Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Document Actions

Gazetteers

Located in General Reference, 1st floor, Willis Library

The Columbia Gazetteer of the World G103.5 .C645 1998 3 vols.
Information on locations throughout the United States and the world.

Dead Countries of the Nineteenth and Twentieth Centuries HE6182 .H34 1998
Subtitle: "Aden to Zululand". Guide to countries, colonies, protectorates, princely states, etc. that have existed since 1800 but ceased to exist by 1998 or those that have changed names.

The Cambridge Gazetteer of the United States and Canada: A Dictionary of Places E154 .C36 1995
Only includes places in or affiliated with the United States and Canada.

Texas Gazetteer F384 .T39 1985
Brief information on geographic places that have or still exist in Texas (primarily counties, towns and cities).

Dictionary of Texas Historic Places F387 .D52 1996 2 vols.
Information on buildings, historical sites, houses, archeological sites, etc. in Texas.

The New Handbook of Texas F384 .N48 1996 4 vols.
Also available online at <http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/>.
Though not really a gazetteer, this encyclopedia provides a great deal of information on Texas places.

County Name Origins of the United States E155 .B33 2001
Brief information on the origins of the names of counties in the U.S.

State Names, Seals, Flags, and Symbols: A Historical Guide E155 .S44 2002
State and territory names and nicknames, mottoes, seals, flags, flowers, trees, birds, songs, holidays, fairs and festivals, and universities; with color plates.

This page is maintained by Patricia E. Reese last modified Tuesday, July 22, 2008. 04:47 PM
Info
News and Events

 

Finding Books!

Finding monographic materials (books) owned by the University of North Texas Libraries is accomplished via the Online Library Catalog.

Finding Articles & Papers

Finding articles and papers can be accomplished via a number of electronic resources at the University of North Texas.

Interlibrary Loan

The University of North Texas provides Interlibrary Loan for those materials that our library does not hold.

Remote Access to UNT Electronic Resources

For those users associated with UNT that need to access our electronic resources from outside of the campus network the library maintains a Web page that lists the common plug-ins and other requirements necessary for access.

 

UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

Post Office Box 305190
Denton , TX , 76203-5190
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection