Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Law Works About the Law Legal Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Thesauri Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Thesauri Related to Specific Topics
Document Actions

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Thesauri Related to Specific Topics

Business Law

Bernstein's Dictionary of Bankruptcy Terminology (Bernstein Law Firm, P.C.)
Definitions and brief explanations of the most commonly used bankruptcy terms.
Glossary of Antitrust Terms (Antitrust Law & Economics Review, Inc.)
Definitions and brief discussions of terms related to laws designed to combat monopolies ("trusts") and other devices to suppress competition. 
International Commercial Law Glossary (UniServe Law)
Explanations of acronyms and a few other terms related to international commerce. [Defunct site—connection is to Internet Archive]

Civil Law

Legal Definitions (Bailey Law Firm)
Brief glossary of terms related to civil law, browsable by letter of the alphabet.

Communications Law

All About the Internet: Glossaries (Internet Society)
Technical terms, legal terms, and acronyms related to the Internet.

Criminal Law

A Prisoner’s Dictionary (The Prison Law Page)
Definitions of slang terms, code words, and jargon used by prisoners. Focus is on California prisons, but includes some terms used in other states.

Environmental Law

Legal Terms Frequently Used in Environmental Litigation (University of California, Davis)
Explanations of selected terms that tend to be troublesome for students coming to environmental law for the first time.. 
Terms of Environment (EPS)
Definitions in unofficial, non-technical language of the more commonly used environmental terms that appear in EPA publications, news releases, and other agency documents.

Family Law

Adoption Gossary (American Adoptions, Inc.)
Definitions of terms related to domestic adoption.
Tao of Divorce A - Z (Annotated Divorce Law Dictionary) (Divorce Net)
Definitions and explanations of legal terms that participants in a divorce proceeding should know.

Intellectual Property Law (Patents, Trademarks, and Copyright)

Trademark Law Glossary (MarkLaw)
Browsable definitions and explanations of terms related to creating and protecting trademarks.

Maritime Law (Law of the Sea)

Glossary of Maritime Law Terms (William Tetley, Q.C.)
Definitions of terms used in the law of the sea, with many links to relevant court cases.

Medical Law

Glossary of Terms (The Neurotrauma Law Nexus)
Definitions of medical terms associated with brain or spinal cord injury.
Law Glossary (Head Injury Hotline)
Simple definitions of law terms commonly used in injury claims and their resulting judicial proceedings.
This page is maintained by Bobby Griffith last modified Wednesday, July 23, 2008. 02:43 PM
Info
News and Events

 

Finding Books!

Finding monographic materials (books) owned by the University of North Texas Libraries is accomplished via the Online Library Catalog.

Finding Articles & Papers

Finding articles and papers can be accomplished via a number of electronic resources at the University of North Texas.

Interlibrary Loan

The University of North Texas provides Interlibrary Loan for those materials that our library does not hold.

Remote Access to UNT Electronic Resources

For those users associated with UNT that need to access our electronic resources from outside of the campus network the library maintains a Web page that lists the common plug-ins and other requirements necessary for access.

 

UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection