Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Photography Photography Databases for Journal Articles
Document Actions

Photography Databases for Journal Articles

Photography Databases

Use the following databases to search for journal articles on photography and photographers.  Many contemporary photographers do not have books published about them; therefore, the best information can usually be found in journals. If accessing off campus, you will be asked for a user name and password. Username=EUID. Password=Eagle Mail password.

*How to Search the Databases and Find Journal Articles

Once inside the database, search the photographer's name in the order of last name, first name. Ex.: Goldin, Nan

*If you don't find the full-text of the journal article in the database, do a "journal title" search in the UNT Online Catalog to determine if UNT subscribes to the journal. You may still find electronic full-text at this point or find out if it is available in paper format in the Willis or Science and Technology Libraries. Be sure to search for the title of the journal in the search box, instead of the name of the journal article.



Art Abstracts 1984-present
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) 1973-present
ARTBibliographies Modern 1984-present
Ebsco Host 1984-present (full-text articles back to 1990) (hit continue, choose advanced search, then type in the name of the artist (last name, first) in one search box and the word photographer or artist, in the second search box.  This will help cut through all of the articles that are not about artists in this database.
Design and Applied Arts Index
This is a great database for entries on photographers and designers.
Grove Art On-line
This database does not have journal articles, but extensive art encyclopedia entries.  It is a great place to get a quick bio on a photographer or a summary of a photographic movement, or photographic technique. 

This page is maintained by Rebecca Barham last modified Tuesday, July 22, 2008. 04:03 PM
Info
News and Events

 

Finding Books!

Finding monographic materials (books) owned by the University of North Texas Libraries is accomplished via the Online Library Catalog.

Finding Articles & Papers

Finding articles and papers can be accomplished via a number of electronic resources at the University of North Texas.

Interlibrary Loan

The University of North Texas provides Interlibrary Loan for those materials that our library does not hold.

Remote Access to UNT Electronic Resources

For those users associated with UNT that need to access our electronic resources from outside of the campus network the library maintains a Web page that lists the common plug-ins and other requirements necessary for access.

 

UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

Post Office Box 305190
Denton , TX , 76203-5190
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection