Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Law Works About the Law Legal Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Thesauri Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Thesauri Related to United States Law
Document Actions

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Thesauri Related to United States Law

Encyclopedias

American Jurisprudence
KF90 .A4; Located in Willis Library, Third Floor
Systematic outline of legal doctrine, with citations to relevant case law. UNT copy is no longer being updated.
Corpus Juris Secundum
Call Number KF90 .C6; Located in Willis Library, Third Floor
Systematic outline of legal doctrine, with citations to relevant case law; somewhat dated, and not as clear as American Jurisprudence.
West’s Encyclopedia of American Law, 2nd Edition
Call Number KF154 .W47 2005; Located in Government Documents Reference
Articles on a wide range of topics, explained for a general audience.
American Justice
Call Number KF154 .A44 1996; Located in Willis Library General Reference
Primarily articles on contemporary social issues.

Dictionaries

Legislative Branch

Congressional Glossary (C-SPAN)
Browse a list of hundreds of terms arranged in a compact tabular format.

CongressLink Glossary (The Dirksen Congressional Center)
Definitions and brief explanations of terms related to Congress and to the United States Constitution.

    Senate: Glossary (U.S. Senate)
Select from a list of Senate terms dealing with conference committees, presidential action, laws, legislation, the federal budget, Senate documents, Senate committees, Senate leadership, offices, and party organizations, sessions, and adjournments.

    House: Parliamentary Terms and Definitions (U.S. House of Representatives)
Includes a pocket guide to floor procedures in the House, an abridged dictionary of parliamentary terms, and a glossary of terms used in the federal budget process.

Judicial Branch

Glossary of Terms (U.S. Federal Judiciary)
Brief list of terms related to U.S. court system.

Thesauri

Legislative Indexing Vocabulary (Library of Congress)
Available in Documents Reference under Call Number LC 14.2 : L 52
Thesaurus of authorized terms developed by the Congressional Research Service to classify legislative and public policy materials. It is used for searching subjects in the THOMAS Bill Summary & Status files and the Library of Congress Information System (LOCIS) Federal Legislation files.
This page is maintained by Bobby Griffith last modified Wednesday, July 23, 2008. 02:43 PM
Info
News and Events

 

Finding Books!

Finding monographic materials (books) owned by the University of North Texas Libraries is accomplished via the Online Library Catalog.

Finding Articles & Papers

Finding articles and papers can be accomplished via a number of electronic resources at the University of North Texas.

Interlibrary Loan

The University of North Texas provides Interlibrary Loan for those materials that our library does not hold.

Remote Access to UNT Electronic Resources

For those users associated with UNT that need to access our electronic resources from outside of the campus network the library maintains a Web page that lists the common plug-ins and other requirements necessary for access.

 

UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

Post Office Box 305190
Denton , TX , 76203-5190
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection