Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Communication Studies General Resources for Communication Studies
Document Actions

General Resources for Communication Studies

This subject guide page has a master list of general resources for Communication Studies (COMM)

 
ENCYCLOPEDIAS, HANDBOOKS and DICTIONARIES

~  ENCYCLOPEDIAS ~

TITLE: Encyclopedia of Communication and Information
Location: Willis Library, 1st floor/Gen Ref
Call #: P87.5 .E53 2002

TITLE: International Encyclopedia of Communications
LOCATION: Willis Library, 3rd floor
CALL #: P87.5 .I5 1989

TITLE: Language and Communication: A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia
LOCATION: Willis Library, 1st floor/Gen Ref 
CALL #: P29 .F47 1998


~HANDBOOKS ~

TITLE: Handbook of International and Intercultural Communication 
LOCATION:  Willis Library, 3rd floor
CALL #: P 94.6 .H36 2002

~ DICTIONARIES ~

TITLE: The Communication Handbook: A Dictionary
LOCATION: Willis Library, 3rd floor 
CALL #: P87.5 .D46 1986

ELECTRONIC DATABASES, INDEXES and ABSTRACTS

Electronic Abstracts, Indexes and Full-Text Resources (Databases)

Many communication journals at UNT Libraries are available in electronic format through a full-text database. Keep in mind, however, that there are other abstracts and indexes (databases) that do not provide full-text access to articles but which are still useful research tools. Some useful databases, full-text or otherwise, are described below.

Communication Abstracts provides summaries of journal articles, book chapters, and papers documenting all areas of communication studies (mass, interpersonal, and new communication technologies). Entries are arranged under subtopic headings such as "Health Communication" or "Education and Communication.Online coverage is 1998 to 2003. UNT Libraries have a print version of Communication Abstracts that covers 1978 to 2006.

ComAbstracts contains abstracts of articles and books published in the primary professional literature of the communications field. As of June 2006, ComAbstracts indexes approximately 87 journals, most of which are held by UNT Libraries. Coverage for most journals starts in the 1980s. This is not a full-text database, but it does contain coverage for some titles and time periods not covered by other communication-specific databases. Once you identify an article in ComAbstracts, use the Library Catalog Journal Title Search to determine if UNT Libraries has the particular journal issue needed.

Communication and Mass Media Complete is an index that provides full-text access to articles related to communications and mass media. It combines the databases CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index. Full-text articles are available for nearly 200 journals.

Academic Search Premier is a scholarly collection providing full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. It contains full-text articles for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, with coverage dating back to 1975. Searching Academic Search Premier in addition to searching communication-specific resources (ComAbstracts, Communication & Mass Media Complete), may be desirable when researching topics that cross academic disciplines.

LexisNexis Academic Contains general news (1980 to today), business information (full text news and financial information), legal research (full-text federal, state, and international legal materials), medical (full-text and abstracted medical and health information), and general reference sources.

JOURNALS

UNT Catalog Subject Search Terms
     (by Communication areas):

 If you want to browse a journal area in our collection, click on the following subject headings. . .

Communication Periodicals
Communication and Culture Periodicals
Communication in Management Periodicals
Communication Methodology Periodicals
Communication Research Periodicals
Communication Sex Differences Periodicals
Communication Social Aspects Periodicals
Forensics (Public Speaking) Periodicals
Freedom of Speech Periodicals
Freedom of Speech United States Periodicals
Information Technology Social Aspects Periodicals
Mass Media Periodicals
Oral Communication Periodicals
Oral Communication Study and Teaching Periodicals
Oratory Periodicals
Public Speaking Periodicals
Rhetoric Philosophy Periodicals
Speech Periodicals

 

Locating a Journal by Journal Title

If you have a specific journal title in mind, conduct a search in the UNT Library Catalog to determine if UNT subscribes either in print or online. You can request journal articles not available at the UNT Libraries through Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery. Keep in mind that a Library Catalog search will not work for the title of an article or the author of an article, only the title of the journal in which an article is published. For article title and article author searches, consult an electronic abstract or index (database).

This page is maintained by Lilly Ramin last modified Friday, July 13, 2007. 12:22 PM
Info
News and Events

 

Finding Books!

Finding monographic materials (books) owned by the University of North Texas Libraries is accomplished via the Online Library Catalog.

Finding Articles & Papers

Finding articles and papers can be accomplished via a number of electronic resources at the University of North Texas.

Interlibrary Loan

The University of North Texas provides Interlibrary Loan for those materials that our library does not hold.

Remote Access to UNT Electronic Resources

For those users associated with UNT that need to access our electronic resources from outside of the campus network the library maintains a Web page that lists the common plug-ins and other requirements necessary for access.

 

UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

Post Office Box 305190
Denton , TX , 76203-5190
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection