Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Transportation Modes of Transport Bicycling and Walking
Document Actions

Bicycling and Walking

America Walks
Non-profit national coalition of local advocacy groups dedicated to promoting walkable communities. Their mission is to foster the development of community-based pedestrian advocacy groups and to educate the public about the benefits of walking.
 Bicycle and Pedestrian Transportation (NCTCOG)
Bicycle and pedestrian modes of travel are recognized nation-wide as cost-efficient ways to address mobility and air quality concerns. The Bicycle and Pedestrian Transportation Task Force, sponsored by NCTCOG's Department of Transportation, is designed to spearhead regional efforts to insure safety and efficiency in this growing field.
Bikeability Checklist (Pedestrians and Bicycle Information Center)
A checklist to help determine if your neighborhood is "bikeable."
BikeWeb (NTCOG)
This site provides a wealth of information about existing and future bicycle and pedestrian trails in the DFW metropolitan planning area.
Encycleopedia
This buyer's guide provides manufacturer's profiles and contact information for the very latest in cutting-edge, human-powered transportation.
International Human-Powered Vehicle Association (IHPVA)
The IHPVA is an association of national associations and organizations dedicated to promoting improvement, innovation, and creativity in the use of human power, especially in the design and development of human-powered vehicles.
League of American Bicyclists
This is the national voice for cyclists, working with Congress, the Department of Transportation, and other agencies to ensure that cycling interests are well represented. In addition, the League provides support and information to state and local bicycle advocacy organizations on a daily basis, strengthening their efforts to increase and improve facilities for cyclists.
Mean Streets 2000 (Surface Transportation Policy Partnership)
Per mile traveled, pedestrians are 36 times more likely to die in a collision than drivers. In this report, STPP examines the pedestrian safety problem through analysis of federal safety, health, and spending statistics.
National Center for Bicycling and Walking
Resources for bicycle and pedestrian advocacy and policy-making.
Nonmotorized Transportation (National Transportation Library)
Use the NTL Transportation Research Thesaurus to navigate a database of online documents related to bicycling and walking.
Pedestrian and Bicycling Information Center
A clearinghouse for information about health and safety, engineering, advocacy, education, enforcement and access and mobility, funded by the U.S. Dept. of Transportation and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
Pedestrian & Bicycle Safety Research Page (Turner-Fairbank Highway Research Center, FHWA)
Research pertaining to bicycling and pedestrian safety. Includes information about the Bicycle Compatibility Index (BCI) and other planning tools.
Partnership for a Walkable America
National coalition working to improve the conditions for walking in America and to increase the number of Americans who walk regularly. The members are national governmental agencies and non-profit organizations concerned about three main areas: health, safety, and the environment. Sponsors the Walk and Bike to School Web site.
Pedestrian Safety and Bicycle Safety (Federal Highway Administration)
An overview of safety issues and collection of resources.
Rails-to-Trails Conservancy
Advocacy group whose original goal was to work toward creating a nationwide network of public trails from former rail lines and connecting corridors. Also engaged with the federally-mandated Recreational Trails Program.
Roadless Area Conservation (U.S. Forest Service)
This site is devoted to an effort to protect approximately 50 million acres of inventoried roadless lands, concentrated mainly in U.S. National Forests.
Texas Bicycle Coalition
Bicycle advocacy organization working to promote access, safety, and education for all Texans.
Traffic Calming Measures (Institute for Transportation Engineers)
A series of fact sheets about traffic calming measures, mainly physical, that reduce the negative effects of motor vehicle use, alter driver behavior, and improve conditions for non-motorized street users. Includes a searchable Traffic Calming Library of over 100 full text documents.
This page is maintained by Bobby Griffith last modified Wednesday, July 23, 2008. 02:44 PM
Info
News and Events

 

Finding Books!

Finding monographic materials (books) owned by the University of North Texas Libraries is accomplished via the Online Library Catalog.

Finding Articles & Papers

Finding articles and papers can be accomplished via a number of electronic resources at the University of North Texas.

Interlibrary Loan

The University of North Texas provides Interlibrary Loan for those materials that our library does not hold.

Remote Access to UNT Electronic Resources

For those users associated with UNT that need to access our electronic resources from outside of the campus network the library maintains a Web page that lists the common plug-ins and other requirements necessary for access.

 

UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

Post Office Box 305190
Denton , TX , 76203-5190
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection