Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Document Actions

General Research

Located in General Reference, 1st floor, Willis Library

The Source: A Guidebook of American Genealogy CS49 .S65 1997

Most comprehensive guide to all aspects of genealogical research including where to find records and how to use them.

Printed Sources: A Guide to Published Genealogical Records Z5311 .P75 1998
Guide to locating records and indexes that have been published in print and electronic formats.

Ancestry's Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources CD49 .A55 1991
Guide to the most useful genealogical resources in each state; essential for learning when various records began in various counties.

The Genealogist's Companion and Sourcebook CS47 .C75 2003
How-to book explains and details collection and libraries in the United States and their records.

Virtual Roots: A Guide to Genealogy and Local History on the World Wide Web
CS21 .K46 1997
Lists web sites of archives, libraries, genealogical and historical societies, and family associations along with other sites that collect and provide meaningful genealogical data.

The Librarian's Genealogy Notebook CS9 .M66 1998
Designed to locate resources in all types of libraries that can help genealogists; has helpful classification schedules and date lists.

The Genealogists' Virtual Library Z5311 .K46 2000
Bibliography of full-text books and journals available on the Internet.

Compendium of Historical Sources CS49 .B74 1997
Collection of information on a variety of genealogy and history-related resources including some unusual lists and charts.

International Vital Records Handbook CS42.7 .K46 2000
Application forms and ordering information for vital records.

Genealogical Encyclopedia of the Colonial Americas GS49 .S32 1998
Shows where most important records of the Western hemisphere during the colonial period are located and how to access them.

American Census Handbook CS49 .K4 2001
Guide to published census indexes available in print, online, and in other formats.

The Great War: A Guide to the Service Records of All the World's Fighting Men and Volunteers Z6207 .E8 S29 1998
Guide to locating World War I service records of soldiers from all participating countries in the war.

Guide to Naturalization Records of the United States CS49 .S28 1997
Essential tool for identifying the location and availability of naturalization records at the state and county level.

Located in Government Documents, 3rd floor, Willis Library

Researcher's Guide to American Genealogy GovDocs Ref CS47 .G79 2000
Discusses what information records contain, how to find them, and how to use them.

The Handy Book for Genealogists GovDocs Ref CS47 .H36 2002
Genealogical guide to every state and county in the U.S. with information about county creation and information about archives, libraries, and societies, and print resources.

Where to Write for Vital Records HE 20.6210/2: ;also located online at <http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/howto/w2w/w2welcom.htm>
Up-to-date information about prices and where to write for vital records.

Located on the Internet

These are free resources available to any one on any computer with access to the Internet.

Cyndi's List
<http://www.cyndislist.com>
The Internet's best-known genealogy portal and categorized and cross-referenced index to genealogical and family history-related Web pages. Boasts more than 170,000 links in 150 categories; it's been visited by 27 million-plus genealogists. 

The U.S. Gen Web Project
<http://www.usgenweb.com>
Web sites developed by a "group of volunteers working together to provide Internet websites for genealogical research in every county and every state of the United States. This Project is non-commercial and fully committed to free access for everyone." 

Family History Library
<www.familysearch.org>
Search for ancestors in the Family History Library's Ancestral File, International Genealogical Index (IGI), Pedigree Resource File, and Vital Records Index as well as the 1880 census and Social Security Death Index. Discover what resources the FHL has available on microfilm and in-print through the Library's online catalog, and get help with detailed research guides to locations in the United States and worldwide (excellent when beginning research in a new location).

Rootsweb.com
<http://www.rootsweb.com>
"The oldest and largest FREE genealogy site, supported by Ancestry.com." Search user contributed databases, family trees, and family surnames.

Ancestry.com
<www.ancestry.com>
Fee-based site with many free resources including how-to articles and genealogical columns.

Federation of Genealogical Societies
<http://www.fgs.org>
Source of information about FGS' national conference for genealogists of all skill levels. Also a place to purchase conference syllabi from past years' conferences.

Association of Professional Genealogists
<http://www.apgen.org>
Information not only on how to become a professional genealogist but how to hire a professional genealogist; includes the professional genealogists' code of ethics.

National Genealogical Society
<http://www.ngsgenealogy.org>
Learn about the organization's research services, membership opportunities, conferences for genealogists of all skill levels, and publications available for sale including conference syllabi from past years' conferences.

This page is maintained by Patricia E. Reese last modified Tuesday, July 22, 2008. 04:47 PM
Info
News and Events

 

Finding Books!

Finding monographic materials (books) owned by the University of North Texas Libraries is accomplished via the Online Library Catalog.

Finding Articles & Papers

Finding articles and papers can be accomplished via a number of electronic resources at the University of North Texas.

Interlibrary Loan

The University of North Texas provides Interlibrary Loan for those materials that our library does not hold.

Remote Access to UNT Electronic Resources

For those users associated with UNT that need to access our electronic resources from outside of the campus network the library maintains a Web page that lists the common plug-ins and other requirements necessary for access.

 

UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

Post Office Box 305190
Denton , TX , 76203-5190
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection