Government Transportation Agencies
- Congressional Agencies and Committees
- Executive Agencies and Programs
- Independent Agencies
- Defunct Federal Agencies
- State and Local Agencies
Congressional Agencies and Committees
- General Accounting Office
- The General Accounting Office is the investigative arm of Congress. Charged with examining matters relating to the receipt and disbursement of public funds, GAO performs audits and evaluations of Government programs and activities. GAO reports may be searched by topic, including transportation.
- U.S. House of Representatives: Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure
- Oversees the highway, aviation, rail and maritime transportation systems and the U.S. Coast Guard. Site contains information on major, pending legislation.
- U.S. Senate - Committee on Environment and Public Works
- Mandate includes legislative responsibility for the development of the interstate highway system and review of new technologies and scientific standards in achieving infrastructure growth. Has oversight of Superfund program, the Department of Transportation's Federal Highway Administration, and the Coast Guard. Also oversees the Environmental Protection Agency.
- U.S. Senate - Committee on Science, Commerce & Transportation
- Maintains subcommittees on Aviation, Surface Transportation and Merchant Marine, and Oceans and Fisheries.
Executive Agencies and Programs
- CDC: Vessel Sanitation Program (VSP)
- Because of several major disease outbreaks on cruise vessels, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) established the Vessel Sanitation Program (VSP) in 1975 as a cooperative activity with the cruise ship industry. The program assists the cruise ship industry in fulfilling its responsibility for developing and implementing comprehensive sanitation programs in order to minimize the risk for gastrointestinal diseases.
- Office of Government Policy's Transportation Management Policy Division
- Operating under the aegis of GSA's Office of Government-wide Policy, this entity addresses matters having to do with regulation and control of the U.S. Government's purchase of commercial transport services.
- National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
- NASA comprises a headquarters facility and sixteen distinct centers. This agency has important responsibilities in aerospace technology, space exploration, and in the development of earth and space science. NASA's Goddard and Wallops Libraries maintain catalogs that are searchable from the Web. Units of particular relevance to transportation studies include:
- Innovative Partnerships Program
- Explore NASA technology and access opportunities for technology transfer, development and collaboration with NASA. There is also a searchable database called TechFinder, which includes information from; NASA research centers about technologies that may have commercial potential and benefits.
- Aeronautics Research Mission Directorate
- This Office, located at NASA's headquarters, works on developing better airplanes and future launch vehicles (rockets) and is responsible for technology transfer and commercialization.
- Aviation Safety and Security Program
- NASA is working with various partners to research safety and security issues related to aircraft, weather, aviation systems, and aircraft and systems vulnerability
- FreedomCAR & Vehicle Technologies Program (U.S. Dept. of Energy)
- The goal of this initiative is to fund research for supporting the development of emission- and petroleum-free cars and light trucks. Areas of research include vehicle systems, materials, fuels, and engines and emission controls.
- U.S. Global Change Research Information Office (GCRIO)
- The burning of fossil fuel (e.g., diesel and gasoline derived from petroleum) is strongly implicated in global warming. This agency provides access to data and information on global environmental change research, adaptation/mitigation strategies and technologies, and global change related educational resources on behalf of the U.S. Global Change Research Program (USGCRP) and its participating federal agencies and organizations. GCRIO is implemented by The Center for International Earth Science Information Network (CIESIN) at Columbia University.
- U.S. Department of Homeland Security
- U.S. Customs and Border Protection of the Department is responsible for protecting our nation's borders. The U.S. Coast Guard ensures safe transportation on America's waterways and protection of the marine environment. The Transportation Security Administration is charged with protecting the nation's transportation systems, including airport and port security.
- U.S. Department of Transportation
- The mission of the Department of Transportation is to "serve the people of the United States by ensuring a fast, safe, efficient, accessible and convenient transportation system that meets our vital national interests and enhances the quality of life of the American people." It consists of the Office of the Secretary and ten individual operating administrations, which are described below. The department also includes a National Transportation Library. The operating administrations are:
- Bureau of Transportation Statistics (BTS)
- BTS compiles, analyzes, and makes accessible information on the nation's transportation systems; collects information on intermodal transportation and other areas as needed; and works to enhance the quality and effectiveness of government statistics. BTS is a statistical agency, a mapping agency, and an organization for transportation analysis. The TRIS Online (Transportation Research Information Service) database, with over 400,000 items, is perhaps its foremost product. The latest BTS product is TranStats: The Intermodal Transportation Database, a central access point to a broad collection of transportation data designed to provide one stop shopping for transportation data.
- Federal Aviation Administration (FAA)
- The Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) oversees the safety of civil aviation, including the issuance and enforcement of regulations and standards related to the manufacture, operation, certification, and maintenance of aircraft. "The agency is responsible for the rating and certification of airmen and for certification of airports serving air carriers. It also regulates a program to protect the security of civil aviation, and enforces regulations under the Hazardous Materials Transportation Act for shipments by air. The FAA, which operates a network of airport towers, air route traffic control centers, and flight service stations, develops air traffic rules, allocates the use of airspace, and provides for the security control of air traffic to meet national defense requirements."
- Federal Highway Administration (FHWA)
- The Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) coordinates highway transportation programs in cooperation with states and other partners to enhance the country's safety, economic vitality, quality of life, and the environment. Major program areas include the Federal-Aid Highway Program, which provides federal financial assistance to the States to construct and improve the National Highway System, urban and rural roads, and bridges. This program provides funds for general improvements and development of safe highways and roads.
- Federal
Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA)
-
The primary mission of this agency is to reduce crashes, injuries, and fatalities
involving large trucks and buses.
- Federal Railroad
Administration (FRA)
- The FRA promotes safe and environmentally sound rail transportation. With the responsibility of ensuring railroad safety throughout the nation, the FRA employs safety inspectors to monitor railroad compliance with federally mandated safety standards including track maintenance, inspection standards and operating practices. The FRA conducts research and development tests to evaluate projects in support of its safety mission and to enhance the railroad system as a national transportation resource. Public education campaigns on highway-rail grade crossing safety and the danger of trespassing on rail property are also administered by FRA.
- Federal Transit
Administration (FTA)
- The FTA assists in developing improved
mass transportation system for cities and communities nationwide. Through its grant
programs, FTA helps plan, build, and operate transit systems with
convenience, cost and accessibility in mind. While buses and rail vehicles
are the most common type of public transportation, other kinds include
commuter ferryboats, trolleys, inclined railways, subways, and people
movers.
- Maritime Administration (MARAD)
- MARAD promotes development of the United States merchant marine, which carries waterborne commerce and serves as a naval and military auxiliary in time of war or national emergency. MARAD also seeks to ensure that the United States enjoys adequate shipbuilding and repair service, efficient ports, and effective intermodal water and land transportation systems.
- National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA)
- NHTSA is responsible for reducing deaths, injuries and economic losses resulting from motor vehicle crashes. NHTSA sets and enforces safety performance standards for motor vehicles and equipment, and through grants to state and local governments enables them to conduct effective local highway safety programs. NHTSA investigates safety defects in motor vehicles, sets and enforces fuel economy standards, helps states and local communities reduce the threat of drunk drivers, promotes the use of safety belts, child safety seats and air bags, investigates odometer fraud, establishes and enforces vehicle anti-theft regulations and provides consumer information on motor vehicle safety topics.
- Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration (PHMSA)
- PHMSA has public responsibilities for safe and secure movement of hazardous materials to industry and consumers by all transportation modes, including the nation's pipelines.
- Research
and Innovative Technology Administration (RITA)
- RITA is dedicated soley to the advancement of the U.S. Department of Transportation's research and innovative technology program. RITA allows the Department to more effectively coordinate and manage the Department's research portfolio and expedite implementation of cross-cutting innovative technologies.
- Saint
Lawrence Seaway Development Corporation (SLDC)
- SLSDC, in tandem with the Saint Lawrence Seaway Authority of Canada, oversees operations safety, vessel inspections, traffic control, and navigation aids on the Great Lakes and the Saint Lawrence Seaway. It also works to develop trade opportunities to benefit port communities, shippers and receivers and related industries in the Great Lakes area.
- Surface Transportation Board (STB)
- STB is an independent, bipartisan, adjudicatory body organizationally housed within the Department of Transportation. It is responsible for the economic regulation of interstate surface transportation, primarily railroads, within the United States. It is the successor to the now defunct Interstate Commerce Commission (ICC).
Independent Agencies
- Amtrak
- Formally designated as the National Railroad Passenger Corporation, Amtrak is concerned with intercity passenger rail service in the United States. This site is mainly oriented toward prospective passengers, but substantive agency information can be found in the News & Media section. See also the archived web site of the Amtrak Reform Council, an independent Federal oversight commission established under the provisions of the Amtrak Reform and Accountability Act of 1997. It issued its final report in 2002, but the site still provides valuable background information on reform efforts.
- Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
- The EPA hosts several offices and programs that have a direct bearing on transportation issues, including the following:
- Railroad Retirement Board (RRB)
- The RRB's primary function is to administer comprehensive retirement-survivor and unemployment-sickness benefit programs for the nation’s railroad workers and their families, under the Railroad Retirement and Railroad Unemployment Insurance Acts. In connection with the retirement program, the RRB has administrative responsibilities under the Social Security Act for certain benefit payments and railroad workers’ Medicare coverage.
- National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB)
- The National Transportation Safety Board investigates civil aviation accidents in the United States and significant accidents in the other modes of transportation - highway, marine, pipeline and hazardous material, and railroad. It also conducts special investigations and safety studies and issues safety recommendations to prevent future accidents.
- U.S. Federal Maritime Commission (FMC)
- The FMC is responsible for the regulation of shipping in the foreign trades of the United States.
- U.S. Transportation Command (USTRANSCOM)
- USTRANSCOM manages America's global defense transportation system, and coordinates transportation logistics for the U.S. military forces.
Defunct Federal Agencies
As Federal agencies cease operations, their Web sites are maintained for archival purposes at the University of North Texas Libraries CyberCemetery.
The following agencies no longer exist:
- National Civil Aviation
Review Commission (NCARC)
- The commission was created by Congress in the Federal Aviation Reauthorization Act of 1996 (Section 274: Independent Assessment of FAA Financial Requirements; Establishment of a National Civil Aviation Review Commission) (49 USC 40101nt). This site exists exactly as it did when the Commission closed operation in December 1997. All documents published by the Commission are contained in the Research Collection.
- Office of Technology Assessment (OTA)
- For 23 years, until its closure in September 1995, OTA provided Congressional members and committees with objective and authoritative analysis of the complex scientific and technical issues of the late 20th century. Publications may be searched and may be browsed by title and by year.
- Office of Technology Applications - Highway TechNet
- Until May of 1997, this Office operated under the aegis of the U.S. Department of Transportation. Its mission was to facilitate timely identification and assessment of innovative research results, technology, and products and the application of those that were determined to be of potential benefit to the highway community.
State and Local Agencies
Directories of State Agencies
- Regional Councils of Governments and Metropolitan Planning Organizations (Association of Bay Area Governments)
- Metropolitan Planning Organizations (MPO) often work together with State environmental protection agencies in the development of plans for attainment of federal air quality standards.
- State Transportation Web Sites (Federal Highway Administration)
- A directory of links to Departments of Transportation in all 50 States.
- State Environmental Agencies (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency)
- This site provides a comprehensive directory of state environmental departments. Many of these are mandated by state law to be the lead agencies in managing the State Implementation Plans (SIP) required under provisions of the Clean Air Act, as amended in 1990.
State-Level Agencies in Texas
- Business and Industry Data Center (Texas Department of Economic Development)
- Provides economic data on many facets of transportation in Texas, including aerospace, the automotive industry, highways and trucking, ports, and rail transportation.
- Environmental Protection Agency, Region 6
- Provides access to State Air Information Plans (SIPS) designed to bring metropolitan "non-attainment" areas into conformance with provisions of the Clean Air Act.
- Railroad Commission of Texas
- Relevant divisions of this State agency include those dealing with Rail and Alternative Fuels Research and Education.
- Southwest Transit Association
- Represents transit agencies and others interested in public transit issues in the states of Arizona, Arkansas, Kansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas. Members include transit agencies (urban and rural), state transit associations, state departments of transportation, municipalities, transit consultants and transit manufacturers and suppliers.
- Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ)
- Among other functions, this agency plays a leading role in addressing air quality issues related to transportation.
- Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT)
- The primary state agency overseeing transportation issues in Texas. Their Metro Road Conditions site includes information about highway lane closings in major urban areas throughout the state.
Regional and Local Agencies in Texas
- Air Quality (NCTCOG)
- In 2004, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) designated nine counties in North Central Texas as nonattainment for the 8-hour ozone in accordance with the National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS). NCTCOG works in cooperation with federal, state, and local partners to ensure all air quality requirements are met. NCTCOG strives to achieve attainment of the ozone NAAQS as early as possible and contribute to a better quality of life for all North Texans.
- BikeWeb (NCTCOG)
- Offers a bicycle-pedestrian trail information system for the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex. This site provides a wealth of information about existing and future bicycle and pedestrian trails in the DFW metropolitan planning area.
- Dallas Area Rapid Transit (DART)
- Supplies public transport services for Dallas and 12 suburban cities including light rail and commuter rail services, a fleet of nearly 1,000 buses and vans. DART also provides lift-equipped van service for mobility-impaired customers (paratransit), plus special rideshare and transportation management programs for commuters and large employers.
- Dallas-Fort Worth Clean Cities Technical Coalition (NCTCOG)
- The DFW Clean Cities is a locally based, private and public partnership
group that works to advance the economic, environmental, and energy
security goals of the United States by supporting local decisions to
adopt practices that contribute to the reduction of petroleum
consumption in the transportation sector.
- Denton County Transportation Authority (DCTA)
- Information about regional transportation planning in Denton County, including the development and construction of a Regional Rail system to connect Denton County to the Dallas Area Rapid Transit (DART) system.
- DFW Commuter Traffic Study (Aerial
Photo-Surveys) (NCTCOG)
- During 1999/2000 and again in 2003, a series of aerial photo-surveys, showing highway traffic performance, were conducted in the Dallas-Fort Worth Metropolitan Area. The purpose of these surveys is to facilitate detailed assessment of both system-wide and site-specific freeway system deficiencies. This information helps to identify potential locations for freeway bottleneck improvements as well as major corridor needs. It also enables decisionmakers to compare long-term congestion trends and to evaluate the benefits of the transportation improvement strategies being implemented over the next few years.
- DFW Traffic Conditions (Texas Department of Transportation)
- Fort Worth and Dallas District offices of the Texas Department of Transportation have joined forces with local governments to launch a comprehensive traffic management program using Intelligent Transportation Systems (ITS).
- Fort Worth Transportation Authority
- Homepage of the division responsible for public transit services in Fort Worth, including buses and the Trinity Railway.
- H-GAC Transportation Center
- H-GAC serves as the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for transportation planning in the eight-county Houston-Galveston area.
- North Central Texas Council of Governments (NCTCOG)
- Provides access to a number of studies focusing on transportation issues in the North Texas region, including Mobility 2025: The Metropolitan Transportation Plan for Dallas/Ft. Worth.
- NTTA (North Texas Tollway Authority)
- Serves Collin, Dallas, Denton and Tarrant Counties, one of the fastest growing areas of the United States. NTTA is empowered to acquire, construct, maintain, repair and operate turnpike projects; to raise capital for construction projects through the issuance of Turnpike Revenue Bonds; and to collect tolls to operate, maintain and pay debt service on those projects.
- Project Pegasus
- This site offers information concerning the IH 30 and IH 35E freeway improvements project in the city of Dallas. The project-specific topics presented within this site will help keep the viewer informed about the development of the project, as well as up-coming public involvement opportunities including Public Meetings.
- Southern Gateway
- A project of the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT), the Southern Gateway is developing solutions to improve safety and traffic conditions in the IH 35E / US 67 area in south Dallas County.
- Texas Transit Links (American Public Transit Association)
- A directory of city and county transit agencies in Texas.