Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Genealogy Biographical Sources National Biographical Encyclopedias
Document Actions

National Biographical Encyclopedias

Located in General Reference, 1st floor, Willis Library

Current Biography (1940 - current) CT100 .C8
Received annually. Provides biographical sketches of living (when published) persons in a variety of professions and fields.

Encyclopedia of Frontier Biography F596 .T487 1990
About 4,500 entries on people of any race or sex who were significant or of interest in connection with the American frontier.

American National Biography CT213 .A68 1999
About 175,000 biographies of men and women who have shaped the U.S.; subjects have died before 1996.

Dictionary of American Biography E176 .D56 20 vols.
Descriptive biographies of prominent people in the U.S.

Dictionary of Canadian Biography F1005 .D49
Arranged chronologically by death date.

Dictionary of National Biography DA28 .D47 1967
About 30,000 articles on citizens of the British Commonwealth and British subjects.

Who's Who in America E663 .W56
Brief biographical sketches of notable people in the U.S.

Who Was Who in America E176 .W64
Sketches of individuals somehow related to the history of the U.S.

Located in the general stacks, Willis Library

Appleton's Cyclopedia of American Biography 920 Ap53 6 vols.
Biographical sketches published between 1887 and 1889; may have nearly 200 fictitious entries.

The National Cyclopaedia of American Biography - Permanent Series E176 .N28 63 vols.
Very comprehensive.

"The National Cyclopaedia of American Biography - Current Series. E176 .N2812  
UNT owns v.1, 3-13.

Sibley's Harvard Graduates LD2139 .S5
Biographical sketches of every student who attended Harvard College.
UNT only owns vols. 11 - 13 (1741-1755) of the 17 volume set.

Biographical Sketches of the Graduates of Yale College: With Annals of the College History 920 Ya12d
6 volumes. Covers period 1701-1815. Supplemented by Biographical Notices of Yale College Graduates (below).

Biographical Notices of Graduates of Yale College: Including Those Graduated in Classes Later Than 1815, Who Are Not Commemorated in the Annual Obituary Records 920 Ya12de
Covers period from 1815 through 1860.

This page is maintained by Patricia E. Reese last modified Tuesday, July 22, 2008. 04:48 PM
Info
News and Events

 

Finding Books!

Finding monographic materials (books) owned by the University of North Texas Libraries is accomplished via the Online Library Catalog.

Finding Articles & Papers

Finding articles and papers can be accomplished via a number of electronic resources at the University of North Texas.

Interlibrary Loan

The University of North Texas provides Interlibrary Loan for those materials that our library does not hold.

Remote Access to UNT Electronic Resources

For those users associated with UNT that need to access our electronic resources from outside of the campus network the library maintains a Web page that lists the common plug-ins and other requirements necessary for access.

 

UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

Post Office Box 305190
Denton , TX , 76203-5190
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection