Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Genealogy Biographical Sources Biographical Resources - Texas
Document Actions

Biographical Resources - Texas

Located in General Reference, 1st floor, Willis Library

Citizens of the Republic of Texas F385 .C57 1979
Census substitution lists families living in the Republic of Texas; gives contact information for source for each family.

Located in the general stacks, Willis Library

Some titles are also available in other collections in the Library.

History and Reminiscences of Denton County F392 .D4 B3
Includes many, many names include those of the first settlers, early taxpayers, Denton County officers, faculty members, etc. (1918)

Peters Colonists: Their Descendants and Others Who Settled North Texas F385 .Y6
Compilation of cemetery records, census data, indexes, genealogies, and miscellaneous family information.

Biographical Gazetteer of Texas F385.B56 1985
Index of biographical sketches of prominent Texans.

Prominent Women of Texas 920 B791
Lengthy sketches of notable women in Texas. (1896)

The Peters Colony of Texas: A History and Biographical Sketches of the Early Settlers F390 .C73
Individual sketches include land information; also available in Rare Books.

The Bench and Bar of Texas 976.4 L991
Biographical sketches of lawyers and judges in Texas. (1885)

Texas Women of Distinction F385 .M19
Individual sketches listed under both the maiden and married name; also available in Rare Books.

Texian Who's Who: A Biographical Dictionary of the State of Texas 920 T313
Brief biographical sketches of "notable" Texans, living and and deceased. (1937) UNT owns volume 1. 

Who's Who in Texas Today F385 .W55 1968
Brief biographical sketches of Texans. (1968)

Located in Rare Books, 4th floor, Willis Library

History of Texas World War Heroes Texana 920 H629
Brief biographical sketches of World War One soldiers with birth, education, parental, service, and death information; most sketches are accompanied by a photograph.

History of Denton, Texas: From Its Beginning to 1960 Texana F394 .D4 B74

The Heroes of San Jacinto Texana 976.4 D646
Biographical sketches of the men who fought at the battle of San Jacinto.

History of Texas (Paddock) Texana 976.4 P131h 4 vols.

History of Texas: Together with a Biographical History of Tarrant and Parker Counties Texana 976.4 H6292

A History of Texas and Texans. Texana 976.4 J63
Volumes 2 - 5 are also available in the general stacks. Volumes 4 and 5 are biographical.

(Austin, Stephen F.) Register of Families Ref F385 .A895 1996
Information on about 3,000 Anglo-American settlers of Mexican Texas between 1824 and 1836.

Debrett's Texas Peerage Ref F385 .B46 1983
Photos and biographies of the well-to-do in Texas.

Early Settlers and Indian Fighters of Southwest Texas Texana 917.64 So92
Pioneer recollections from southwest Texas.

Located in Government Documents, 3rd floor, Willis Library.

Historical Review of South-East Texas GovDocs Ref F386 .H26
History of towns, communities, institutions, and people. Volume 2 is biographical sketches.

A History of Central And Western Texas (Paddock) GovDocs Ref F386 .P22
History of towns, communities, institutions, and people. Volume 2 is biographical sketches.

A History of Greater Dallas and Vicinity GovDocs Ref F394 .D2 L7
History of communities, institutions, and people. Volume 2 is biographical sketches.

Members of the Texas Legislature, 1846-1980 GovDocs Ref JK4830 .A2 1846-1980
Arranged by legislature with an alphabetical name index. Information includes member's name, district number, home town, and district description.

Compiled Index to Elected and Appointed Officials of the Republic of Texas: 1835-1846 GovDocs Ref JK4851 .C6
Transcriptions from the two registers of Elected and Appointed Officials for the Republic. Information includes name of office, date of election or appointment, date of confirmation or commissioning, county, and volume and page number.

This page is maintained by Patricia E. Reese last modified Tuesday, July 22, 2008. 04:47 PM
Info
News and Events

 

Finding Books!

Finding monographic materials (books) owned by the University of North Texas Libraries is accomplished via the Online Library Catalog.

Finding Articles & Papers

Finding articles and papers can be accomplished via a number of electronic resources at the University of North Texas.

Interlibrary Loan

The University of North Texas provides Interlibrary Loan for those materials that our library does not hold.

Remote Access to UNT Electronic Resources

For those users associated with UNT that need to access our electronic resources from outside of the campus network the library maintains a Web page that lists the common plug-ins and other requirements necessary for access.

 

UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

Post Office Box 305190
Denton , TX , 76203-5190
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection