Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Geography Journal Article Databases and Indexes
Document Actions

Journal Article Databases and Indexes

 Use an Abstract or Index  Database to find citations to journal articles. Many databases have links to the complete article online. If there is no link, please check the UNT Library Catalog to see if it is online through another resource or available in print. Use Interlibrary Loan to get books and articles that are not available through the UNT Libraries.

Selected Databases are listed below:

1) Online Databases (found through the Electronic Resources page  http://irservices.library.unt.edu/ - select the first letter of the name of the database you are looking for from the alphabetical list, then click on the database name to access it)

Academic Search Premier
A general index providing broad subject coverage for the social sciences and sciences. Many full text articles available.

Web of Science Citation Databases (1995 - Present)
Social Sciences Citation Index (1981 - 1994)

Covering the social sciences, arts & humanities, and sciences, the Web of Science provides information about journal articles which includes links to other articles cited.

Social Sciences Abstracts
Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of social sciences journals.

Sage Urban Studies Abstracts
Citations and abstracts of important recent urban studies journal articles and reports.

Environmental Issues and Policy Index
Provides abstract/index information for over 1000 journals in the area of environmental policy and studies.

Digital Dissertations
Citations and abstracts to dissertations from around the country.

Alternative Press Index
An index to nearly 300 alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines covering cultural, economic, political and social change.

Anthropological Literature Online
While the focus is anthropology, this index also provides coverage of human and cultural geography.

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International (1972 - Present)
PAIS Archive (1915-1976)

Citations to books, journal articles, government documents and other reports related to public and social policy issues.

Full-Text Electronic Resources

Ethnic NewsWatch
Newspaper, magazine and journal articles published by the ethnic, minority, and native press in the United States presenting a variety of perspectives on national and international topics that go beyond those represented in the mainstream media.

JSTOR
Provides access to archived issues of journals in Arts & Sciences, General Science, and Ecology & Botany.

LexisNexis Academic
Includes local, national, and international news resources and legal resources including case law, laws reviews, and codes & statutes.

ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
Provides access to journals primarily in sciences, medicine, and technology.

World Factbook
Provides basic facts for individual countries.

Statistics Resources

LexisNexis Statistical
Provides citations to statistical publications as well as some links to full text sources.

WDI Online
World Development Indicators provides statistics on economics & finance, environment, health, agriculture, communications, labor, and education for over 200 countries.

Statistical Agencies and Information
Links to statistical resources available via the web.

2) Abstracts and Indexes in Print 

Located in Abstracts and Indexes, 1st Floor, Willis Library, and arranged by subject.  A table number (A&I #) follows each title.

    Geographical Abstracts. Human Geography (formerly Geographical Abstracts and GEO Abstracts, 1966-1988) 1989-  A&I #10
    Geographical Abstracts. Physical Geography (formerly Geographical Abstracts and GEO Abstracts, 1966-1988) 1989-  A&I #10

Located in Government Documents Abstracts and Indexes, 3rd Floor, Willis Library.  Ask for assistance at the Government Documents Information Desk.

    Index to U.S. Government Periodicals 1970-1987
    U.S. Government Periodicals Index 1994-
    Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications and Supplements, 1895-

 

 

This page is maintained by Beth Thomsett-Scott last modified Tuesday, July 22, 2008. 04:50 PM
Info
News and Events

 

Finding Books!

Finding monographic materials (books) owned by the University of North Texas Libraries is accomplished via the Online Library Catalog.

Finding Articles & Papers

Finding articles and papers can be accomplished via a number of electronic resources at the University of North Texas.

Interlibrary Loan

The University of North Texas provides Interlibrary Loan for those materials that our library does not hold.

Remote Access to UNT Electronic Resources

For those users associated with UNT that need to access our electronic resources from outside of the campus network the library maintains a Web page that lists the common plug-ins and other requirements necessary for access.

 

UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

Post Office Box 305190
Denton , TX , 76203-5190
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection