Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Law Works About the Law Legal News Publications and Broadcasts
Document Actions

Legal News Publications and Broadcasts

Legal news publications and broadcasts provide information on currently developing legal issues. They include magazines, newsletters, television and radio broadcasts, and Web outlets such as podcasts and RSS feeds.

Legal newspapers and broadcasts usually contain brief stories with few, if any, citations. They are not as scholarly as law reviews, and their reliability varies considerably, but because they are often written by journalists rather than lawyers or academics, they tend to be more accessible to the general public and less filled with esoteric legal jargon. They are often the best way to track the latest developments in a specialized subject area.

Legal newsletters provide a forum for attorneys in a particular field or geographic area to share news with each other that may never appear in more official or scholarly sources.

Many general news publications and broadcasts also frequently include stories about current legal issues, and they may contain information such as public policy analyses that are less likely to appear in specifically law-oriented sources.

LexisNexis Academic
Select “Legal Research/Legal News.” This online database, available to members of the UNT community, searches and retrieves the full text of  articles in selected legal newspapers, magazines, and newsletters by keyword and by date. Coverage varies by title. Only selected articles from about the last 10–20 years are available, and the full text of an article is not always available online (authors have the option of suppressing online publication of their articles).
ABA Journal (American Bar Association)
Magazine articles on topics of interest to lawyers. 
Court TV
Online companion to a cable network dedicated to crime and justice. Includes late-breaking stories and archive of famous cases, as well as opportunities for audience interaction. Also includes news about the various Court TV television programs.
HG Legal News (Hieros Gamos)
Legal News in 60 practice areas (400 Sources) updated every hour from Excite.
Information Law Alert
News and information on issues relating to telecommunication, technology, and intellectual property.
JURIST (University of Pittsburgh)
This Web-based legal news and real-time legal research service uses the latest Internet technology to track important legal news stories and materials and present them rapidly, objectively and intelligibly in an accessible, ad-free format. JURIST covers legal news stories based on their substantive importance rather than on their mass-market or commercial appeal.
Law.com
Headlines and other legal news, searchable by keyword.
Law in the News (Washburn University School of Law)
Links to general news sources and specialized legal news sources, including broadcasts. Some sources are grouped by topic.
Law Library Resource Xchange (LLRX)
Works with nationally renowned law librarians, attorneys, information technology specialists and legal technology consultants to provide legal professionals with the most up-to-date information on a wide range of Internet legal research and technology-related issues.
Legal Broadcast Network (LBN)
Legal Broadcast Network is the first online and podcast radio program specifically designed for trial lawyers, their clients and the experts who help serve the legal community. Its mission is to use the power of blogging and video and audio podcasting to provide fresh, provocative commentary for trial lawyers and others in the fight for plaintiffs rights, while promoting access to the courts for all citizens.
Legal eNews (AllLaw)
Headlines from major news sources.
Legal News (FindLaw)
Major news stories arranged by topic.
Legal News (LexisNexis® Academic)
Available to members of the UNT community, this online database searches the full text of articles from legal newspapers, magazines, and newsletters by keyword and by date.
Legal Newsletters (Washburn University School of Law)
Links to full text newsletters available on the Web
Magazines (Washburn University School of Law)
General and specialized magazines that feature articles on legal issues.
Newspapers (Washburn University School of Law)
Mostly general newspapers, but includes a few legal newspapers.
The Third Branch (U.S. Courts)
Newsletter published monthly by the Administrative Office of the U.S. federal courts.
U.S. and World News Sources (Law and Policy Institutions Guide)
Links to major news sources around the world.
U.S. Law Schools News Brief (St. Thomas University School of Law)
News releases from law schools nationwide.
This page is maintained by Bobby Griffith last modified Wednesday, July 23, 2008. 02:43 PM
Info
News and Events

 

Finding Books!

Finding monographic materials (books) owned by the University of North Texas Libraries is accomplished via the Online Library Catalog.

Finding Articles & Papers

Finding articles and papers can be accomplished via a number of electronic resources at the University of North Texas.

Interlibrary Loan

The University of North Texas provides Interlibrary Loan for those materials that our library does not hold.

Remote Access to UNT Electronic Resources

For those users associated with UNT that need to access our electronic resources from outside of the campus network the library maintains a Web page that lists the common plug-ins and other requirements necessary for access.

 

UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

Post Office Box 305190
Denton , TX , 76203-5190
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection