Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Patents International and Foreign Patents
Document Actions

International and Foreign Patents

World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)

The World Intellectual Property Organization, one of the 16 specialized agencies of the United Nations system of organizations, is responsible for promoting the protection of intellectual property throughout the world through cooperation among nations, and for administering various multilateral treaties dealing with the legal and administrative aspects of intellectual property. WIPO's headquarters are in Geneva, Switzerland.
Intellectual Property Reading Material (WIPO)
This handbook provides a broad introduction to intellectual property, including its role in development; enforcement of rights; treaties and conventions; administration and teaching; and technological and legal developments.
Treaties and Contracting Parties (WIPO)
Full texts of international treaties related to protection of industrial property and administered by WIPO.
WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Center (WIPO)
The purpose of the WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Center, which was established in 1994, is to offer arbitration and mediation services for the resolution of commercial disputes between private parties involving intellectual property. 
Guide to Intellectual Property Worldwide (WIPO)
Individual country profiles on WIPO Member States. The profiles include basic legislation, membership of international treaties, administrative structures, governmental and non-governmental bodies for information and enforcement, educational institutions and industrial property statistics; useful contact addresses are provided for readers needing further information.

Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT)

The Patent Cooperation Treaty or PCT is a multilateral treaty that was concluded in Washington in 1970 and entered into force in 1978. It is administered by the International Bureau of WIPO.

The PCT facilitates the obtaining of protection for inventions where such protection is sought in any or all of the PCT contracting States. It provides for the filing of one patent application with effect in several nations, instead of filing several separate national and/or regional patent applications.

PCT Legal Administration Office (USPTO)
The mission of this agency  is to provide the world-wide intellectual property community with the most innovative and up-to-date customer service involving the PCT. The site includes general information, tutorials, and the most current versions of all PCT forms and fees needed for filing and prosecuting international applications in the United States Patent and Trademark Office.
Regulations Under the Patent Cooperation Treaty (WIPO)
A consolidated text of the regulations under the PCT as in force on January 1, 1998.
PCT Applicant's Guide (WIPO)
This manual explains what the PCT is, describes the filing process and search procedure, and provides answers to frequently asked questions. Selected forms are available for downloading in PDF format.
PCT Electronic Gazette (WIPO)
A fully searchable patent information database containing the first page data (bibliographic data, abstract and drawing) of published PCT applications. Weekly issues of the PCT Gazette in paper form are also available for downloading in PDF format.

Other Internet Sites Related to International and Foreign Patents 

IP webguide (EPO)
Directories, databases, homepages, and other online resources related to international and foreign patents.
European Patent Office (EPO)
Under the European Patent Convention (EPC), you can make one patent filing in the EPO and, if it matures into a European patent, it will cover your invention in whatever European countries you register it. This site includes an application guide, forms, a directory of patent attorneys, and other information.
International Union for the Protection of New Varieties of Plants (UPOV)
UPOV is an intergovernmental organization with headquarters in Geneva (Switzerland). It is based on the International Convention for the Protection of New Varieties of Plants, as revised since its signature in Paris on December 2, 1961. The objective of the Convention is the protection of new varieties of plants by an intellectual property right.

 

This page is maintained by Bobby Griffith last modified Wednesday, July 23, 2008. 02:44 PM
Info
News and Events

 

Finding Books!

Finding monographic materials (books) owned by the University of North Texas Libraries is accomplished via the Online Library Catalog.

Finding Articles & Papers

Finding articles and papers can be accomplished via a number of electronic resources at the University of North Texas.

Interlibrary Loan

The University of North Texas provides Interlibrary Loan for those materials that our library does not hold.

Remote Access to UNT Electronic Resources

For those users associated with UNT that need to access our electronic resources from outside of the campus network the library maintains a Web page that lists the common plug-ins and other requirements necessary for access.

 

UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

Post Office Box 305190
Denton , TX , 76203-5190
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection