|
|
General Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Thesauri
- Ballentine’s Law Dictionary
KF156 .B3 1969 Located in Willis Library, Third Floor - Somewhat dated, but useful for looking
up Latin, French, and Saxon words and phrases.
- Black’s Law Dictionary
KF156 .B53 Located at Government Documents Service Desk in
Willis Library - The most extensive legal dictionary
commonly available. The seventh edition has the most clear and
up-to-date definitions, but the previous editions provide references
to court cases the definitions were derived from, a feature that was
dropped in the seventh edition.
- A Dictionary of Modern Legal Usage,
by Bryan A. Garner
KF156 .G367 1987 Located in Willis Library, Third
Floor - Goes beyond defining terms by
distinguishing fine points, giving advice on how to use terms
correctly, and outlining how a term has been used through history.
- Duhaime’s
Law Dictionary (Lloyd Duhaime)
- Legal terms explained in plain language by a Canadian lawyer,
arranged alphabetically with extensive cross-links.
- Glossary of Legal Terms (LexisNexis)
- Search or browse a list of legal terms based on Merriam-Webster’s Dictionary of Law (©2001).
- Law
Dictionary (law.com)
- Browse an alphabetical list or search
terms and definitions by keyword.
- Law
Dictionary (LawyerInt.com)
- Online dictionary based primarily on the 1856 edition of Bouvier’s A Law Dictionary, which is a classic and scholarly reference work, but rather out of date now. You can Ask for a Legal Term if you need a definition but can’t find one. The editors will find the definition and add it to the dictionary. You can also Submit a Legal Term if you know a term and its definition and want it added to the dictionary. The editors will check your definition and add it.
- Law Dictionary, by Steven
H. Gifis
KF156 .G53 1991 Located at Government Documents Service
Desk - Easy-to-understand definitions of the most common
legal terms, with references to defining cases. Useful for students.
- Legal
Dictionary (FindLaw)
- Enter a law-related term to search this
database.
- Legal
Lexicon ('Lectric Law Library)
- Definitions and explanations of
thousands of legal terms, phrases, and concepts, arranged in
alphabetical order.
- Legal Thesaurus, by William
C. Burton
Located at Government Documents Service Desk under Call Number KF156 .B856 1992 - Provides
synonyms and definitions for legal terms, an overview of federal “plain
language” requirements, and associated legal concepts. This work is
useful for distinguishing fine shades of meaning or for finding
alternative terms or concepts to use in indexes and databases.
- List of Legal Topics (Wikipedia)
- A linked list of all Wikipedia articles on the subject of law, arranged alphabetically by title.
- Subject Term Index (Global Legal Information Network)
- This
is a searchable database of authorized terms used to index subjects
used in GLIN, a full-text database of official legal documents
contributed by government agencies and international organizations. It
is an example of a controlled vocabulary.
- Oran’s Dictionary of the Law (3rd edition), by Daniel Oran; Mark Tosti, contributing author
netLibrary edition available online to the UNT Community - Provides
concise, up-to-date definitions suitable for a broad audience. Includes
a list of 50 basic words used in the law, a brief guide to legal
research, and illustrations and diagrams of selected concepts such as
government organization, sources of the law, the National Reporter
system, and the Statsky cartwheel system of generating a list of keywords for research.
- West’s Legal
Thesaurus/Dictionary, by William P. Statsky
KF156 .S7 1985 Located at Government
Documents Service Desk - This book offers synonyms, antonyms, and
pronunciation guides for legal words and terms. It also explains how
to use the terms in a sentence.
- Wex (Legal Information Institute at Cornell Law School)
- A collaboratively-edited legal dictionary and encyclopedia (using wiki software),
designed to meet the needs of law novices. Articles are written from a
perspective of United States law, but include information on
international and comparative law. Much of the material that appears in
Wex was originally developed for
the Legal Information Institute’s “Law about...” pages, which Wex has
replaced.
- Words and Phrases
KF156 .W6
Located in Willis Library, Third Floor - This multivolume set, updated by pocket parts, cites
federal and state court cases that have defined and re-defined legal
terms at various times and within various legal contexts.
This page is maintained by
Bobby Griffith
—
last modified
Wednesday, July 23, 2008. 02:43 PM
|
|