Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research and Instructional Services Ask a Librarian
Document Actions

Ask a Librarian

Use our Ask a Librarian services to get help with your research or library questions. Virtual reference services include chat and e-mail. You can also reach us by phone, or come in person by appointment or stop by our reference desks. 

Call us Toll-Free at (877) 872-0264      

                   

  • Chat
  • Email
  • Phone
  • Appointment
  • Reference Desk    

  • VIRTUAL REFERENCE: Chat and E-mail

  • Chat closed Intersession weekend, August 16-17.

    Please enter your questions via the e-mail reference link and they will be addressed Monday morning, thanks!  

Click here to enter Chat

Enter our live chat to talk to a librarian one on one! This service provides assistance to researcher from librarians in real time, using chat room technology. Most questions will be answered during your session. If the librarian on duty feels it necessary, questions will be routed to the Libraries' staff member who are best able to answer questions on the given subject . Follow-up answers  to questions may be done via e-mail if there are technical difficulties, or if chat time is insufficient.

Current hours (summer schedule):

10-5 Monday - Friday
1-5 Saturday & Sunday

For more information, see our Virtual Reference Policies and Procedures

For common answers, search our Virtual Reference F.A.Q. database

Back to top

Email

Submit your e-mail question by clicking the E-mail form

Use our e-mail virtual reference form to submit your research or library question to the UNT Libraries.  If the librarian on duty feels it necessary, questions will be routed to the Libraries' staff member best able to answer questions on the given subject.
Please be aware that, while we try to respond to questions within 24 hours, holidays, weekends, and other delays may result in a slower response time.

Current hours:

10-5 Monday - Friday
1-5 Saturday & Sunday

 

For common answers, search our Virtual Reference F.A.Q. database

For more information, see our  Virtual Reference Policies and Procedures

Back to top

Phone

Willis Library (940) 565-3245 or Toll-Free at (877) 872-0264
Generalized assistance; specializes in Humanities and Social Science disciplines

Science and Technology Library
(940) 565-4745
Specializes in natural and physical sciences, library science, psychology, behavior sciences, and more.

Government Information Connection®
  (Government Documents Library)(940) 565-2870
Specializes in locating information distributed by and about U.S. government agencies and research.

Music Library (940)565-2860
For assistance with research and collections relating to music.

Research Park Library
(940)369-7200
Specializes in Engineering and Computer Science materials.

Media Library (940)565-2480

Specializes in audiovisual materials; films and equipment

 Back to top

Appointment

Click here to fill out the Reference by Appointment form.

The UNT Libraries provides the Reference by Appointment service for those doing research on particularly difficult topics, or those who need more in-depth assistance with the materials.  This link leads to a page with an attached form which you can fill out and submit to make an appointment with a subject specialist who will arrange a time to work with you one-on-one to help you with your research.

WILLIS LIBRARY

 ~ For an appointment with a  Humanities and Social Sciences Reference librarian, call (940) 565-3245 or Toll-Free at (877) 872-0264 or visit the reference desk on the first floor of Willis Library
~ For an appointment with a Government Documents Staff member or librarian, call (940) 565-2870 or visit the information desk on the 3rd floor of Willis Library
~ For an appointment with a Music librarian, call (940) 565-2860 or visit the Music Library service desk on the 4th floor of Willis Library
~ For an appointment with the Rare Book librarian, call (940) 565-2769 or visit the the Rare Book and Texana Collection on the 4th floor of Willis Library
~ For an appointment with an Archives librarian, call (940) 565-2766 or visit the
University of North Texas Archives  on the 4th floor of Willis Library

SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY LIBRARY
~ For an appointment with a Science and Technology librarian, call (940) 565-4745 or visit the Reference Desk on the 1st floor of the Science and Technology Library

MEDIA LIBRARY
~ For an appointment with a Media library librarian, call (940)565-2486 or visit the Media Library on 1st floor of Chilton Hall

RESEARCH PARK LIBRARY

~For an appointment with the Research Park Librarian, call (940) 369-7200 or visit the Research Park Library Room B112.

DALLAS CAMPUS LIBRARY

 ~ Call (972) 780-3625 or visit Dallas Campus Library, Room 130 for an appointment.

 Back to top

Reference Desk

Stop by one of our reference desks, during operating hours, to get assistance in person.

Willis Library First Floor 
The general reference desk for Willis Library is located on the first floor. For specific assistance in the applicable areas, try the Government Documents Reference desk on the 3rd floor, the Music Library reference desk on the 4th floor. Also on the 4th floor, is the Rare Book and Texana Collection and University of North Texas Archives.

You can get assistance at the Science and Technology Library Reference Desk for areas such as biology, environmental sciences, chemistry, mathematics, physics,  library and information science, psychology, behavior, speech and hearing sciences, geography, children's literature, and education.
* Please note that the Information Science building is undergoing renovations, and the Sci-Tech collections will be shifted around accordingly.
The library science collection will be moved to Research Park Library

The Media Library, in Chilton Hall, can assist you in finding visual materials such as films.

The Research Park Library reference desk can assist you in the areas of computer science and engineering.  Check the Research Park hours for times when assistance is available.

The Dallas Campus Library has a primarily electronic collection, but assists with Ask a Librarian reference services as well.

Back to top

 

This page is maintained by Lilly Ramin last modified Monday, August 11, 2008. 04:31 PM

UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

Post Office Box 305190
Denton , TX , 76203-5190
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection