Costume and Fashion: Journal Articles
Costume and Fashion Databases
*Search the databases below for journal articles on fashion, costume and designers.
*Search the designer's name in the keyword search box in the order of: last name, first name. Example: Balenciaga, Cristobal; Klein, Calvin.
*Other keyword search examples: "textile design" and history; fashion and men and Europe; "fashion accessories", costume and Victorian..
*If accessing off campus, you will be asked for a username and password. Username=EUID, password=Eagle Mail password.
*If you did not find the full-text of the journal article in the databases, search the UNT Online Catalog to determine if UNT subscribes to more electronic or paper formats of your journal. Choose "journal title" search, and type the title of the journal in the search box. The paper journals will be located on the first or lower levels of the Willis Library and Science and Technology Libraries. The catalog search record will show the location.
Design and Applied Arts Index
This is an excellent database for designers and other less, represented contemporary artists.
History of Costume
This is a database of historic costume images found in fine art works. It is a great source to find out what costumes and accessories were being worn in a certain historical period in different countries. It is arranged by historic periods from ancient Egypt to 1992.
Art Abstracts 1984-present
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) 1973-present
ARTBibliographies Modern 1984-present
Grove Art On-line
Search this database for encyclopedic entries on designers, movements, and theory.
Ebsco Host 1984-present (hit continue, choose advanced search, then enter the name of the artist (last name, first) in one search box and the word "fashion" or "designer", in the second search box. This will help cut through all of the articles that are not about fashion or designers in this database.
J-Stor
Search J-Stor for historical information on costume. All J-Stor articles are full-text. You may need to add more keywords to your search to narrow your results since J-Stor has so many journal articles. Example: Costume AND Tudor AND England AND Male.
Humanities Abstracts