Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Literature Book Review Resources Book Review Indexes
Document Actions

Book Review Indexes

Annual Bibliography of the English Language & Literature (ABELL): Lists English language works (articles, books, and reviews) covering bibliographies and the English language and literature. Focuses on English, American, and Commonwealth writers. As of 2000, no longer covers unpublished materials (mostly dissertations) and has expanded coverage of essay collections. Each volume has indexes of authors and subjects. Willis Library 1st floor  A&I #1 1921-

Book Review Digest: Lists citations and excerpts from reviews of works published in English. Focuses more on fiction, popular nonfiction, and children's books. Does not include reviews for government publications, technical books of science and law, or textbooks. Includes list of periodical abbreviations, subject index, and title index. Electronic version offers basic, advanced, and expert searching, as well as a browsing index.  1905- Willis Library 1st floor A&I #4 

Book Review Index: Citations of reviews of periodicals, reference books, juvenile, and adult fiction and nonfiction, books-on-tape, and electronic media. Does not include excerpts of reviews. Includes reviews from the U.S., Canada, Europe, and Australia. Two main sections: Main Index, arranged by author of book reviews, and Title Index, which refer to entries in the Main Index. 1965-1984 is a cumulative set; after 1984, each year has a separate volume.  1965-  Willis Library 1st floor A&I #4

Combined Retrospective index to Book Reviews in the Humanities Journals 1802-1974: Includes citations for more than 500,000 book reviews in more than 150 humanities journals. Citations include names of reviewers. Does not include excerpts of reviews. Main entries alphabetized by author of book reviewed. Includes a journal code list, and last volume has a title index. Multiple volumes. Willis Library 1st floor A&I #4

Humanities Index: Contains citations to articles in English-language periodicals. Subjects include archaeology, communications, folklore, history, language and literature, performing arts, religion, and philosophy. Includes index of periodical abbreviations and a section on book reviews. Electronic version offers advanced searching and indexes.  1974-1984 Willis Library 1st floor A&I #3

Index to Book Reviews in the Humanities: Review citations written in English (although the reviewed work may be in any language) of works relating to the humanities. Does not include subjects of archaeology, theology, or the social sciences. Has a numbered list of periodicals, and only the numbers are used in the citations. Entries are listed by the last name of the author whose work is reviewed. No title index.  1961-1989  Willis Library 1st floor A&I #4

Literary Reviews in British Periodicals 1789-1826: Citations for reviews during the Romantic period in English literature. Reviews listed by the last name of the author whose work is reviewed. Includes appendices to non-review articles about authors, literary genres, and literary criticism. Does not include reviews from newspapers of that time, except for The Champion and The Examiner. Willis Library 1st floor GenRef Z2013.W36

National Library Service Cumulative Book Review Index 1905-1974: Combines review citations from Book Review Digest and from the journals Library Journal, Saturday Review, and Choice. Citations refer to the journals and/or the Digest. The set includes a three-volume Author Index and a three-volume Title Index. Intended as use for additional reviews and for the general reader or scholar. Willis Library 1st floor A&I #4

The New York Times Book Review 1896-  Sci/Tech Library (Information Science Building)

Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature: Cumulative author and subject index to general and popular periodicals written in the English language. Article citations listed under the main index of subjects and authors. Includes a book review section in the back of each volume, arranged by author. Has a User's Guide for tips on how to look up particular reviews and types of materials. Electronic version offers basic and advanced (using Boolean operators) searching and an index.  1900-1993  Willis Library 1st floor A&I #8

This page is maintained by Gayla Byerly last modified Tuesday, July 22, 2008. 04:05 PM
Info
News and Events

 

Finding Books!

Finding monographic materials (books) owned by the University of North Texas Libraries is accomplished via the Online Library Catalog.

Finding Articles & Papers

Finding articles and papers can be accomplished via a number of electronic resources at the University of North Texas.

Interlibrary Loan

The University of North Texas provides Interlibrary Loan for those materials that our library does not hold.

Remote Access to UNT Electronic Resources

For those users associated with UNT that need to access our electronic resources from outside of the campus network the library maintains a Web page that lists the common plug-ins and other requirements necessary for access.

 

UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

Post Office Box 305190
Denton , TX , 76203-5190
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection