Electronic Resources for Literature
ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature) lists English-language articles, books, doctoral dissertations and reviews published anywhere in the world pertaining to bibliography, the English language, traditional culture, and English literature. Covers English, American, and Commonwealth writers.
Academic Search Premier is a scholarly collection providing full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc. Full text for nearly 3,180 scholarly publications abstracts and indexing for nearly 4,150 scholarly journals with many dating back to 1984.
ArchivesUSA provides access to holdings and contact information for more than 4,700 repositories. Indexes over 106,000 special collections. It is a unique and invaluable tool for all researchers who use primary source materials.
ArticleFirst via FirstSearch indexes articles from over 12,500 journals in science, technology, business, medicine, social science, humanities, and popular culture.
Biography Index via FirstSearch contains biographical information from more than 2,700 English-language periodicals for all subject areas covered by H.W. Wilson indexes. Indexes articles and books, autobiographies, bibliographies, biographies, critical studies, fiction, drama, pictorial works, poetry, juvenile literature, obituaries, journals, collections of letters, book reviews, and interviews.
Book Review Digest via FirstSearch abstracts reviews of English-language fiction and non-fiction from approximately 100 U.S., Canadian, and British periodicals; may include reviews of the same book; includes children's books.
Digital Dissertations (Dissertation Abstracts) (new name: Digital Dissertations via Proquest) includes bibliographic citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Citations for dissertations published from 1980 forward also include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Titles published since 1997 are available in PDF digital format and have 24 page previews available.
English Short Title Catalogue Contains records for works printed in any language in England or its dependencies from the beginning of printing through the end of the eighteenth century, as well as works printed in English anywhere else in the world during that period from materials processed up to December 1997. Includes the former Eighteenth Century Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) and the two print short-title catalogues covering 1475-1640 (Pollard & Redgrave) and 1641-1700 (Wing).
Godey's Lady's Book provides searchable access to a nineteenth-century social and literary magazine for American women that contains fashion descriptions with hand-colored plates, biographical sketches, recipes, sheet music, and information about health, hygiene, and handcrafts. The magazine developed an important literary reputation over time with the inclusion of the the writings of Edgar Allen Poe, Harriet Beecher Stowe, and Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, among others.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) provides abstracts of articles in the field of linguistics and its various sub-disciplines: child language acquisition, computational and mathematical linguistics, language therapy, dialectology, artificial intelligence, bilingualism, etc. No remote access.
Literature Online(LION) is a fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 192 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
Literature Resource Center allows access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of more than 120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline.
Middle English Compendium is a compilation of the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, based on the MED bibliographies,and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse, as well as links to an associated network of electronic resources.
MLA International Bibliography produced by the Modern Language Association of America, consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore and includes coverage from 1963 to the present. The MLA International Bibliography provides access to scholarly research in nearly 4,000 journals and series. It also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats. Sixty different languages are represented including French, Spanish, German, Russian, Portuguese, Norwegian, and Swedish.
MLA Directory of Periodicalsoffers detailed information on over 7,100 journals, with 4,400 currently indexed in the International Bibliography. The detailed entries include editorial contact information, as well as frequency, circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines. Made available on Ebscohost interface.
Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalog Vol. I and II Vol. III Volumes I and II contain all of the bibliographic records from the Bodleian, British Library, Cambridge University Library, Trinity College, Dublin, National Library of Scotland, and the University of Newcastle upon Tyne for 1801-1870 and all records from Harvard University and the Library of Congress for 1816-1870. Volume III contains records for all books published in Britain, its colonies, and the United States of America, between 1871 and 1919.
Oxford English Dictionary is the most comprehensive dictionary of the English language. The online resource contains all the printed materials that appear in the complete 23 volumes.
Periodical Abstracts Research II provides abstracts, indexing, and full text articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and key business publications. Search by publication, keyword, topic; or use a guided search with boolean operators to find articles of interest. Formats include full text, text + graphics, and page image.
Readers Guide Abstracts cites articles from more than 240 popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada. Coverage is 1983 to present.
Readers' Guide Retrospective indexes the most popular general-interest periodicals published within the United States. Current coverage is from 1963 through 1982.
W. B. Yeats Collection Online contains the major work of W.B. Yeats in all genres, including poetry, plays, criticism and fiction, collected in 22 volumes.
WorldCat via FirstSearch is the OCLC Online Union Catalog and contains more than 35 million records describing items owned by your library or libraries around the world. Each record contains library holdings. WorldCat does not include individual articles, stories in journals, magazines, newspapers, or book chapters.