|
|
Tax Law Subject Guide (prepared by the UNT Libraries' Government Documents Department)
General Resources
- Tax Law (LexisNexis® Academic)
- This online database, available to members of the UNT
community, searches and retrieves many full text resources related to tax law,
including federal and state statutes, regulation, rulings, and cases; law review
articles; tax law reporters; the Internal Revenue Bulletin and
Cumulative Bulletin; and more.
- LexisNexis®
Knowledge Base: Taxation (LexisNexis)
- Descriptions of sources related to tax law available
in the LexisNexis database. Includes suggestions on how to search these
materials.
- American Bar
Association: Section of Taxation (ABA)
- The national voice of tax lawyers. Goals
include helping taxpayers better understand their rights and obligations under
the tax laws and working to make the tax system fairer, simpler and easier to
administer. They publish The Tax Lawyer and The
State and Local Tax Lawyer.
U.S. Federal Tax Law
General Sources
- Tax Law (LexisNexis® Academic)
- This online database, available to members of the UNT
community, searches and retrieves many full text resources related to tax law,
including the Internal Revenue Code, Treasury regulations, Internal
Revenue Bulletin and Cumulative Bulletin, IRS actions and
memoranda, private letter rulings/tax advice memoranda, Department of Labor
letter opinions, and federal tax cases.
- Federal Tax Law (Tax Sites.Com,
LLC)
- Comprehensive links to U.S. statutes, regulations, rules, court
cases, treaties, and pending legislation.
Federal Statutes
- U.S.
Code: Title 26—Internal Revenue Code (Legal Information Institute)
- Current statutes related to federal income tax. An annotated
version, which includes references to related court cases, law review articles,
and other materials, is available in Willis Library under Call Number KF62.U5
T.26.
Regulations and Administrative Rulings
- Code of Federal
Regulations: Title 26—Internal Revenue (Legal Information Institute)
- Current regulations related to federal income tax. Earlier
editions back to 1936 area available in Government Documents Microforms. Ask at
the Government Documents Service Desk for assistance.
- Internal
Revenue Service (IRS)
- US federal agency responsible for tax collection and tax law
enforcement. See especially the collection of information on Tax Law
Issues.
- Treasury (Tax) Regulations (IRS)
- Current and proposed regulations related to federal income tax. Includes summaries of proposed regulations in plain language.
- Internal Revenue
Bulletin (IRS)
- This weekly publication is the authoritative instrument of the
IRS for announcing all substantive rulings necessary to promote a uniform
application of tax law. Individual issues are later compiled into the
Cumulative Bulletin.
- Cumulative Bulletin
- Consolidates all items of a permanent nature published weekly
in Internal Revenue Bulletin, as well as cumulating announcements relating to
decisions of the Tax Court. Issues from 1969 to the present are available in Government Documents under Call Number T22.25:
[year-no.].
Court Cases and Opinions
- U.S. Tax Court
- Congress created the Tax Court to provide a judicial forum in
which affected persons could dispute tax deficiencies determined by the
Commissioner of Internal Revenue prior to payment of the disputed amounts. Opinions
Search is a database that contains Tax Court and Memorandum Opinions back to
September 25, 1995, and Summary Opinions back to January 1, 2001.
State Tax Law
- FTA
Links Page (Federation of Tax Administrators)
- Links to state tax agencies forms, and online
filing information.
- State
Comparisons (Federation of Tax Administrators)
- Comparisons of state tax rates, tax burden, tax
revenues, and other topics.
- Tax Law (LexisNexis® Academic)
- This online
database, available to members of the UNT community, searches and
retrieves many full text resources related to tax law, including
combined state attorney general tax opinions and state tax cases.
- Texas Tax Code (Texas
Legislative Council)
- Texas statutes related to taxes, searchable by table of contents.
- Texas Administrative Code: Title
34. Public Finance, Part I. Comptroller of Public Accounts (Texas Secretary of
State)
- Texas rules and regulations related to taxes, searchable by
hierarchically linked tables of contents.
Foreign and International Tax Law
- International Tax
(Tax Sites.Com, LLC)
- Links to country-specific tax sites, IRS
resources, international tax associations, and other resources.
- Basic
World Tax Code (Tax Analysts)
- This model tax code provides developing and transition countries
with a legislative framework as they work to formulate modern tax policies and taxation
laws.
This page is maintained by
Bobby Griffith
—
last modified
Wednesday, January 16, 2008. 11:51 AM
|
|