Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Literature Character and Plot Guides Resources for Plots and Characters
Document Actions

Resources for Plots and Characters

Characters in 20th-Century Literature: Contains essays of over 2,000 important literary characters from 20th century novelists, dramatists, and short essay writers. Organized alphabetically by author. Essays give biographical data, plot synopsis and thematic commentary, and recommendations for further reading. Title and character indexes.   Willis Library 1st floor GenRef PN56.4.H37 1990

Cyclopedia of Literary Characters II: Contains information about literary characters in over 1,400 works, including novels, plays, epics, and classics of world literature. Arranged alphabetically by title. Includes pronunciation guide for character names. Cross-referenced title, author, and character index. Multiple volumes. Willis Library 1st floor GenRef PN44.M3 1990

Dictionary of Fictional Characters: Includes 20,000 fictitious characters of works written by British, Commonwealth, and American authors over the past 6 centuries. Covers novels, short stories, poems, and plays. Entries arranged alphabetically by last name. Includes author and title index. Willis Library 1st floor GenRef PR19.F7 1974

Magill Index to Masterplots: Cumulative Indexes 1963-1990: Guide to discussions of books, plays, stories, poems, authors, and characters in Masterplots publications. Entries followed by a code indicating which Masterplots series. Willis Library 1st floor Reference Desk Z6511.M252 1993

Masterpieces of World Literature in Digest Form (Masterplots) Willis Library 1st floor GenRef PN44.M3 1952

Masterplots Cyclopedia of Literary Characters: Covers a wide variety of literature and arranged alphabetically by title of work. Includes character and author indexes. Willis Library 1st floor GenRef PN44.M3 1963a

Masterplots II: American Fiction Series: Each entry begins with ready reference information followed by extensive analysis of works of American fiction. Contains a geographical and ethnic index (lists authors by country of origin), a title index, and an author index. Multiple volumes. Willis Library 1st floor GenRef PN846.M37 2000

Masterplots II: Non-Fiction Series: Covers autobiographies, memoirs, and other non-fiction works in philosophy, literary theory, cultural criticism, psychology, linguistics, cultural anthropology, sociology, and science. Arranged alphabetically by title of work, as it is best known in the U.S. Contains author, title, and type of work indexes. Multiple volumes. Willis Library 1st floor GenRef PN44.M345 1989

Plot Guide to 100 American and British Novels: Provides annotations of main characters, full summaries of plot and themes, biographical sketches of authors, and critical digests of the works. Organized by century the work was written in. Includes index. Willis Library 1st floor GenRef PS373.L28

Survey of Contemporary Literature--Revised and Enlarged: Contains over 2,300 essays of literacy criticism and content for contemporary books published in the U.S. since 1984, plus background commentary. Arranged alphabetically by title of work. Includes author index. Multiple volumes. Willis Library 1st floor GenRef PN44.M34 1977

This page is maintained by Gayla Byerly last modified Tuesday, July 22, 2008. 04:05 PM
Info
News and Events

 

Finding Books!

Finding monographic materials (books) owned by the University of North Texas Libraries is accomplished via the Online Library Catalog.

Finding Articles & Papers

Finding articles and papers can be accomplished via a number of electronic resources at the University of North Texas.

Interlibrary Loan

The University of North Texas provides Interlibrary Loan for those materials that our library does not hold.

Remote Access to UNT Electronic Resources

For those users associated with UNT that need to access our electronic resources from outside of the campus network the library maintains a Web page that lists the common plug-ins and other requirements necessary for access.

 

UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

Post Office Box 305190
Denton , TX , 76203-5190
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection