Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Patents Applying for a Patent
Document Actions

Applying for a Patent

Patent It Yourself, by David Pressman (Nolo Press)
Current edition available online to UNT community
Latest paper edition available in Government Documents Reference Section, Call Number KF3114.6.P74 1996
Comprehensive handbook written by a practicing patent attorney. It provides simple, detailed instructions on how to patent your invention in the United States, plus advice on marketing your invention. Be aware that some of the forms and instructions may not be current.
You Don’t Need a Lawyer to Get a Patent (Nolo Press)
A quick look at the basic steps to take before filing a patent application.
Qualifying for a Patent (Nolo Press)
Learn whether your invention is eligible for patent protection.
Understanding Patent Applications (Nolo Press)
An introduction to the steps you need to take to draft and file a patent application.
Making Your Own Patent Drawings (Nolo Press)
Ways to create the drawings you need to file with your patent application.
The Patent FAQ (Patent.Info)
Detailed answers to the questions most frequently asked about applying for a patent.
If you don't see an answer to your question here, use the Ask Dr. Patenstein service to get free general advice and information on patent strategy or the invention process.
A Guide to Filing a Design Patent Application (USPTO)
Available in Government Documents Reference Section, Call Number C 21.14/2:D 46
This pamphlet defines what a design patent is and how it differs from a utility patent, gives advice on dealing with invention development organizations, explains the elements of a design patent application, and explains the application process. It also includes forms and schedules of fees.
Provisional Application for Patent: What It Is and How to Use It (USPTO)
A provisional application for patent allows filing without a formal patent claim, oath or declaration, or any information or prior art disclosure; provides the means to establish an early effective filing date in a patent application; and allows the term “Patent Pending” to be applied. This page explains the procedure for filing a provisional application.

See also Provisional Patent Applications: the Quickest Way to “Patent Pending” (Nolo Press)
Disclosure Document Program (USPTO)
This service allows a paper disclosing an invention (called a Disclosure Document) and signed by the inventor or inventors as evidence of the date of conception of an invention to be forwarded to the PTO, where it will be retained for two years and then be destroyed unless it is referred to in a separate letter in a related patent application filed within those two years.
Manual of Patent Examining Procedure (USPTO)
Available in Government Documents Reference Section, Call Number C 21.15:
This manual is a comprehensive guide to the practices and procedures relative to the prosecution of patent applications before the PTO. It contains instructions to examiners, as well as other material in the nature of information and interpretation, and outlines the current procedures that the examiners are required or authorized to follow in appropriate cases in the normal examination of a patent application.
Format to Create and Application Data Sheet (USPTO)
The Patent Application Data Entry Format has been designed to turn a customer's paper document into an electronic PTO record. Using this format, initial information about a newly filed application can be entered, just as it is presented, directly into PTO information systems. This Guide offers detailed instruction for preparing the format section by section.
Patent Attorney/Agent Search (USPTO)
This index contains contact information for attorneys and agents who are licensed to practice before the US Patent and Trademark Office. Includes a search engine, a Listing of Active Patent Attorneys and Agents by Geographic Region, and an Entire Roster of Active Patent Attorneys and Agents (ZIP format).
This page is maintained by Bobby Griffith last modified Wednesday, July 23, 2008. 02:43 PM
Info
News and Events

 

Finding Books!

Finding monographic materials (books) owned by the University of North Texas Libraries is accomplished via the Online Library Catalog.

Finding Articles & Papers

Finding articles and papers can be accomplished via a number of electronic resources at the University of North Texas.

Interlibrary Loan

The University of North Texas provides Interlibrary Loan for those materials that our library does not hold.

Remote Access to UNT Electronic Resources

For those users associated with UNT that need to access our electronic resources from outside of the campus network the library maintains a Web page that lists the common plug-ins and other requirements necessary for access.

 

UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

Post Office Box 305190
Denton , TX , 76203-5190
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection