Trademark Law
- Essays on Trademark Law
- Federal Statutes
- Federal Regulations and Administrative Rulings
- Federal Court Cases
- Treaties
- State Laws
Essays on Trademark Law
- Trademark Law (BitLaw)
- A discussion of several aspects of trademark law, including definitions of trademarks, registration, infringement, and trademarks and the Internet.
- Overview of Trademark Law (Harvard Law School)
- Very brief summary of trademark law, including sources of law, explanation of trademark rights, and definitions of trademark infringement and dilution, with corresponding defenses and remedies.
Federal Statutes
- U.S. Trademark Law: Rules of Practice and Federal Statutes (USPTO)
- Browsable compilation of major regulations and statutes related to trademarks. For a comprehensive set of trademark statutes, you can do a keyword search of the House of Representatives’ U.S. Code (USC) database.
- Trademark Act of 1946 (“Lanham Act”), as amended (Cornell)
- Table of Contents hyperlinked to individual pages of the primary U.S. statute related to trademarks.
- Trademark Counterfeiting Act of 1984 (Cornell)
- Sets stiff penalties for trafficking in goods or services using a counterfeit trademark.
Pending legislation related to trademarks can be found by searching THOMAS: Legislative Information on the Internet, a searchable database of legislative information from the Library of Congress.
Federal Regulations and Administrative Rulings
- U.S. Trademark Law: Rules of Practice and Federal Statutes (USPTO)
- Browsable compilation of major regulations
and statutes related to trademarks. For a comprehensive set of trademark regulations,
you can do a keyword search of the NARA’s Code of Federal
Regulations (CFR) database.
- Official Gazette Notices (USPTO)
- Searchable database of notices and rule
changes that have appeared in the Official Gazette. Includes a consolidated listing of the
more important notices and rule changes published in the Official Gazette from July 1,
1964, through December 31, 1997.
- Trademark Trial and Appeal Board Manual of Procedure (USPTO)
- This manual provides practitioners with basic information generally useful for litigating cases before the Trademark Trial and Appeal Board.
Federal Court Cases
- Search the Opinions of the U.S. Supreme Court (Cornell)
- Enter “trademark” in the search box to identify Supreme Court cases related to trademark law.
- Selected Trademark Law Decisions of the U.S. Supreme Court (Cornell)
- Full text of major Supreme Court cases related to trademarks.
Treaties
- Paris Convention for the Protection of Industrial Property (WIPO)
- Officially known as the International Convention for the Protection of Industrial Property, this is an international treaty on trademarks to which the U.S. is signatory.
- GATT: Agreement on Trade-Related Aspects of Intellectual Property Rights, Including Trade in Counterfeit Goods (ITL)
- Complete text of the section of the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade pertaining to intellectual property.
State Laws
- State Trademark Laws (Gregory H. Guillot)
- A compilation of state statutes and regulations available online. Arranged alphabetically by state.