Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Merchandising and Hospitality Management Merchandising Home Furnishings Merchandising
Document Actions

Home Furnishings Merchandising

Please check back later as this is currently being updated and info displayed is for purposes of update only.  Update is currently in progress and periodic saves are for the purpose of capturing info as the update proceeds.

Books

To Find Books on Home Furnishings, use the Library of Congress subject heading, House Furnishings.  Do a subject search in the Library Catalog on House Furnishings.  To do a subject search, be sure to click on the Subject tab from the catalog.

Other subject searches can be done using these terms:

Candlesticks

Carpets

Clocks and Watches

Cushions

Decoration and Ornament

Furniture

Glassware

Household Appliances

Interior Decoration

Lamps

Pottery

Rugs

To find books on textiles:

In the Library Catalog do a subject search on :

Textile Fabrics

Other terms for a subject search include:

Bogolan cloth

Brocade 
Carpets  
Corduroy  
Crease-resistant fabrics  
Elastic fabrics  
Filter cloth
Fammable fabrics  
Household linens 

Huckaback 

Industrial fabrics 
Knit goods  
Laminated fabrics  
Linen
Metal cloth
Mixed media textiles 
Nonwoven fabrics  
Ribbons  
Rugs
Satin  
Shaker textile fabrics  
Silk  
Stretch woven fabrics  
Synthetic fabrics  
Tapa  
Tapestry

Textile fibers 
Cotton

Flax

Hemp  
Textured woven fabrics  
Twill 

Yarn 
 

Articles

 To find articles try using search terms such as home furnishings, house furnishings, household furnishings, interior decoration and furniture in the following databases:

ABI/Inform

Business Source Complete

Business and Comparny Resource Center

LexisNexis Academic

You can use the advanced search feature of these databases to combine different concepts such as furniture industry and sales in order to find articles that cover both concepts.

Journals

We have subscriptions to several journals that are about home furnishings.  All our journals can be located using the Library Catalog and doing a subject search on Interior Decoration Periodicals.  This will provide a list of both print and electronic journals we subscribe to.

 

To find electronic journals only, go to Eletronic Resources and click on the link for E-Journals at the top right of the page.  In the search box change the drop down to read "title containing all words" and type in search terms such as furniture or furnishings.  This will list the electronic journals we have that contain the word furniture or funishings in the title.

 

Here are some journals for Home Furnishings:

Accessory Merchandising

Casual Living

Clothing and textiles research journal

Cooperative Housing Journal

Draperies and window coverings

Early American life

Executive housekeeping today

FDM

Furniture Style

Furniture/today

Furniture World

Garden Decor

Gifts and Decorative Accessories

Home Accents Today

Home Fashion Forecast

Home furnishings retailer

Home Textiles Today

House and garden

IS magazine

Kitchen and Bath Business

LBD Interior textiles

National association of housing cooperatives membership

Paint and decorating retailer

Residential Lighting

Shelterforce

Textile: Canadian textile journal

Textile Month

Unique Homes

        

Web Sites

 HomePortfolio

 

Associations

Trade associations can be found using Associations Unlimited.  You can do a keyword search on home furnishings or furniture.  Often trade associations have a website and a publication.  You can search the Library Catalog by Journal Title (click the tab labeled Journal Title from inside the catalog) to see if we subscribe to the publication for an association.

NAICS codes

NAICS codes are numeric classifications used by the Economic Census to categorize information by industry.  These codes can be used to search most of the databases listed under the Articles section of this subject guide.  Following is a list of NAICS codes from the U.S. Census:

http://www.census.gov/prod/ec02/02numlist/337.pdf

To search for other NAICS codes by keyword:

http://www.census.gov/epcd/www/naics.html

 

Databases

In addition to the databases listed under the Articles section of this subject guide, the following databases can also be used for researching Home Furnishings:

ArticleFirst

Emerald

Haworth Press

JSTOR

NetAdvantage               

Reference USA  (use to locate companies by geographical area)

Statistical Abstracts

Ulrichsweb   (use to determine if a periodical is a scholarly journal or a trade publication)

Historic Furniture Information

Illustrated History of Furniture (from Gutenberg.org)

History of Furniture (from MSN Encarta)

Historic Furniture Images

Images can be found using ArtSTOR and Academic Search Complete:

ARTstor

Academic Search Complete

Professional Trade Assocations

American Home Furnishings Alliance

American Society of Furniture Designers (publication:  ASFD Bulletin)

International Textile and Apparel Association

 

Related content
This page is maintained by Ellen Truax last modified Thursday, September 25, 2008. 04:55 PM
Info
News and Events

 

Finding Books!

Finding monographic materials (books) owned by the University of North Texas Libraries is accomplished via the Online Library Catalog.

Finding Articles & Papers

Finding articles and papers can be accomplished via a number of electronic resources at the University of North Texas.

Interlibrary Loan

The University of North Texas provides Interlibrary Loan for those materials that our library does not hold.

Remote Access to UNT Electronic Resources

For those users associated with UNT that need to access our electronic resources from outside of the campus network the library maintains a Web page that lists the common plug-ins and other requirements necessary for access.

 

UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

Post Office Box 305190
Denton , TX , 76203-5190
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection