Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Sociology
Document Actions

Sociology

Up one level

Sociology research resources can be found in this subject guide.

General Resources for Sociology
A master list of resources for researching topics relating to Sociology
More Info…
EbscoHost
How to research Sociology topics in this multidisciplinary index (has many databases to choose from).
More Info…
Sage Journals Online
The SAGE Journals Online database indexes over 220 journals from ten different Full-Text Collections. The SAGE Full-Text Collections include Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Health Sciences, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies & Planning. The UNT Libraries provides full-text access to approximately 165 of the available journals in the Full-Text Collections. Articles and journals not available online can be requested through Interlibrary Loan or purchased from SAGE.
More Info…
Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts (formerly known as Sociofile) provides a gateway to both the theoretical and applied areas of sociology. The database contains information from approximately 2500 journals in 30 different languages from about 55 countries. It covers sociology and related disciplines by including bibliographic citations and abstracts and enhanced dissertation citations from Dissertation Abstracts International. Coverage begins with 1963.
More Info…
eHRAF Collection of Ethnography
The eHRAF Collection of Ethnography also known as the Human Relations Area Files or HRAF database is an important resource for anthropological research. The eHRAF provides information on a broad range of cultures. The cultures covered are of two general types: (1) North American ethnic minorities, and (2) what have been called traditional, small-scale, primitive, nonliterate, native, non-Western, indigenous, Fourth World, or non-industrialized cultures. (Keywords: Anthropology, Ethnography, Ethnographies, full-text, full text.)
More Info…
PAIS International via FirstSearch
The Public Affairs Information Service, or PAIS International, is a bibliographic index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. It indexes journal articles, books, government documents, statistical compilations, committee reports, directories, and reports from all over the world. Coverage is 1972 to present.
More Info…
Handbook of Sociology
Concise information on a specific topic or area within sociology are provided by sociology handbooks , manuals and guides, such as these listed. Like encyclopedias and dictionaries, these are good starting points to get clarification on a concept in the discipline. CATALOG SUBJECT HEADING: "Sociology Handbooks Manuals Etc" This source includes an overview of general sociology concepts. Includes bibliographies and indexes. (Print only; 1988)
More Info…
This page is maintained by Lilly Ramin last modified Thursday, July 12, 2007. 03:22 PM
Info
News and Events

 

Finding Books!

Finding monographic materials (books) owned by the University of North Texas Libraries is accomplished via the Online Library Catalog.

Finding Articles & Papers

Finding articles and papers can be accomplished via a number of electronic resources at the University of North Texas.

Interlibrary Loan

The University of North Texas provides Interlibrary Loan for those materials that our library does not hold.

Remote Access to UNT Electronic Resources

For those users associated with UNT that need to access our electronic resources from outside of the campus network the library maintains a Web page that lists the common plug-ins and other requirements necessary for access.

 

UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

Post Office Box 305190
Denton , TX , 76203-5190
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection