Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Literature Literature Dictionaries and Encyclopedias Literature Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Document Actions

Literature Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Benét's Reader's Encyclopedia: Contains thousands of entries that explore nearly all aspects of literature from around the world. Includes biographies of poets, playwrights, and novelists; plot synopses and character sketches from important works; literary schools, movements, terms, and awards; and myths and legends. Willis Library 1st floor GenRef PN41.B4 1996

Cambridge Encyclopedia of the English Language: Organized thematically in segments covering the history of the English language, vocabulary, grammar, spoken and written English, usage, how the language is learned and new ways to study English. Includes a glossary, list of symbols and abbreviations, references and addresses, further readings, and indexes of names, items, and topics. Willis Library 1st floor GenRef PE1072.C68 1995

Cambridge Guide to Literature in English: This volume is a guide to literature in the English-speaking world. Presents alphabetically arranged entries about authors, works, genres, and terms.  Willis Library 1st floor GenRef PR85.C29 1992

Companion to Literary Myths, Heroes, and Archetypes: Compilation of several essays that trace the lives of particular myths in fiction, poetry, and drama. This resource includes legends from all over the world, from prehistory to the modern era. Alphabetically organized, the entries fall largely into four main areas: the cosmos, the psyche, society, and history/politics. Includes a bibliography and index.  Willis Library 1st floor GenRef PN56.M95 D4813 1996

Dictionary of Literary Pseudonyms: Contains over 2,000 entries arranged alphabetically and divided into two sections: by author's real last name and by the author's pseudonym.  Willis Library 1st floor GenRef Z1065.A83 1987

Encyclopedia of Folklore and Literature: Provides a survey of authors, works, characters, themes, concepts, and scholarly methods of study associated with folklore. Includes a comprehensive index and a list of entries by category that allow access to information about a particular regional or ethnic literature, authors, or important literary movements. The cross-referenced entries include selected bibliographies that serve as guides to more in-depth research. Willis Library 1st floor GenRef PN41.E48 1998

Encyclopedia of the Essay: Contains biographies of authors and small descriptions and analyses of their works. Arranged alphabetically by author's last name and title of the work. Willis Library 1st floor GenRef PN4500.E63 1997

Encyclopedia of Traditional Epics The most comprehensive reference work published on epics from cultures worldwide. Includes both oral or folk epics and epics in literary form evolved from oral tradition. Willis Library 1st floor GenRef PN56.E65 E64 1994

Encyclopedia of World Literature in the 20th Century: Designed as a comprehensive survey of significant literary activity of international scope and from the beginning of the century to the present. Arranged alphabetically by author's last name. Multiple volumes. Willis Library 1st floor GenRef PN771.E5 1999

Metaphors Dictionary
: Contains alphabetically arranged entries of metaphors. Includes a section for thematic headings as well as an extensive bibliography. Willis Library 1st floor  GenRef PE1689.M47 1996

New Immigrant Literatures in the United States
: Surveys the literature written since World War II by immigrants to the United States. Willis Library 1st floor GenRef PS153.M56 N475 1996

New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
: Comprehensive reference work containing all aspects of poetry and poetics, including history, types, movements, prosody, and critical terminology. Willis Library 1st floor GenRef PN1021.N39 1993

Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
: The ultimate authority on the usage and meaning of English words and phrases. Unparalleled in its accuracy and comprehensiveness, each definition of a word contains a chronologically arranged group of quotations that illustrates the word's changing usage, beginning with its earliest known appearance and into the present.  Willis Library 1st floor GenRef PE1625.O87 1989

This page is maintained by Gayla Byerly last modified Tuesday, July 22, 2008. 04:05 PM
Info
News and Events

 

Finding Books!

Finding monographic materials (books) owned by the University of North Texas Libraries is accomplished via the Online Library Catalog.

Finding Articles & Papers

Finding articles and papers can be accomplished via a number of electronic resources at the University of North Texas.

Interlibrary Loan

The University of North Texas provides Interlibrary Loan for those materials that our library does not hold.

Remote Access to UNT Electronic Resources

For those users associated with UNT that need to access our electronic resources from outside of the campus network the library maintains a Web page that lists the common plug-ins and other requirements necessary for access.

 

UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

Post Office Box 305190
Denton , TX , 76203-5190
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection