New Books
- Mathematics and Related Disciplines
- Teaching and Learning
- Writing and Presenting
- Science and General Interest
Mathematics and Related Disciplines
A collection of manuscripts written in honour of John H. Coates on the occasion of his sixtieth birthday / editors, I. Fesenko ... [et al.]. [Bielefeld : Deutsche Mathematiker-Vereinigung], 2006. QA241 .C684 2006
A remarkable collection of Babylonian mathematical texts : manuscripts in the Schøyen Collection cuneiform texts I / Jöran Friberg. New York : Springer, c2007. QA22 .F745 2007
Algebraic multiplicity of eigenvalues of linear operators / / J. López-Gómez, C. Mora-Corral. Basel Boston : Birkhauser, 2007. QC20.7.S64 L66 2007
Analysis by its history / E. Hairer, G. Wanner. New York : Springer-Verlag, [2000]. QA300 .H352 2000
Applied mathematics for database professionals / Lex de Haan and Toon Koppelaars.Berkeley, CA : Apress New York : Springer [distributor], c2007. QA76.9.D3 H2 2007
Assessing mathematical proficiency / edited by Alan H. Schoenfeld. New York : Cambridge University Press, 2007. QA13 .A8773 2007
Bifurcation theory and spatio-temporal pattern formation / Wayne Nagata, N. Sri Namachchivaya, editors. Providence, R.I. : American Mathematical Society, c2006.QA380 .B566 2006
Collected papers of M.S. Narasimhan / Nitin Nitsure, editor. New Delhi : Published for the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research by Hindustan Book Agency USA : International distribution by American Mathematical Society, c2007. QA564 .N36 2007
Degenerate diffusions : initial value problems and local regularity theory / Panagiota Daskalopoulos, Carlos E. Kenig. Zürich : European Mathematical Society, c2007.QA378 .D37 2007
Elements of asymptotic geometry / Sergei Buyalo, Viktor Schroeder. Zürich : European Mathematical Society, c2007. QA685 .B89 2007
Elliptic cohomology : geometry, applications, and higher chromatic analogues / [edited by] Haynes R. Miller, Douglas C. Ravenel. Cambridge, UK New York : Cambridge University Press, 2007. QA612.3 .E45 2007
Essentials of Mathematica : with applications to mathematics and physics / Nino Boccara. New York : Springer, c2007. QA76.73.M29 B63 2007
Flips for 3-folds and 4-folds / edited by Alessio Corti. Oxford New York : Oxford University Press, 2007. QA564 .F55 2007
Functional identities / Matej Brešar, Mikhail A. Chebotar, Walace S. Martindale 3rd. Basel : Birkhäuser, 2007. QA252.3 .B747 2007
Geometric modelling, numerical simulation, and optimization : applied mathematics at SINTEF / Geir Hasle, Knut-Andreas Lie, Ewald Quak, editors. Berlin New York : Springer, c2007. QA448.D38 G459 2007
Geometry and topology in Hamiltonian dynamics and statistical mechanics / Marco Pettini. New York London : Springer, 2007. QA614.83 .P477 2007
Handbook of Teichmüller theory / Athanase Papadopoulos, editor. Zürich : European Mathematical Society, c2007- QA337 .H36 2007
Harmonic analysis on commutative spaces / Joseph A. Wolf. Providence, R.I. : American Mathematical Society, c2007. QA403 .W648 2007
Image processing based on partial differential equations : proceedings of the International Conference on PDE-Based Image Processing and Related Inverse Problems, CMA, Oslo, August 8-12, 2005 / Xue-Cheng Tai ... [et al.], editors.Berlin : Springer, c2007. TA1637 .I5534 2005
Implicit large eddy simulation : computing turbulent fluid dynamics / edited by Fenando F. Grinstein, Len G. Margolin, William J. Rider. Cambridge New York : Cambridge University Press, 2007. TA357.5.T87 I47 2007
Issues and trends in technology and human interaction / Bernd Carsten Stahl [editor].Hershey : IRM Press, c2007. T58.5 .I79 2007
Last best gifts : altruism and the market for human blood and organs / Kieran Healy.Chicago : University of Chicago Press, 2006. RD129.5 .H43 2006
Learning and teaching : principles and pedagogy for e-web and adaptive learning / C. Naseema & T.P. Sasikumar. New Delhi : Reference Press, 2007. LB1028.5 .N35 2007
Mathematical methods for surface and subsurface hydrosystems / editors, Deguan Wang, Christian Duquennoi, Alexandre Ern. Beijing, China : Higher Education Press Singapore : World Scientific, c2006. GB656.2.M33 M37 2006
Mellin-transform method for integral evaluation / George Fikioris. [San Rafael, Calif.] : Morgan & Claypool Publishers, c2007. QA432 .F55 2007
Moduli spaces and arithmetic geometry (Kyoto, 2004) / edited by Shigeru Mukai ... [et al.]. Tokyo : Mathematical Society of Japan, c2006. QA564 .M634 2006
Multiphase reacting flows : modelling and simulation / edited by Daniele L. Marchisio, Rodney O. Fox. Wien : Springer, c2007. QA357 .M858 2007
Network science, nonlinear science and infrastructure systems / edited by Terry L. Friesz. New York Berlin : Springer, c2007. T57.85 .N467 2007
Nonlinear phenomena research perspectives / Charles W. Wang, editor. New York : Nova Science Publishers, c2007. Q295 .N655 2007
Operator theory, analysis and mathematical physics / Jan Janas, [et al., editors]. Basel Boston : Birkhäuser Verlag, 2007. QC20.7.O66 O63 2007
Planar ising correlations / $c John Palmer. Boston : Birkhauser, c2007.QC174.85.I8 P35 2007
Polynomials and vanishing cycles / Mihai Tibăr. Cambridge, UK New York : Cambridge University Press, 2007. QA161.P59 T53 2007
Potential theory in Matsue / edited by Hiroaki Aikawa ... [et al.]. Tokyo : Mathematical Society of Japan, c2006. QA404.7 .P68 2006
Progress in turbulence II : proceedings of the iTi Conference in Turbulence 2005 / Martin Oberlack ... [et al.] (eds.). Berlin New York : Springer, c2007. QA913 .I85 2005
Scale-free networks : complex webs in nature and technology / Guido Caldarelli. Oxford New York : Oxford University Press, 2007. QA402 .C34 2007
Singularity theory and its applications / edited by Shyuichi Izumiya ... [et al.]. Tokyo : Mathematical Society of Japan, c2006. QA614.58 .M85 2006
Stochastic simulation : algorithms and analysis / Søren Asmussen, Peter W. Glynn. New York London : Springer, 2007. QA274 .A83 2007
Symmetric generation of groups : with applications to many of the sporadic finite simple groups / Robert T. Curtis. Cambridge, UK New York : Cambridge University Press, 2007. QA177 .C87 2007
The Conference on L-functions : Fukuoka, Japan, 18-23 February 2006 / editors, Lin Weng, Masanobu Kaneko. Hackensack, N.J. : World Scientific, c2007. QA246 .C66 2006
The mathematician's brain / David Ruelle. Princeton : Princeton University Press, c2007.QA8.4 .R84 2007
The mathematics of Egypt, Mesopotamia, China, India, and Islam : a sourcebook / Victor Katz, editor Annette Imhausen ... [et al.]. Princeton : Princeton University Press, c2007.QA22 .M3735 2007
Topology-based methods in visualization / Helwig Hauser, Hans Hagen, Holger Theisel, editors. Berlin New York : Springer, c2007. QA370 .T67 2007
Viability, invariance and applications / Ovidiu Cârjă, Mihai Necula, Ioan I. Vrabie.Amsterdam Boston : Elsevier, 2007.QA1 .N855 no.207
Visual thinking in mathematics : an epistemological study / M. Giaquinto. Oxford New York : Oxford University Press, 2007. QA8.4 .G534 2007
Wave propagation and time reversal in randomly layered media / Jean-Pierre Fouque ... [et al.]. New York Berlin : Springer, c2007. QA927 .W378 2007
Teaching and Learning
Assessing learners online / Albert Oosterhof, Rita-Marie Conrad, Donald P. Ely.Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Pearson/Merrill Prentice Hall, c2008. LB1028.3 .O554 2008
Educating the first digital generation / Paul G. Harwood and Victor Asal. Westport, Conn. : Praeger, 2007. LB1028.3 .H374 2007
Finding your online voice : stories told by experienced online educators / edited by J. Michael Spector. Mahwah, N.J. : Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, 2007. LB1028.5 .F496 2007
Handbook of research on science education / edited by Sandra K. Abell and Norman G. Lederman. Mahwah, N.J. : Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, 2007. Q181 .H149 2007
Jump start the adult learner : how to engage and motivate adults using brain-compatible strategies / Laurie Materna. Thousand Oaks, CA : Corwin Press, c2007. LC5225.L42 M368 2007
Online learning communities / edited by Rocci Luppicini. Charlotte, N.C. : IAP, c2007.LC5800 .O55 2007
Teaching secondary school science : strategies for developing scientific literacy / Rodger W. Bybee, Janet Carlson Powell, Leslie W. Trowbridge. Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Pearson/Merrill/Prentice Hall, c2008. Q183.3.A1 T76 2008
The e-assessment handbook / Geoffrey Crisp. [London] New York : Continuum, c2007.LB1028.3 .C75 2007
The pedagogy of lifelong learning : understanding effective teaching and learning in diverse contexts / edited by Michael Osborne, Muir Houston and Nuala Toman.London New York : Routledge, 2007. LC5215 .P424 2007
Project managing e-learning : a handbook for successful design, delivery and management / Maggie McVay Lynch and John Roecker. London New York : Routledge, 2007. HD69.P75 L96 2007
Second handbook of research on mathematics teaching and learning : a project of the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics / Frank K. Lester, Jr., editor.Charlotte, NC : Information Age Pub., c2007. QA11 .S365 2007
Thesis and dissertation writing in a second language : a handbook for supervisors / Brian Paltridge and Sue Starfield. New York, NY : Routledge, 2007. LB2369 .P353 2007
Virtual learning environments : using, choosing and developing your VLE / Martin Weller.London New York : Routledge, 2007. LB1028.5 .W3946 2007
Writing and Presenting
A writer's coach : an editor's guide to words that work / Jack Hart. New York : Pantheon Books, c2006. PN4775 .H324 2006
Communication across cultures : mutual understanding in a global world / Heather Bowe and Kylie Martin. Cambridge New York : Cambridge University Press, 2007. P94.6 .B69 2007
Letting go of the words : writing Web content that works / Janice (Ginny) Redish.Amsterdam Boston : Elsevier/Morgan Kaufmann Publishers, c2007.TK5105.888 .R427 2007
Guanxi and business strategy : theory and implications for multinational companies in China / Eike A. Langenberg.Heidelberg : Physica London : Springer [distributor], 2007. HD58.7 .L345 2007
The adult learner : some things we know / Robin J. Fogarty, Brian M. Pete. Thousand Oaks, CA : Corwin Press Sage, 2004 LC5219 .F64 2004
The doctorate worldwide / [edited by] Stuart Powell and Howard Green.Maidenhead : Society for Research into Higher Education & Open University Press, 2007. LB2386 .D63 2007
Umm-- : a complete guide to public speaking / James O'Loghlin. Crows Nest, NSW, Australia : Allen & Unwin, 2006. PN4129.15 .O46 2006
Writing the successful thesis and dissertation : entering the conversation / Irene L. Clark. Upper Saddle River, NJ : Prentice Hall, c2007. LB2369 .C52 2007
Science and General Interest
Automated data analysis using Excel / Brian D. Bissett. Boca Raton : Chapman & Hall/CRC, c2007. QA76.76.D47 B575 2007
Beginning Html with CSS and XHTML : modern guide and reference / David Schultz and Craig Cook [foreword by Simon Collison]. Berkeley, Calif. : Apress c2007. QA76.76.H94 S36 2007
Belonging to the universe : explorations on the frontiers of science and spirituality / Fritjof Capra, David Steindl-Rast with Thomas Matus. San Francisco, Calif. : HarperSanFrancisco, c1991. BL240.2 .C27 1991
College planning for gifted students : choosing and getting into the right college / Sandra L. Berger. Waco, Tex. : Prufrock Press, c2006. LB2350.5 .B47 2006
Excel for scientists and engineers : numerical methods / E. Joseph Billo. Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley-Interscience, c2007. TA345 .B4825 2007
Disease prevention as social change : the state, society, and public health in the United States, France, Great Britain, and Canada / Constance A. Nathanson. New York : Russell Sage Foundation, c2007. RA427.8 .N37 2007
Energy and American society - thirteen myths / edited by Benjamin K. Sovacool, Marilyn A. Brown. Dordrecht London : Springer, 2007. HD9502.U52 E445 2007
Exposed : the toxic chemistry of everyday products : who's at risk and what's at stake for American power / Mark Schapiro. White River Junction, Vt. : Chelsea Green Pub., c2007. HC110.E5 S386 2007
Genetic roulette : the documented health risks of genetically engineered foods / Jeffrey M. Smith. Fairfield, Iowa : Yes! Books, 2007. TP248.65.F66 S567 2007
Fraud : deceit among scientists, academics, writers, and philanthropists / Gerhard Falk.Lanham, Md.: University Press of America, c2007. HV6691 .F35 2007.
Health promotion for the mind, body, and spirit : a 12-week course / by Suzanne Fitzsimmons and Linda L. Buettner. State College, PA : Venture Pub., c2006. RA427.8 .F58 2006Human longevity, individual life duration, and the growth of the oldest-old population / edited by Jean-Marie Robine ... [et al.]. Dordrecht : Springer, c2006. HB1322.3 .H86 2006
Medically unexplained illness : gender and biopsychosocial implications / Susan K. Johnson. Washington, DC : American Psychological Association, c2008. RB113 .J554 2008
More engineering disasters [videorecording] / The History Channel written and produced by Dean Vallas producer, Bruce Nash created by Bruce Nash produced by Actuality Productions, Inc. Hearst Entertainment.[New York] : A&E Television Networks : Distributed by New Video, [2005]DVD 7604
Natural products : essential resources for human survival / editors, Yi-Zhun Zhu ... [et al.]. New Jersey : World Scientific, c2007. RS160 .N382 2007
Outrage : how illegal immigration, the United Nations, Congressional ripoffs, student loan overcharges, tobacco companies, trade protection, and drug companies are ripping us off-- and what to do about it / Dick Morris & Eileen McGann.New York : HarperCollins, 2007. JK2249 .M68 2007
Persuasion in everyday life [videorecording] : five mind shapers / Learning Seed.Lake Zurich, Ill. : Learning Seed, c2007. DVD 7696
Proust and the squid : the story and science of the reading brain / Maryanne Wolf illustrations by Catherine Stoodley. New York, NY : Harper, c2007. QP408 .W64 2007
Science and technology in 20th-century American life / Christopher Cumo.Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2007. Q127.U6 C86 2007
Science talk : changing notions of science in American popular culture / Daniel Patrick Thurs. New Brunswick, N.J. : Rutgers University Press, c2007. Q125 .T574 2007
Scientific evidence review : current issues at the crossroads of science, technology and the law/ Cynthia H. Cwik, Helen E. Witt. [Chicago, Ill.] : Section of Science and Technology, American Bar Association, c2006. KF8961 .S35 2006
Slow food nation : why our food should be good, clean, and fair / Carlo Petrini translated by Clara Furlan and Jonathan Hunt. New York : Rizzoli Ex Libris, 2007.TX631 .P47313 2007
Teaching about scientific origins : taking account of creationism / edited by Leslie S. Jones, Michael J. Reiss. New York : Peter Lang, 2007. QH362 .T438 2007
Technicity / edited by Arthur Bradley & Louis Armand. Prague : Litteraria Pragensia, 2006. T14 .T36 2006
Technology and society : issues for the 21st century and beyond / Linda S. Hjorth ... [et al.]. Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Prentice Hall, c2008. T14.5 .T4418 2008
The wilderness within : reflections on leisure and life / Daniel L. Dustin. Champaign, IL : Sagamore, c2006. GV174 .D87 2006
Under pressure and overwhelmed : coping with anxiety in college / Christopher Vye, Kathlene Scholljegerdes, I. David Welch. Westport, Conn. : Praeger, 2007. LA229 .V94 2007
What we can never know : blindspots in philosophy and science / David Gamez. London New York : Continuum, c2007. B842 .G36 2007
Working in Japan : an insider's guide for engineers and scientists / edited by Hiroshi Honda. New York : ASME Press, 2000. TA157 .W68 2000 (Research Park Reference)