Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Literature African American Literature African American Literature Guides and Encyclopedias
Document Actions

African American Literature Guides and Encyclopedias

The Afro-Spanish American Author: Annotated bibliography of works by and criticism of Afro-Spanish American authors from the 1800s to present day. Includes lists of authors by country and by time period.  Willis Library 1st floor GenRef Z1609.L7 J32

Black Literature Criticism: Gale Literary Criticism Series. Broad selection of criticism of major international black writers of the past 200 years. Focuses on historical survey of critical responses to each author. Multiple volumes. Willis Library 1st floor GenRef PS153.N5 B556 1992

Modern African American Writers: Essential Biography of American Fiction Series. Bibliography of works by and about African American writers who are representative of their culture and are also literary artists.  Willis Library 1st floor GenRef Z1229.N39 M63 1994

Modern Black Writers: Focuses on significant writers of the 1980s and 1990s as well as entries and analyses of older authors. Includes popular authors. Has a critics index.  Willis Library 1st floor GenRef PN841.M58 2000

Oxford Companion to African American Literature: Explores the scholarship, interpretation, and cultural context of African American literature. Alphabetical entries include biographies, major works and characters, and critical essays. Includes an index.  Willis Library 1st floor GenRef PS153.N5 O96 1997

The Schomburg Center Guide to Black Literature: Ready reference on authors, major works and characters, themes, and theories related to black literature from the 18th century to the present. Includes American and international authors. Has a master chronology and subject index.  Willis Library 1st floor GenRef Z1039.B56 V36 1995

Twentieth Century Caribbean and Black African Writers: Dictionary of Literary .Biography, vol. 157 ( two earlier volumes, 117 and 125). Focuses on younger generation of writers as well as significant older writers. Extensive biographical, critical, and bibliographical information on each author.  Willis Library 1st floor GenRef PS221.D52, V. 157

Writing African American Women: An Encyclopedia of Literature by and about Women of Color A collection consisting of essays with an acknowledged feminist/womanist perspective. It also contains biographies of those male writers who have dealt with themes from feminist perspectives, as well as important works, movements, periods, genres, and events relevant to the literature. Each author profile is followed by a list of selected works by and about the subject. Willis Library 1st floor Gen Ref PS153.N5 W756 2006

 

 

 

This page is maintained by Gayla Byerly last modified Tuesday, July 22, 2008. 04:05 PM
Info
News and Events

 

Finding Books!

Finding monographic materials (books) owned by the University of North Texas Libraries is accomplished via the Online Library Catalog.

Finding Articles & Papers

Finding articles and papers can be accomplished via a number of electronic resources at the University of North Texas.

Interlibrary Loan

The University of North Texas provides Interlibrary Loan for those materials that our library does not hold.

Remote Access to UNT Electronic Resources

For those users associated with UNT that need to access our electronic resources from outside of the campus network the library maintains a Web page that lists the common plug-ins and other requirements necessary for access.

 

UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

Post Office Box 305190
Denton , TX , 76203-5190
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection