Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Journalism Journalism Directories
Document Actions

Journalism Directories

Directories are the best resource to use to find contact information for a person, company, or organization.  These can be subject-specific for a certain discipline or field or more general.  In addition to contact information, you can often find other details, such as basic biographical facts or company data, in directories.

Argali White and Yellow

Searches multiple telephone and email directories for businesses and individuals.  Does reverse searching and remembers last 20 searches.

Broadcasting and Cable Yearbook 
HE8689 .B775 (WIllis Library, 1st Floor)

Includes profiles of 4,825 AM radio stations, 9,000 FM radio stations, and 2,180 television stations in the United States. A station’s call letters, frequency or channel, address, telephone, fax, e-mail, Internet address, ownership, and programming format are all provided. Additionally, more than 1,100 Canadian radio and television stations are profiled, along with more than 5,100 industry service providers from law firms to engineers to industry associations, and more.


Burrelle's Texas Media Directory
 
P88.8 .B867 (Willis Library, 1st Floor)

Information on print and broadcast media outlets in Texas include electronic media profiles, basic contact information and key data for all listings.

Corporate Affiliations (Who Owns Whom)
HG4057 .A217 (Willis Library, 1st Floor Reference Desk)

A comprehensive print resource that provides insight into nearly 200,000 parent companies, affiliates, subsidiaries and divisions worldwide-all the way down to the seventh level of corporate linkage.  Use this directory to find out who owns whom.

Encyclopedia of Associations 
HS17 .E5 (Willis Library, 1st Floor Reference Desk)

This 3 volume set covers multinational and national membership organizations from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe - including U.S.-based organizations with a binational or multinational membership. Entries provide the names of directors, executive officers or other personal contacts; telephone, fax, telex, electronic mail, websites and bulletin boards; the group's history, governance, staff, membership, budget and affiliations; the goals and activities of the international organization, including research, awards, certification, education, lobbying and other important activities; and publication and convention information.


Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media

Z6951 .A972 (Willis Library, 1st Floor Reference Desk)

Contains thousands of listings for radio and television stations and cable companies. Print media entries provide address; phone, fax numbers, and e-mail addresses; key personnel, including feature editors; and much more. Broadcast media entries provide address; phone, fax, and e-mail addresses; key personnel; owner information; hours of operation; networks carried and more.

Literary Marketplace
PN161 .L511 (Willis Library, 1st Floor Reference Desk)

Includes 54 sections organizing everyone and everything in the business—from publishers, agents, and ad agencies to associations, distributors, and events. The over 14,000 listings in LMP include names, addresses, phone and fax numbers, names of personnel and other descriptive data on organizations.  Website (registration required): http://www.literarymarketplace.com 


Official Congressional Directory 
Y 4.P 93/1:1/ (Willis Library, 3rd Floor Government Documents Desk).  Available online at http://www.gpoaccess.gov/cdirectory/index.html

Directory presents short biographies of each member of the Senate and House, listed by state or district, and additional data, such as committee memberships, terms of service, administrative assistants and/or secretaries, and room and telephone numbers. It also lists officials of the courts, military establishments, and other Federal departments and agencies, including D.C. government officials, governors of states and territories, foreign diplomats, and members of the press, radio, and television galleries.


Peterson's Media Companies 
P88.8 .P47 2000 (Willis Library, 1st Floor)

Provides industry information, from forecasts to sales rankings, with important company statistics, addresses, Web sites, and sales figures and overviews on more than 700 public and private media companies worldwide.

Who's Where: The Directory of Newspaper Industry Professionals (volume 3 of the Editor and Publisher International Year Book)
PN4709 .E3 2000 Pt. 3 (Willis Library, 1st Floor)

Basic information on over 45,000 newspaper personnel.

The Writer's Market
PN161 .W83 (Willis Library, 1st Floor)

Provides over 4000 market listings for consumer magazines, book publishers, trade journals, and contests and awards, along with 50 listings for literary agents.  It also offers publishing information and advice, including payment rates and tax answers, a guide to publisher imprints, online publishing basics, and self-marketing tips.
This page is maintained by Annie Downey last modified Tuesday, July 22, 2008. 04:43 PM
Info
News and Events

 

Finding Books!

Finding monographic materials (books) owned by the University of North Texas Libraries is accomplished via the Online Library Catalog.

Finding Articles & Papers

Finding articles and papers can be accomplished via a number of electronic resources at the University of North Texas.

Interlibrary Loan

The University of North Texas provides Interlibrary Loan for those materials that our library does not hold.

Remote Access to UNT Electronic Resources

For those users associated with UNT that need to access our electronic resources from outside of the campus network the library maintains a Web page that lists the common plug-ins and other requirements necessary for access.

 

UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

Post Office Box 305190
Denton , TX , 76203-5190
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection