Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Transportation Modes of Transport Aviation and Aerospace Industry
Document Actions

Aviation and Aerospace Industry

Associations

Airports Council International (ACI)
Fosters cooperation among member airports and between airports and other partners in world aviation, including governmental, airline, and aircraft manufacturing organizations.  Primary source for data on airport passenger traffic.
Flight Safety Foundation
Offers a collection of online Flight Safety Digests.
International Civil Aviation Association
The major international organization concerned with coordination of civil aviation and establishing international standards.
International Federation of Air Traffic Controllers' Associations
IFATCA is the non-political and non-industrial world professional organization representing approximately 50,000 air traffic controllers 125 countries. Among its goals are the promotion of safety, regularity in international air navigation, and the protection and safeguarding of the interests of the air traffic control profession.
 International Organization of Women Pilots
Known as The Ninety-Nines. Founded in 1929 by 99 licensed women pilots for the mutual support and advancement of aviation. The present-day mission is unchanged.
 National Air Traffic Controllers Association
A federal sector labor union, NATCA represents over 20,000 air traffic controllers, engineers, and other safety related professionals. The Web site provides current legislative information related to air traffic control.

Industry Information

Jetliner Database
A database of commercial airline jets. Search this database by registration number, airline/operator, or manufacturer.
Madden's Air Transportation Safety Resources
A directory of commercial air safety resources.
PlaneBusiness
Offers analysis and discussion of the aviation industry, including financial and market information.
Aviation and Aerospace Virtual Libraries
A directory of web resources maintained at the Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University.

Government Resources

Air Traffic Control Command Center (FAA)
Click on any one of 40 major airports, including Dallas-Fort Worth International, to receive information in real time information about flight delays.
Aviation Accident Database & Synopses (National Transportation Safety Board)
The NTSB aviation accident database contains information from 1962 and later about civil aviation accidents and selected incidents within the United States, its territories and possessions, and in international waters.
Aviation Consumer Protection Division (U.S. Department of Transportation)
At this site, the federal government will log and investigate consumer complaints about matters pertaining to air travel.
Aviation Weather Center (NOAA)
Current weather forecasts, advisories and additional information about flight conditions related to weather and natural phenomena.
 Commercial Airports in Texas (Texas Department of Economic Development)
A map showing locations of all commercial airports in the state. Hyperlinks to airport Web sites are included when available.
 Federal Aviation Administration (FAA)
The FAA oversees the safety of civil aviation, including the issuance and enforcement of regulations and standards related to the manufacture, operation, certification and maintenance of aircraft. The agency is responsible for the rating and certification of airmen and for certification of airports serving air carriers. It also regulates a program to protect the security of civil aviation, and enforces regulations under the Hazardous Materials Transportation Act for shipments by air. The FAA, which operates a network of airport towers, air route traffic control centers, and flight service stations, develops air traffic rules, allocates the use of airspace, and provides for the security control of air traffic to meet national defense requirements.
 National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
NASA has important responsibilities in aerospace technology, space exploration, and in the development of earth and space science.
This page is maintained by Bobby Griffith last modified Wednesday, July 23, 2008. 02:44 PM
Info
News and Events

 

Finding Books!

Finding monographic materials (books) owned by the University of North Texas Libraries is accomplished via the Online Library Catalog.

Finding Articles & Papers

Finding articles and papers can be accomplished via a number of electronic resources at the University of North Texas.

Interlibrary Loan

The University of North Texas provides Interlibrary Loan for those materials that our library does not hold.

Remote Access to UNT Electronic Resources

For those users associated with UNT that need to access our electronic resources from outside of the campus network the library maintains a Web page that lists the common plug-ins and other requirements necessary for access.

 

UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

Post Office Box 305190
Denton , TX , 76203-5190
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection