Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Photography Biographical Sources on Photographers
Document Actions

Biographical Sources on Photographers

Biographical Sources on Photographers: Databases (for journal articles)

*Search the UNT Online Catalog for biographical sources on photographers.  Exhibition catalogs usually have a short bio also. Choose the Keyword search and then type the photographer's name in the order of last name, first name. Ex.: Sherman, Cindy, or enter: Sherman, Cindy and biography, or Sherman, Cindy and exhibtion.

*Search for the photographer in the Photography Databases first.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Search this database to find reference books that have an entry on the photographer.

Biographical Reference Books on Photographers

*All of these books will list the photographers last names in alphabetical order.  Just look for the last name of the photographer.
*All are located in Reference in the Science and Technology Library (unless otherwise indicated).

American Photographers: An Illustrated Who's Who Among Leading
Contemporary Americans
TR139 .A46 1989
Contemporary Artists N6490 .C6567 2002 (Willis Library, Reference, 1st floor)
Catching Shadows: A Directory of 19th Century Texas Photographers TR24.T4H39 1993
Contemporary Photographers TR193 .C664 1995
International Guide to Nineteenth-Century Photographers and and Their Works TR15.E48 1988
Macmillan Biographical Encyclopedia of Photographic Artists & Innovators TR139.B767 1983
Texas Professional Photographers Association, Inc. Membership Directory TR1.T49 1996/97
Black Photographers, 1840-1940: An Illustrated Bio-Bibliography TR193.W55 1985 
An Illustrated Bio-Bibliography of Black Photographers, 1940-1988 TR193.W55 1989 

Yahoo!'s Directory of Master Photographers
Contains information on 80 master photographers, includes images of their works.

This page is maintained by Rebecca Barham-Johnson last modified Tuesday, July 22, 2008. 04:03 PM
Info
News and Events

 

Finding Books!

Finding monographic materials (books) owned by the University of North Texas Libraries is accomplished via the Online Library Catalog.

Finding Articles & Papers

Finding articles and papers can be accomplished via a number of electronic resources at the University of North Texas.

Interlibrary Loan

The University of North Texas provides Interlibrary Loan for those materials that our library does not hold.

Remote Access to UNT Electronic Resources

For those users associated with UNT that need to access our electronic resources from outside of the campus network the library maintains a Web page that lists the common plug-ins and other requirements necessary for access.

 

UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

Post Office Box 305190
Denton , TX , 76203-5190
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection