Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Document Actions

African-American

Located in General Reference, 1st floor, Willis Library

Black History: A Guide to Civilian Records in the National Archives Z1361 .N39 N576 1984
Guide to records concerned with black Americans in the National Archives arranged by record group number; covers the colonial period to the 1970s.

Organizing Black America: An Encyclopedia of African American Associations E185.5 .O74 2001
Essays on religious, professional, business, political, social, educational, secret, cultural, recreations and mutual aid associations established by and for African Americans; also includes biographical sketches of leaders of such organizations.

Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History E185 .E54 1996
Entries include biographical sketches, historical eras, legal battles, cultural achievements, professions, sports, and places.

Located the general stacks, Willis Library

African American Genealogical Sourcebook E185.96 .A444 1995

Black Genealogy CS21.B55

Located on the Internet

These are free resources available to any one on any computer with access to the Internet.

Black Studies: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications
http://www.archives.gov/publications/microfilm-catalogs.html#black
A catalog of the records microfilmed by NARA that pertain to African Americans in the U.S. Brief descriptions of the publication, the office that created the records, and the scope and organization of the records are generally followed by a roll-by-roll listing of the contents. Freedmen's Bureau records make up much of the catalog. Includes information on how to order the microfilm.

Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938
<http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/snhtml/snhome.html>
"More than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves. These narratives were collected in the 1930s as part of the Federal Writers' Project of the Works Progress Administration (WPA) and assembled and microfilmed in 1941 as the seventeen-volume Slave Narratives: A Folk History of Slavery in the United States from Interviews with Former Slaves."

Afrigeneas
<http://www.afrigeneas.com/>
"A site devoted to African American genealogy, to researching African Ancestry in the Americas in particular and to genealogical research and resources in general."

This page is maintained by Patricia E. Reese last modified Tuesday, July 22, 2008. 04:47 PM
Info
News and Events

 

Finding Books!

Finding monographic materials (books) owned by the University of North Texas Libraries is accomplished via the Online Library Catalog.

Finding Articles & Papers

Finding articles and papers can be accomplished via a number of electronic resources at the University of North Texas.

Interlibrary Loan

The University of North Texas provides Interlibrary Loan for those materials that our library does not hold.

Remote Access to UNT Electronic Resources

For those users associated with UNT that need to access our electronic resources from outside of the campus network the library maintains a Web page that lists the common plug-ins and other requirements necessary for access.

 

UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

Post Office Box 305190
Denton , TX , 76203-5190
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection