Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Document Actions

Maps

Note: The information below is taken directly from the UNT Government Documents Department's web page on maps and mapping. 

"The UNT Libraries' Map Collection, which contains some of the Libraries' maps, atlases, and posters, is housed in the Government Documents Department on the 3rd Floor of Willis Library. A few maps are listed in the UNT Library Catalog, but many are not. If you want to know if we have a map, or if you want someone to retrieve a map for you, ask for assistance at the Government Documents Service Desk on the 3rd Floor of Willis Library. Always check the publication date when you use a map or atlas. The world's borders change often these days, so the maps we have are not always up to date."

See also "Texas Land Grant Maps" under Land Acquisition above.

Maps are also located in the Rare Books and Texana Collections in the Rare Book Room. A finding aid for this collection A Finding Aid to Texas Maps Located in the Texana Collection is available on the Internet.

Located on the Electronic Resources database.

Note: If you are not currently affiliated with UNT, you must be on campus to access this database.

Texas Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970
Digital access to large-scale, historical fire insurance maps of Texas towns and cities.

Located on the Internet

These are free resources available to any one on any computer with access to the Internet.

Map Collections: 1500-2002 (Library of Congress)
<http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/gmdhtml/gmdhome.html>
Digital images of a small fraction of the more than 4.5 million items held by the Geography and Map Division of the Library of Congress.

Perry-CastaƱeda Library Map Collection (University of Texas)
<http://www.lib.utexas.edu/maps/index.html>
Online maps of general interest.

This page is maintained by Patricia E. Reese last modified Tuesday, July 22, 2008. 04:47 PM
Info
News and Events

 

Finding Books!

Finding monographic materials (books) owned by the University of North Texas Libraries is accomplished via the Online Library Catalog.

Finding Articles & Papers

Finding articles and papers can be accomplished via a number of electronic resources at the University of North Texas.

Interlibrary Loan

The University of North Texas provides Interlibrary Loan for those materials that our library does not hold.

Remote Access to UNT Electronic Resources

For those users associated with UNT that need to access our electronic resources from outside of the campus network the library maintains a Web page that lists the common plug-ins and other requirements necessary for access.

 

UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

Post Office Box 305190
Denton , TX , 76203-5190
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection