Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Document Actions

Native American

The best resources for Native American research on the Five Tribes of Oklahoma (Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Creek, and Seminole) in the Metroplex are located at the National Archives - Southwest Regional Branch in Fort Worth. Their resources include the Dawes census cards and enrollment jackets for the Five Tribes of Oklahoma. Additionally many of the National Archives Native American records are becoming available digitally in NARA's Archival Research Catalog (ARC). Currently available are the Index to the Applications Submitted for the Eastern Cherokee Roll of 1909 (Guion Miller Roll), the Index to the Final Rolls of Citizens and Freedmen of the Five Civilized Tribes in Indian Territory (Dawes), the Wallace Rolls of Cherokee Freedmen in Indian Territory, 1890, and the Kern-Clifton Roll of Cherokee Freedman among many others.

Located in Government Documents, 3rd floor, Willis Library.

Guide to Records in the National Archives of the United States Relating to American Indians GS4.6/2:Am3

Located in General Reference, first floor, Willis Library

Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes E77 .G15 1998
"Historical, cultural, and current information on nearly 400 Native groups within 13 geographic regions."

Atlas of the North American Indian E77 .W195 2000
Maps and extensive essays arranged by subject chronologically ; contains useful appendices and timelines.

Encyclopedia of Texas Indians E78 .T4 E53 1999
Information on general Texas Indian history, individual tribes, biographical sketches, photographs, treaties, and maps.

Biographical Dictionary of American Indian History to 1900 E89 .W35 2001
Biographical sketches of Indians and non-Indians who impacted Native groups (positively and negatively) in what is now the United States and Canada before 1900.

Biographical and Historical Index of American Indians and Persons Involved in Indian Affairs Z1209 .U5
Lists names of Indian agents, historical prominent Indians, and other personnel of the Bureau of Indian Affairs from materials in journals, books, and other documents in other libraries and the BIA's personnel collection

Located in the general stacks, Willis Library

The Dawes Commission and the Allotment of the Five Civilized Tribes, 1893-1914 E78 .I5 C37 1999
Introduction to the records of the Dawes Commission written by the director of the National Archives - Southwest Regional Branch.

Located on the Internet

These are free resources available to any one on any computer with access to the Internet.

American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications
http://www.archives.gov/publications/genealogy/microfilm-catalogs.html#indian

WWW Virtual Library - American Indians
<http://www.hanksville.org/NAresources/
Index of Native American resources on the Internet.

This page is maintained by Patricia E. Reese last modified Tuesday, July 22, 2008. 04:47 PM
Info
News and Events

 

Finding Books!

Finding monographic materials (books) owned by the University of North Texas Libraries is accomplished via the Online Library Catalog.

Finding Articles & Papers

Finding articles and papers can be accomplished via a number of electronic resources at the University of North Texas.

Interlibrary Loan

The University of North Texas provides Interlibrary Loan for those materials that our library does not hold.

Remote Access to UNT Electronic Resources

For those users associated with UNT that need to access our electronic resources from outside of the campus network the library maintains a Web page that lists the common plug-ins and other requirements necessary for access.

 

UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

Post Office Box 305190
Denton , TX , 76203-5190
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection