General Resources for Sociology
ABSTRACTS AND INDEXES - ELECTRONIC
Available on the Libraries' Information Resources Menu.
- Academic Search Premier
- ECO - Electronic Collections Online
- JSTOR
- PAIS International
- Periodical Abstracts Research II
- Social Sciences Abstracts
- Sociological Abstracts
- WorldCat
ABSTRACTS AND INDEXES - PRINT
Located in Abstracts and Indexes, 1st Floor, Willis Library, and arranged by subject. A table number (A&I #) follow each title.
- Combined Retrospective Index to Journals in Sociology 1895-1974 A&I #6
- Human Resources Abstracts (formerly Poverty and Human Resources Abstracts 1966-1974) 1975-present A&I #6
- Index to Social Sciences and Humanities Proceedings 1986-present A&I #6
- Sage Race Relations Abstracts 1975-present A&I #10
- Sage Urban Studies Abstracts 1973-present A&I #9
- Social Sciences Index (formerly Social Sciences and Humanities Index 1965-1974) 1974-1993 A&I #6
- Sociological Abstracts 1953-1962 A&I #6
BIBLIOGRAPHIES
Located in General Reference, 1st Floor, Willis Library.International Bibliography of Sociology 1955 to current Z7161.I594BIOGRAPHICAL SOURCES
Located in General Reference, 1st Floor, Willis Library.
- Biography and Genealogy Master Index
- Women in Sociology: A Bio-Bibliographical Sourcebook HM22.U5W66 1991
ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND DICTIONARIES
Located in General Reference, 1st Floor, Willis Library
- Encyclopedia of American Social History, 3 Vols. HN57.E58 1993
- Encyclopedia of Social Work, 3 Vols. HV35.S61 19th 1995
- Encyclopedia of Sociology, 5 Vols. HM425.E5 2000
- International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, 17 Vols. H40.A2I51
- New Dictionary of the Social Sciences HM17.M56 1979
Located in Reference, 1st Floor, Science and Technology Library.
- Dictionary of Statistical Terms HA17.K4 1990
HANDBOOKS
Located in General Reference, 1st Floor, Willis Library.
- Social Work Almanac HV90.G53 1995
STATISTICAL SOURCES - ELECTRONIC
Located on the Libraries' Information Resources Menu.
- Handbook of International Economic Statistics
- Statistical Universe
- StatUSA
- Statistical Abstract of the United State
- World Almanac via FirstSearch
STATISTICAL SOURCES - PRINT
Located in Government Documents Abstracts and Indexes, or at the Government Documents Service Desk (on Reserve), 3rd Floor, Willis Library. Ask for assistance at the Government Documents Service Desk.
- American Statistics Index (ASI) 1974-current
- Index to International Statistics (IIS) 1983-current
- Statistical Abstract of the United States C3.134: current year in Reserve
- Statistical Reference Index (SRI) 1980-current
INTERLIBRARY LOAN DOCUMENT DELIVERY
- Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery
If UNT does not have your library materials, use these forms to borrow or retrieve journal articles, books, dissertations and newspaper articles from other libraries in the United States. - WorldCat
The OCLC Online Union Catalog, includes an interlibrary loan form so you can request items directly through the database.
LOCATING YOUR JOURNAL IN THE UNT LIBRARIES
Journals may be located in any of these four UNT Libraries locations:
- Willis Library ~ current periodicals/journals (1s floor) or bound periodicals/journals (lower level)
- Science and Technology Library (Information Sciences Building)
- Media Library (Chilton Hall)
- Remote Storage (Libraries Annex)
Journals are shelved in alphabetical order by their titles. A journal title that appears as an abbreviation is shelved at the beginning of the section starting with that letter of the alphabet. (Example: CSF Notebook is shelved in the C section before Cable T.V. and New Media, Law & Finance.)
New or current journals are shelved separately from bound journals. If you cannot find the journal issue you need, check the UNT Library Catalog or ask for help at the nearest Service or Reference Desk .
REMOTE STORAGE
Older journals and periodicals may be located in Remote Storage, an off-campus library storage facility. These items may be requested electronically via the World Wide Web by using the Library Materials Delivery Request and check the "Remote Storage" box. Or by completing in person a request form at the General Circulation Desk in Willis Library, the Circulation Desk in the Science and Technology Library, or the Circulation Desk in the Media Library.
Materials are generally retrieved within 24 hours with a limit of 5 volumes per person at one time.. (Please note, however, that no retrievals are made on weekends or holidays.)
OTHER HELPFUL INFORMATION:
Related Items
EbscoHost
How to research Sociology topics in this multidisciplinary index (has many databases to choose from).
eHRAF Collection of Ethnography
The eHRAF Collection of Ethnography also known as the Human Relations Area Files or HRAF database is an important resource for anthropological research. The eHRAF provides information on a broad range of cultures. The cultures covered are of two general types: (1) North American ethnic minorities, and (2) what have been called traditional, small-scale, primitive, nonliterate, native, non-Western, indigenous, Fourth World, or non-industrialized cultures. (Keywords: Anthropology, Ethnography, Ethnographies, full-text, full text.)
Sage Journals Online
The SAGE Journals Online database indexes over 220 journals from ten different Full-Text Collections. The SAGE Full-Text Collections include Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Health Sciences, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies & Planning. The UNT Libraries provides full-text access to approximately 165 of the available journals in the Full-Text Collections. Articles and journals not available online can be requested through Interlibrary Loan or purchased from SAGE.
Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts (formerly known as Sociofile) provides a gateway to both the theoretical and applied areas of sociology. The database contains information from approximately 2500 journals in 30 different languages from about 55 countries. It covers sociology and related disciplines by including bibliographic citations and abstracts and enhanced dissertation citations from Dissertation Abstracts International. Coverage begins with 1963.
Handbook of Sociology
Concise information on a specific topic or area within sociology are provided by sociology handbooks , manuals and guides, such as these listed. Like encyclopedias and dictionaries, these are good starting points to get clarification on a concept in the discipline. CATALOG SUBJECT HEADING: "Sociology Handbooks Manuals Etc" This source includes an overview of general sociology concepts. Includes bibliographies and indexes. (Print only; 1988)