to port authority Web sites included, where available.
Maritime/Waterways Transportation (National Transportation Library)
Online publications related to maritime and waterways transportation.
Navigation Information Connection (U.S. Army Corps of Engineers)
Excellent source for U.S. inland waterway information, including information about locks and river conditions. Includes links to river maps.
SchedNet (HKSC Group)
Track sea cargo shipments, determine freight schedules for sea and air carriers, determine tariff rates, locate a freight forwarder, access daily shipping news. Coverage is international, but main emphasis is on Asian countries.
Ship Technology (Net Resources)
Well-organized site containing an international directory of ship-building companies, exhibitions, projects, and industry organizations. A useful feature is the products and services page, listing manufacturers of various component parts and sub-systems used in ship technology.
Waterways Journal
A weekly update on the issues affecting the inland waterways shipping industry.
World Ports (inforMARE)
Online newspaper devoted to the world of transports. Includes guides to nearly 1,000 ocean ports around the world, as well as general news about ports.

Government Agencies and Programs

CDC Vessel Sanitation Program (VSP)
A cooperative activity between the Centers for Disease Control and the cruise ship industry. The program assists the cruise ship industry in developing and implementing sanitation programs to reduce the risk for gastrointestinal diseases.
Center for Ports and Waterways (Texas Transportation Institute)
Established in 1995, the Center is a multidisciplinary transportation research and educational unit of Texas Transportation Institute.
International Maritime Organization
The Convention establishing the International Maritime Organization was adopted on March 6, 1948 by the United Nations Maritime Conference, which was convened in Geneva on February 19, 1948. The purposes of the Organization are to provide machinery for co­operation among governments in the field of governmental regulation and practices relating to technical matters of all kinds affecting shipping engaged in international trade; to encourage and facilitate the general adoption of the highest practicable standards in matters concerning maritime safety, efficiency of navigation, and prevention and control of marine pollution from ships.
Navigation Data Center (U.S. Army Corps of Engineers)
The U.S. Army Corps of Engineers is responsible for the operation and maintenance of the nation's waterway system to insure efficient and safe passage of commercial and recreational vessels. The support and management of economically sound navigation projects is dependent upon reliable navigation data. The Navigation Data Center (NDC) is responsible for establishing and maintaining a variety of navigation-oriented databases. These include databases of waterborne commerce, domestic commercial vessels, port facilities, lock facilities and lock operations, and navigation dredging projects.
U.S. Coast Guard
Ensures safe transportation on America's waterways and protection of the marine environment. Oversees merchant marine licensing and exams, vessel traffic management, the rules of navigation on waterways, vessel documentation and the operation of lighthouses.  Administers Vessel Response Plans, required of any marine vessels that carry oil as cargo.
U.S. Federal Maritime Commission
An independent government agency, responsible for the regulation of shipping in the foreign trades of the United States. Deals with licensing, registration, tariffs, anticompetitive trade practices, etc.
U.S. Maritime Administration (U.S. Dept. of Transportation)
Promotes the development of the merchant marine sufficient to carry the nation's domestic, waterborne commerce, a significant portion of its foreign commerce, and capable of serving as a naval and military auxiliary in time of war or national emergency. Also promotes development and maintenance of associated infrastructure, such as ports and shipbuilding and repair service.

Professional Associations

American Association of Port Authorities
Represents more than 150 public port authorities in the United States, Canada, Latin America and the Caribbean. In addition, the Association represents over 300 sustaining and associate members, firms, and individuals with an interest in seaports of the Western Hemisphere.
American Society of Naval Engineers
Mission is to advance the knowledge and practice of naval engineering in public and private applications and operations, to enhance the professionalism and well-being of members, and to promote naval engineering as a career field. Society membership is drawn from a broad spectrum of military and civilian professionals and students, engaged in or associated with the many facets of naval engineering.
American Waterways Operators
National unifying association of the inland and coastal tugboat, towboat and barge industry, serving as the definitive spokesman for the industry in Washington and around the country.
C-Port (Committee for Private Offshore Rescue and Towing)
C-PORT represents the commercial marine assistance industry that emerged following passage of a 1983 law prohibiting the Coast Guard from competing with private towing companies.
Inland Rivers, Ports and Terminals, Inc.
Industry association dedicated to enhancing the promotion and development of our inland rivers, ports and terminals as a vital segment of our economy and our national transportation system.
 Inmarsat
Established in 1979 to serve the maritime industry by developing satellite communications for ship management and distress and safety applications, Inmarsat currently operates a global satellite system which is used by independent service providers to offer voice and multimedia communications serving people who live or work in remote areas without reliable terrestrial networks, or travelers anywhere.
 International Association of Classification Societies
Deals with standards for hull structures and essential shipboard engineering systems - during design and construction and throughout a ship's service life. Members provide third party engineering analyses, followed by periodical verification of the ship's hull structure and mechanical and electrical systems, and provide statutory certification in accordance with various international and national requirements on behalf of flag administrations.
 International Association of Maritime Economists
An international forum for the exchange of information and views among those interested in the economic aspects of shipping, ports and other aspects of maritime economics. The interests span those of academics, managers and policy makers.
 Passenger Vessel Association
United States trade and industry organization includes all kinds of passenger vessel operators, from sternwheelers and ferryboat operators to cruise tour operators.
 The Transportation Institute
Dedicated to maritime research education and promotion. The Institute companies participate in all phases of the nation's deep sea foreign and domestic shipping trades, and barge and tugboat operations on the Great Lakes and on the 25,000 mile network of America's inland water ways. These operations embrace deep-sea and river passenger vessels, and liquid, dry-bulk, container and special purpose ships. Many are contracted to the U.S. military services.
Related content
This page is maintained by Bobby Griffith last modified Wednesday, July 23, 2008. 02:43 PM
Info
News and Events

 

Finding Books!

Finding monographic materials (books) owned by the University of North Texas Libraries is accomplished via the Online Library Catalog.

Finding Articles & Papers

Finding articles and papers can be accomplished via a number of electronic resources at the University of North Texas.

Interlibrary Loan

The University of North Texas provides Interlibrary Loan for those materials that our library does not hold.

Remote Access to UNT Electronic Resources

For those users associated with UNT that need to access our electronic resources from outside of the campus network the library maintains a Web page that lists the common plug-ins and other requirements necessary for access.

 

UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

Post Office Box 305190
Denton , TX , 76203-5190
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection