Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Testing & Assessment Websites of Interest
Document Actions

Websites of Interest

Alcohol and Drug Addiction

Alcohol & Drug Abuse Institute-Screening and Assessment Database
http://lib.adai.washington.edu/instruments/

Links and references to screening and assessment tools of use for alcohol and drug abuse.

Alcoholism Treatment assessment instruments
http://pubs.niaaa.nih.gov/publications/Assesing%20Alcohol/index.pdf

This pdf discusses various instruments. Click on the Index of Instruments at the end of the contents to get information on instruments. The pdf does not contain the actual instruments.

Comorbidity and Addictions Center (CAC) Measures Collection, George Warren Brown School of Social Work, Washington University
http://gwbweb.wustl.edu/cac/resources/measures/collections.htm

A variety of measures on health, mental health and substance abuse problems. They charge a few for actual copies.

Attitudes

Generalized Self-Efficacy Scale (GES)
http://userpage.fu-berlin.de/~health/selfscal.htm

 A 10-item psychometric scale designed to assess optimistic self-beliefs to cope with a variety of difficult demands in life. It refers explicitly to personal agency.

 

Child Development

Administration for Children and Families-Office of Planning, Research and Evaluation

http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/opre/

  OPRE  provides guidance, analysis, technical assistance, and oversight to ACF programs on: strategic planning; performance measurement; research and evaluation methods; statistical, policy, and program analysis; and synthesis and dissemination of research and demonstration findings.

 Child Care and Early Education Research Connections http://www.childcareresearch.org/Discover?

This comprehensive and unbiased collection includes scholarly research, policy briefs, government reports, data, and instruments from a wide range of disciplines and sources, including multiple federal agencies. Research Connections compiles and distributes bibliographies, develops issue briefs, and synthesizes research on key topics.

The integrated database links written documents to the actual instruments and data files on which their findings are based, provides links from the data files to the publications based on them, and links resources on similar topics, by the same author, or funded by the same agency.

 Children Youth and Families Education and Research Network-CYFER net
http://cyfernet.ces.ncsu.edu/cyfres/browse_2.php?search=Evaluation

Practical tools that you can use to evaluate community-based programs; information on how community programs can be sustained; and assessments of organizational support for work in the areas of children, youth, and families. CYFERnet is a national network of Land Grant university faculty and county Extension educators working to support community-based educational programs for children, youth, parents and families.

Compendium of Assessment and Research Tools (CART)
http://cart.rmcdenver.com/
The Compendium of Assessment and Research Tools (CART) is a database that provides information on instruments that measure attributes associated with youth development programs.

Early Childhood Measures Profiles
http://aspe.hhs.gov/hsp/ECMeasures04/report.pdf

This compendium includes profiles of early childhood assessments that measure language and literacy, cognition, social and emotional skills as well as many others. 

Depression

Geriatric Depression Scale
http://www.stanford.edu/~yesavage/GDS.html

Scroll down the page for the tests.


 Education

Authentic Assessment Toolbox
http://jonathan.mueller.faculty.noctrl.edu/toolbox/index.htm

A how-to text on creating authentic tasks, rubrics and standards for measuring and improving student learning.The author has consulted with teachers, schools and districts on the development, review and revision of assessments and standards.

Character Education Partnership 
http://www.character.org/site/c.gwKUJhNYJrF/b.993291/

Index to tests covering a variety of character-type measures including: Academic Attitudes, Affective/Cognitive Development, Civic Attitudes, Classroom/School Climate, Developmental Assets, Empathy, Honesty, Locus of Control, Moral Reasoning/Values, Multiple Character Trait Assessment, Outgroup/Ethnocentric Attitudes, Problem At-Risk Behaviors, Program Quality Assessment, Prosocial and Altruistic Behavior, Self Esteem, Social Responsibilty, Social Skills, and. Trust

Classroom Assessment
http://www.siue.edu/~deder/assess/catmain.html

Tips and techniques for classroom assessment from Southern University of Illinois-Edwardsville.

Ericae.net Clearinghouse on Assessment and Evaluation
http://ericae.net/

A site no longer updated, but full of information on education.

 

Ethics

Ethics Tools Database
http://www.bc.edu/bc_org/avp/son/ethics/pdf/tools.pdf

Reviews of tests on ethical matters in healthcare from Boston College School of Nursing.

Health and Sexuality

Cancer Prevention Research Center
http://www.uri.edu/research/cprc/measures.htm

Psychological measures that have been developed at the CPRC a variety of health measures.

CAPS Instruments
http://www.caps.ucsf.edu/tools/surveys/

An assortment of assessment tools provided by the Center for Aids Preventions Studies at the University of California, San Francisco.

CHIPTS Instrument Bank
http://chipts.ucla.edu/assessment/index.asp

The Center for HIV Identification, Prevention and Treatment Services, a collaboration of  several universities and organizations and the National Institute of Mental Health provides  a wide variety of full-text surveys.

Trent University-Emotional Health Research Laboratory
http://www.trentu.ca/academic/psychology/jparker/assessment_tools.htm

Contains reference citations for  EQ-i: YV,CHIP, CISS, SPI and TAS-20 .

MetaSites/Collections

 Amoeba Web
http://www.vanguard.edu/faculty/ddegelman/amoebaweb/
An award winning list of resources collected by Douglas Degelman, Ph.D.
Professor of Psychology at Vanguard University of Southern California. There are extensive tests, inventories, etc under the category of Research Scales.

 Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences: Tests available in compilation volumes.  http://libraries.uta.edu/helen/testmeas.htm

 From Helen Hough, Health Sciences Librarian at University of Texas at Arlington, an index that indexes more than 100 titles. Lots of information I used this source, but limited this guide to resources available at UNT.

Organizations and Test Publishers

American Evaluation Association
http://www.eval.org/

The American Evaluation Association is an international professional association of evaluators devoted to the application and exploration of program evaluation, personnel evaluation, technology, and many other forms of evaluation. Evaluation involves assessing the strengths and weaknesses of programs, policies, personnel, products, and organizations to improve their effectiveness.

APA Science Directorate: Testing and Assessment  http://www.apa.org/science/testing.html

 Answers to some of your important questions on testing practices from the American Psychological Association.

ASEBA- Achenbach System of Empirically Based Assessment http://www.aseba.org/

 ASEBA is a system for assessing competencies, adaptive functioning, and behavioral, emotional, and social problems at ages 1½ to over 90 years. ASEBA rating forms are available for completion by parent figures, caregivers, teachers, youths, clinical interviewers, observers, administrators of ability and achievement tests, adults reporting on their own functioning, and acquaintances of the adults who are being assessed  Materials are researched, developed, and produced primarily at the Research Center for Children, Youth, and Families, Inc. The Center is a nonprofit scientific and educational corporation located at the University of Vermont in Burlington, Vermont.

Association Of Test Publishers
http://www.testpublishers.org/index.html

  A non-profit organization representing providers of tests and assessment tools and/or services related to education, employment, certification/licensing or clinical uses.

Best Instruments
http://www.bestinstruments.net/index.htm


BEST Instruments are a series of learning instruments designed to help employees understand and improve their performance/behavior in leadership, management, communication, presentation, sales, interpersonal relations, team interaction, and other areas vital to a company’s overall performance.

 

Insight Assessment
http://www.insightassessment.com/

Company that provides testing and scoring for a number of different measures of reasoning and skills.

National Center for Research on Evaluation, Standards, & Student Testing CRESST 
http://www.cse.ucla.edu/

 Located within UCLA’s Graduate School of Education & Information Studies, CSE/CRESST has contributed to the techniques,  development, validation and use of sound data for improved accountability and decision making, and  explored technological applications to improve assessment and evaluation practice in government, military, and pre-K through college-level education and training.

PROQOLID, the Patient-Reported Outcome and Quality or Life Instruments Database
http://www.qolid.org/

From the MAPI Research Institute a two level resource for information. Free information is limited but subscriptions are available.

Test Link at ETS

 http://www.ets.org/testcoll/index.html

Test database from Educational Testing Service search for a test and get information on how to find it.

Personality

International Personality Item Pool

 

http://ipip.ori.org/ipip/

 


An international effort to develop and continually refine a set of personality inventories, whose items are in the public domain, and whose scales can be used for both scientific and commercial purposes.

Post-Traumatic Stress

 National Center for PostTraumatic Stress Disorder
http://www.ncptsd.va.gov/ncmain/assessment/

Information about instruments used to diagnose PTSD as well as information on how to obtain these instruments. Lots of information on the main website on PTSD from the Dept of Veterans Affairs.

Project Evaluation

Online Evaluation Resource Library (OERL)
http://oerl.sri.com/instruments/instruments.html

This library funded by the National Science Foundation is a collection of evaluation plans and instruments and reports that cam be used  as examples for others to use in designing plans and projects.


 


 




This page is maintained by Patricia E. Reese last modified Tuesday, July 22, 2008. 04:48 PM
Info
News and Events

 

Finding Books!

Finding monographic materials (books) owned by the University of North Texas Libraries is accomplished via the Online Library Catalog.

Finding Articles & Papers

Finding articles and papers can be accomplished via a number of electronic resources at the University of North Texas.

Interlibrary Loan

The University of North Texas provides Interlibrary Loan for those materials that our library does not hold.

Remote Access to UNT Electronic Resources

For those users associated with UNT that need to access our electronic resources from outside of the campus network the library maintains a Web page that lists the common plug-ins and other requirements necessary for access.

 

UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

Post Office Box 305190
Denton , TX , 76203-5190
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection