Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Philosophy General Philosophy Resources
Up one level
Document Actions

General Philosophy Resources

International Directory of Philosophy and Philosophers

A directory of philosophy and major international figures within the discipline. Companion volume to the Directory of American Philosophers. Willis Library, First Floor Reference, B 35 .I55 (current year; earlier editions are on Willis Second Floor)

Directory of American Philosophers

Overview of philosophical activity in the U.S. and Canada. Published every two years. Contains contacts, websites, and other information for individuals and departments. Companion volume to the International Directory of Philosophy and Philosophers. Willis Library, First Floor Reference, B935 .D5 (current year; earlier editions are on Willis Second Floor)

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

These dictionaries and encyclopedias address philosophy and related fields, such as aesthetics.

Humanities Abstracts via Ebscohost

Humanities Abstracts cites articles from over 500 periodicals, including some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous specialized magazines covering archaeology, classical studies, dance, journalism, linguistics, philosophy, theology and more. Indexing goes back to 1984, and abstracts start in 1994.

Social Sciences Abstracts via Ebscohost

Social Sciences Abstracts via Ebscohost is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles of at least one column in length from English-language periodicals. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of social sciences journals. Subjects covered include: addiction studies, anthropology, community ...

Philosopher's Index via CSA

The Philosopher's Index is a bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews.

ArticleFirst via FirstSearch

ArticleFirst via FirstSearch (Article First via First Search) indexes articles from over 12,500 journals in science, technology, business, medicine, social science, humanities, and popular culture. Permits delivery of bibliographic information to any e-mail address.

Sociological Abstracts

Sociological Abstracts (formerly known as Sociofile) provides a gateway to both the theoretical and applied areas of sociology. The database contains information from approximately 2500 journals in 30 different languages from about 55 countries. It covers sociology and related disciplines by including bibliographic citations and abstracts and enhanced ...

JSTOR

JSTOR provides access to archived backfiles of journals in Arts & Sciences, Language & Literature, General Science, Ecology & Botany, and Music. The full-text of journals is provided for each title beginning with Volume 1. Recent volumes may or may not be included, depending on the agreement between JSTOR and the publishers. Some titles may be from 2 to 5 ...

Digital Dissertations (Dissertation Abstracts)

Dissertation Abstracts (new name: Digital Dissertations via Proquest) includes bibliographic citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Citations for dissertations published from 1980 forward also include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Citations for master's ...

ProceedingsFirst via FirstSearch

ProceedingsFirst via FirstSearch (Proceedings First via First Search ) cites over 19,000 articles published in printed reports of congresses, conferences, etc. received by the British Library; international in scope.

Current Studies in Phenomenology and Hermeneutics

Philosophy journal published by the Foundation for Applied Phenomenology and Life-World Studies, and the UNT Department of Philosophy and Religion Studies.

PhiloSophos

This website provides academic resources, articles, advice, and inspiration for university students about distance learning programs & college correspondence courses in philosophy.

Voice of the Shuttle: Philosophy

Voice of the Shuttle is one of the premier websites on the humanities. Links to online resources, biographies, definitions, and more.

WWW Philosophy Virtual Library

The WWW Philosophy Virtual Library offers access to thousands of high quality Internet resources, each selected and described by academic librarians and subject specialists. These pages serve as a Philosophy-specific view into the larger catalogue. This website is hosted by the University of Bristol, specifically by the Department of Philosophy and the ...

Additional periodical indexes and older editions of some electronic indexes listed above.

This page is maintained by Starr Hoffman last modified Wednesday, July 23, 2008. 02:41 PM
Info
News and Events

 

Finding Books!

Finding monographic materials (books) owned by the University of North Texas Libraries is accomplished via the Online Library Catalog.

Finding Articles & Papers

Finding articles and papers can be accomplished via a number of electronic resources at the University of North Texas.

Interlibrary Loan

The University of North Texas provides Interlibrary Loan for those materials that our library does not hold.

Remote Access to UNT Electronic Resources

For those users associated with UNT that need to access our electronic resources from outside of the campus network the library maintains a Web page that lists the common plug-ins and other requirements necessary for access.

 

UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

Post Office Box 305190
Denton , TX , 76203-5190
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection