Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Document Actions

Texas Statutes and Codes

Codes

Vernon's Texas Statutes and Codes Annotated (Call Number KFT1230.5 .V4)
Systematic arrangement of current Texas statutory law. Annotations provide content analysis, historical background, and references to related court cases. Updated by pocket parts (supplements in back of each volume).
The Texas Statutes (Texas Legislature Online)
Full text of all current Texas statutes. Searchable by keyword/phrase; browsable by tables of contents. Not annotated. ASCII text format—some text may not be formatted correctly.
Vernon’s Texas Codes Annotated [CD-ROM]
Full-text, searchable database of current statutes, Texas constitution, court rules, and session laws. Available at computer workstations within UNT Libraries.

Session Laws

Vernon's Texas Session Law Service [paper]
Call Number:  KFT1225 .W4    Location: Government Documents Service Desk—Third Floor, Willis Library
Laws passed by the most recent session of the Texas Legislature.
General and Special Laws of the State of Texas, 1933-present [paper]
Call Number: TxD L1800.4.G286    Location: Texas Documents—Third Floor, Willis Library
Biennial compilation of laws passed by each session of the Texas Legislature.
Gammel's The Laws of Texas, 1822-1927 [paper]
[Shelved before General and Special Laws listed above]
Earlier series of laws passed by each session of the Texas Legislature. Some of the more fragile volumes are located in Government Documents Reserve—request at Documents Service Desk. The first ten volumes--Gammel's The Laws of Texas, 1822-1897--have been scanned and put online by the University of North Texas Libraries.

Selected Acts by Popular Name

Appropriations Bills and Legislative Budget Estimates (Legislative Budget Board)
The official Texas budget for the next biennium. Also authorizes and prescribes conditions, limitations, rules and procedures for allocating expending the appropriated funds.
Texas Open Meetings Act (Attorney General of Texas)
This law requires government organizations, except under certain circumstances, to make their meetings open to the public and to maintain public records of the activities of each meeting. Not indexed. See also Open Meetings Act Handbook and Open Meetings Act Made Easy.
Texas Public Information Act (Attorney General of Texas)
This law, formerly known as the “Open Records Act,” guarantees citizens the right, “unless otherwise expressly provided by law, at all times to complete information about the affairs of government and the official acts of public officials and employees.” Not indexed. See also Public Information Act Handbook and Public Information Act Made Easy.
This page is maintained by Bobby Griffith last modified Wednesday, July 23, 2008. 02:43 PM
Info
News and Events

 

Finding Books!

Finding monographic materials (books) owned by the University of North Texas Libraries is accomplished via the Online Library Catalog.

Finding Articles & Papers

Finding articles and papers can be accomplished via a number of electronic resources at the University of North Texas.

Interlibrary Loan

The University of North Texas provides Interlibrary Loan for those materials that our library does not hold.

Remote Access to UNT Electronic Resources

For those users associated with UNT that need to access our electronic resources from outside of the campus network the library maintains a Web page that lists the common plug-ins and other requirements necessary for access.

 

UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

Post Office Box 305190
Denton , TX , 76203-5190
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection