Journalism
Up one levelProvides print and electronic resources useful to the study of journalism and the work of journalists.
- The Research Process for Journalists
- As journalists, you will work on tight deadlines and will need to learn to quickly find reliable information to fill out and / or back up your stories. The best approach to use to accomplish this goal is the use of the task-oriented research method (often called beat research by reporters and news researchers). Determining your task first and devising your search strategy based on that task will help you save time by cutting down on information overload. The following steps will walk you through the task-oriented method.
- More Info…
- Journalism Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
- Encyclopedias and dictionaries are a good place to get started to find general information and /or little factual nuggets on your topic.
- More Info…
- Journalism Directories
- Directories are the best resource to use to find contact information for a person, company, or organization. These can be subject-specific for a certain discipline or field or more general. In addition to contact information, you can often find other details, such as basic biographical facts or company data, in directories.
- More Info…
- Newspaper Databases
- Use these resources to find newspaper articles from thousands of newspapers worldwide. These resources require a UNT euid and password to login off-campus.
- More Info…
- Online Magazines, Journals, and Newspapers
- Freely available online journals, magazines, and newspapers useful to journalism students and journalists. An euid and password is not necessary to access these resources.
- More Info…
- Internet Portals and Search Engines for Journalists
- These resources take the guess work out of finding good resources to help with fact finding and checking. They are websites developed and maintained by journalists or librarians and include links to reputable online sources, such as subject-specific dictionaries and encyclopedias, directories, statistical sources, and much more.
- More Info…
- News Bureaus, Wires, and Agencies
- More Info…
- Journalism Organizations
- More Info…
- Blogs for Journalists
- A selection of blogs by journalists about journalists.
- More Info…
- Print Abstracts and Indexes
- Articles can be located using electronic databases and in print indexes and abstracts. Print abstracts and indexes in the study of Journalism are important because there are many unique resources only available in print. Also for older information you will need to consult print resources.
- More Info…