Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Journalism Journalism Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Document Actions

Journalism Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Encyclopedias

Banned in the Media
P96 .C42 U654 1998 (Willis Library, 1st Floor)

Subtitled "A Reference Guide to Censorship in the Press, Motion Pictures, Broadcasting, and the Internet"; provides articles on prominent examples of media censorship, a history of cases, and selective listings of media advocacy and censorship organizations.


Censorship: A World Encyclopedia

Z657 .C393 2001 (Willis Library, 1st Floor)

Presents a comprehensive look at censorship, from Ancient Egypt to today.  Covers countries, people, movements, periods, and media in all forms.


Censorship: Opposing Viewpoints

Z658.U5 C433 2005 (Willis Library, 1st Floor)

Essays presenting dissenting views on censorship issues.


Encyclopedia of American Journalism
PN4855 .P26 1983 (Willis Library, 3rd Floor)

Covers all aspects and forms of journalism.

Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications
P87.5 .E532 2003 (Willis Library, 1st Floor)

The Encyclopedia of Television, Cable, and Video
P87.5 .R44 1992 (Willis Library, 3rd Floor)

Though focusing more on entertainment entries, includes agencies, associations, companies and unions, advertising terms and practices, awards, events, job titles, production terms, and types of programming.


History of the Mass Media in the United States

P92 .U5 H55 1998 (Willis Library, 1st Floor)

With emphasis on mass media as information includes substantial articles about specific mediums and their evolution, practices, and impacts as well as major concepts and important alternative press institutions. Does not cover major people or institutions. Coverage from 1690 to 1990s.


World Press Encyclopedia: A Survey of Press Systems Worldwide

PN4728 .Q53 2003 (Willis Library, 1st Floor)

Dictionaries

The Oxford Dictionary for Writers and Editors 
PE1628 .O866 2000 (Willis Library, 1st Floor)

The Penguin Dictionary of American English Usage and Style: A Readable Reference Book, Illuminating Thousands of Traps that Snare Writers and Speakers 
PE1464 .L68 2000 (Willis Library, 1st Floor)

Webster's New World Dictionary of Media and Communications
P87.5 .W45 1996 (Willis Library, 3rd Floor)

Technical terms, associations and companies, individuals, acronyms for professionals in broadcasting, printing, telecommunications and related fields such as advertising and theater.


Words on Words: A Dictionary for Writers and Others Who Care about Words 
PE1116 .J6 B7 (Willis Library, 3rd Floor)

This page is maintained by Annie Downey last modified Tuesday, July 22, 2008. 04:43 PM
Info
News and Events

 

Finding Books!

Finding monographic materials (books) owned by the University of North Texas Libraries is accomplished via the Online Library Catalog.

Finding Articles & Papers

Finding articles and papers can be accomplished via a number of electronic resources at the University of North Texas.

Interlibrary Loan

The University of North Texas provides Interlibrary Loan for those materials that our library does not hold.

Remote Access to UNT Electronic Resources

For those users associated with UNT that need to access our electronic resources from outside of the campus network the library maintains a Web page that lists the common plug-ins and other requirements necessary for access.

 

UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

Post Office Box 305190
Denton , TX , 76203-5190
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection