Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Dissertations & Theses Dissertations & Theses
Document Actions

Dissertations & Theses

Note that the library does not have the rights to alter access or content to the dissertations, as the author owns the copyright. There will not be many print dissertations housed at the UNT Libraries.

Contact for dissertations not accessible via UNT catalog or databases:


If you are requesting a copy of dissertation not found online, you will need to contact the Graduate Reader, Jill Kleister at:
jkleister@unt.edu
Department: Graduate School
Office Telephone: 940-565-4933
Office Location: Eagle Student Services Center 354

 (http://www.tsgs.unt.edu/graduation_process/copyright_and_trademark.htm)

 

Search the UNT Library Catalog


You can search the UNT Library Catalog by keyword, Title, Author, Subject, Numbers, or Journal Title.

Example:  Subject Search:
Information ABOUT Dissertations, Academic. (subject term in catalog search)
       http://iii.library.unt.edu/record=b2273572

It is probably most effective to search by dissertation author, or title. (http://www.library.unt.edu/)

NOTE: You can only access the disserations in the catalog when you are on campus.

You will see a pdf link that opens in a new window if the copyright holder has made the dissertation available for viewing.

 

Searching the electronic databases/indexes for dissertations:

 

DISSERTATIONS and THESIS @ UNT

Current Research provides authorized users from the University of North Texas free access to the full text (PDF digital format) of the university's dissertations published between 1953 and 1969, and to both UNT dissertations and theses published since 1997.

1. go to the electronic resources page for the letter D  ( http://irservices.library.unt.edu/ais.cfm?alpha=D

2. Click on the name  Dissertations & theses @ University of North Texas

3. Enter your EUID and Eaglemail password (if off campus)

 

DIGITAL DISSERTATIONS

Dissertation Abstracts (new name: Digital Dissertations via Proquest) includes bibliographic citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Citations for dissertations published from 1980 forward also include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. To overcome problems getting beyond 1st page of results, click Tools-Internet Options-Delete Files and then click Settings to make sure "Automatically" is checked.

1. Go to the electronic resources page for the letter D (http://irservices.library.unt.edu/ais.cfm?alpha=D)

2. Click on the name Digital Dissertations (Dissertation Abstracts)

3. Enter your EUID and Eaglemail password (if off campus)

 


 DISSERTATIONS via FIRSTSEARCH

 Provides bibliographic records with holdings information for all theses and dissertations cataloged through the OCLC system. A subset of the WorldCat database

1. Go to the electronic resources page for the letter D (http://irservices.library.unt.edu/ais.cfm?alpha=D)

2. Click on the name Dissertations via FirstSearch

3. Enter your EUID and Eaglemail password (if off campus)

 

Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery (for dissertations not in our collections)


For items not in our collection, you can make an interlibrary loan request and the librarian will request the dissertation from the library that has the item (if it is published and available for request).

1. Create an ILLiad account

2. Login with your ILLiad account

 
 3.  Fill out the form (one per request)


      You can contact Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery department at: ill@unt.edu / 940-565-2495

This page is maintained by Lilly Ramin last modified Tuesday, July 22, 2008. 04:36 PM
Info
News and Events

 

Finding Books!

Finding monographic materials (books) owned by the University of North Texas Libraries is accomplished via the Online Library Catalog.

Finding Articles & Papers

Finding articles and papers can be accomplished via a number of electronic resources at the University of North Texas.

Interlibrary Loan

The University of North Texas provides Interlibrary Loan for those materials that our library does not hold.

Remote Access to UNT Electronic Resources

For those users associated with UNT that need to access our electronic resources from outside of the campus network the library maintains a Web page that lists the common plug-ins and other requirements necessary for access.

 

UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

Post Office Box 305190
Denton , TX , 76203-5190
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection