Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Costume History and Fashion Design Fashion Designers: Biographical Sources
Document Actions

Fashion Designers: Biographical Sources

Fashion Designers: Biographical Sources: Journal Articles

*Many contemporary fashion designers do not have books published about them; therefore, the best information can usually be found in journals.
*Search the designer's name in the keyword search box in the order of last name, first name. Example: Balenciaga, Cristobal; Klein, Calvin.
*If accessing off campus, you will be asked for a username and password.  Username=EUID,  password=Eagle Mail password.

Design and Applied Arts Index

This is an excellent database for the fashion and the design world. 

Art Abstracts


Bibliography of the History of Art

ARTBibliographies Modern

Ebsco Host

This is a more general, but extensive database, so you may need to add the word "designer" or "fashion" to your search to cut out irrelevant journal articles. Search example: Karan, Donna AND designer.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index search this database to find reference books that have an entry on the designer.

Fashion Designers-Biographical Sources: Books

*To find books on fashion designers, search the UNT Online Catalog. Choose subject or keyword searches.
*Search names in the following manner: Example:  Balenciaga, Cristobal

 *To find books on designers that are not owned by the UNT Libraries, search the World Catalog.  The World Catalog contains more than 35 million records describing items owned by libraries around the world.  Books or other materials not owned by UNT may be borrowed through UNT's Inter-Library Loan Department (for UNT students, faculty and staff).

Fashion Designers-Biographical Sources: Reference Books

*The books listed below are located in Reference in the Science and Technology Library (unless otherwise noted).
*The designer's names are listed alphabetically in each of these books.

The Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Fashion and Fashion Designers

GT507 .O53 1998 (Reference, 1st Floor, Willis Library)

Contemporary Fashion

TT505.A1 C66 1995 c. 2

Who's Who in Fashion

TT505.A1S73 1996

Who's Who in Fashion

TT505.A1S74

The Fashion Guide: International Designer Directory

TT495.F37 1994 (Reference, 1st Floor, Willis Library)

 

This page is maintained by Rebecca Barham last modified Tuesday, July 31, 2007. 08:52 AM
Info
News and Events

 

Finding Books!

Finding monographic materials (books) owned by the University of North Texas Libraries is accomplished via the Online Library Catalog.

Finding Articles & Papers

Finding articles and papers can be accomplished via a number of electronic resources at the University of North Texas.

Interlibrary Loan

The University of North Texas provides Interlibrary Loan for those materials that our library does not hold.

Remote Access to UNT Electronic Resources

For those users associated with UNT that need to access our electronic resources from outside of the campus network the library maintains a Web page that lists the common plug-ins and other requirements necessary for access.

 

UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

Post Office Box 305190
Denton , TX , 76203-5190
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection