Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Census Genealogical Information
Document Actions

Genealogical Information

Since census information about specific individuals is not released until 72 years after the census is taken, the latest census data on specific people is from 1930.

HeritageQuest Online, available to the UNT community, is a collection of genealogies, local histories, primary source materials, and the United States federal censuses, 1790-1930. Searchable name indexes are availabe for the 1790 through 1820, 1860, 1870, and 1900 through 1930 censuses.

GeneaSearch’s U.S. and International Census Information page includes links to commercial sites that charge for copies of census records, as well as many free sites containing U.S. Census information and census records from some other countries.

The USGenWeb Census Project is an all-volunteer project to transcribe census records in a standard format in order to make them available to genealogical researchers on the Internet. The USGenWeb Archives provides a searchable genealogical and historical database to the general public free of charge.

The Census Bureau's Availability of Census Record About Individuals (available in Government Documents under Call Number C 3.252 : 2/5/REV.) explains which census materials are available and how to obtain them, and also lists non-census sources for some other useful records about individuals.

The Guide to Genealogical Research in the National Archives (available in General Reference, Willis Library under Call Number Z5313.U5 U54 2000) will tell you what information is available from each census. Depending on the year, data available may include any of the following:

  • name
  • age
  • number of years in the U.S.
  • marital status
  • whether a convict
  • birthplace of father and mother
  • number of children born

For additional information, see the U.S. Census Bureau's Genealogy page, as well as the following pages from the National Archives and Records Administration Web site:

 

This page is maintained by Bobby Griffith last modified Wednesday, July 23, 2008. 02:43 PM
Info
News and Events

 

Finding Books!

Finding monographic materials (books) owned by the University of North Texas Libraries is accomplished via the Online Library Catalog.

Finding Articles & Papers

Finding articles and papers can be accomplished via a number of electronic resources at the University of North Texas.

Interlibrary Loan

The University of North Texas provides Interlibrary Loan for those materials that our library does not hold.

Remote Access to UNT Electronic Resources

For those users associated with UNT that need to access our electronic resources from outside of the campus network the library maintains a Web page that lists the common plug-ins and other requirements necessary for access.

 

UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

Post Office Box 305190
Denton , TX , 76203-5190
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection