Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Business Marketing, Media, & Advertising
Up one level
Document Actions

Marketing, Media, & Advertising

Adweek Directory

The directory of U.S. advertising agencies, public relations firms, media buying services and specialized marketing companies HF5805.A395 [location: General Reference shelves]

The advertising red books (Agencies)

This directory provides the following information for each U. S. agency: specialization, names of accounts, officers, account executives, approximate annual billings, and percent by media. It provides a ranked list of the largest agencies, and it provides lists of media service organizations, sales promotion agencies, and public relations firms. HF5805.S72 [location: General Reference shelves]

Standard Directory of Advertisers

This is a directory of over 25,000 U. S. companies that advertise nationally. It is organized into 50 product classifications. For each company it gives directory information, sales, number of employees, SIC code, advertising agency, advertising appropriations, media used. An alphabetical index in the front lists top advertisers and ad agencies. Volume ... HF5805.S7 [location: General Reference shelves]

Standard Rate & Data Service (SRDS)

Provides a brief description of the publication, circulation figures, rates for advertising, specifications, and contact information for all classes of media. Business Publication Advertising Source HF5905.S7231; Newspaper Advertising Source HF5905.S731; Radio Advertising Source HF5905.S741; SRDS Consumer Magazine & Advertising Source HF5905.S7252; SRDS Interactive Advertising Source HF5905.S727; TV & Cable Source HF5905.S7452

Lifestyle Market Analyst (SRDS): The Essential Source for Demographic

Provides extensive data covering DMA Market Profiles, lifestyle profiles, and demographic segment profiles. Includes much data on consumer preferences.

Broadcasting & cable yearbook

Includes overview, broadcast group ownership, television, cable stations, radio stations, satellites, programming, services, law and regulation. Provides TV and cable marketplace statistics for Nielsen's DMAs (Designated market Areas). Furnishes radio marketing statistics (Arbitron Metro Survey Area Rankings) and U.S. radio markets including population ... HE8689.B775 [location: General Reference shelves]

Rand McNally Commercial Atlas and Marketing Guide

Annual. Provides economic information for local geographic areas. Includes demographic coverage of the United States combined with interpretation of business data. In addition to detailed state maps, this source offers information on transportation services, manufacturing and retail sales and population on the county and city level. G1019.R22 [location: General Reference Desk]

Survey of Buying Power

Provides extensive demographic statistics categorized by factors such as age, gender, and ethnicity. The bound volumes of Sales and Marketing Management contain this special issue, "Survey of Buying Power," published around September. The latest issue is on Reserve.

County Business Patterns

County Business Patterns provides annual economic profiles of business and industry by county, state, and the United States. Includes statistics, by industry, on employment, payroll, and number of establishments, arranged by SIC and NAICS code.

American Cost of Living Survey

Reported price and data for hundreds of goods and services in 506 U.S. cities and metropolitan statistical areas are found in this source. It is arranged alphabetically by city or MSA (at least one in each state) and prices are categorized under headings such as "Alcoholic Beverages," "Clothing," "Health Care," "Taxes," and "Utilities." Prices of many ... HD6983.A67 [location: Willis Library General Reference shelves; also located at the Dallas Campus Library]

American incomes : demographics of who has money

This source is based on the government's detailed income data, particularly from the Census Bureau. The book is divided into six chapters covering household income, men's income, women's income, discretionary income, wealth, and poverty. HC110.I5A447 [location: General Reference shelves]

American men and women : demographics of the sexes

The chapters provide tables mostly based on data collected by the federal government, especially the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, National Center for Education Statistics, and the National Center for Health Statistics. Contents include attitudes and behavior, education, health, income, labor force, living arrangements, population, spending, ... HC110.C6A43 [location: General Reference shelves]

American Salaries and Wages Survey

Statistical data derived from more than 300 government, business, and news sources. Wages in 3,000 occupations in the USA by metropolitan area. HD4973.A67 [location: General Reference shelves]

Americans and Their Homes: demographics of homeownership

Published by New Strategist Publications. Most tables are based on data collected and published by the Census Bureau in its American Housing Survey. Includes demographics, homeowners by region, owners of new homes, owners who have moved, affluent homeowners, spending on housing. HD7287.82.U6R87

Best customers : demographics of consumer demand

This source examines spending patterns by the demographic characteristics of households. It analyzes spending on more than 300 products and services by age of householder, household income, household type, race and Hispanic origin of householder, region of residence, and educational attainment of householder. The source identifies which household spend ... HC79.C6R87 [location: General Reference shelves]

Burrelle's media directory. Texas.

Directory of contact information for radio and television stations, newspapers, and magazines. P88.8.B867 [location: General Reference shelves]

Editor & Publisher International Year Book

Part I  provides in-depth listings for U.S., Canadian, and foreign daily newspapers, including contact information, circulation, and advertising rates. Part II furnishes U.S. and Canadian data on the non-daily newspaper industry. Provides listings of community weekly newspapers, U.S. and Canadian shopper/TMC publications, specialty and niche ... PN4709.E3 [location: General Reference shelves]

Editor & Publisher Market Guide

Provides market ranking tables (population, disposable income, income per household, high school graduation rate, cost of living index, total retail sales, retail sales tables for consumer items). Also provides in-depth market profiles for the U.S. and Canada including MSAs, PMSAs, CMSAs, NECMAs, county boundaries, and U.S. daily newspaper markets. HF5905.E38 [location: General Reference shelves]

Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns

Furnishes profiles of 500 of the most notable advertising and marketing initiatives of the Twentieth Century. HF5837.E53 [location: General Reference shelves]

Gale city & metro rankings reporter

A single source providing physical, social, business, cultural, economic, demographic, governmental and leisure information for more than 1500 US cities and metropolitan statistical areas. HT123.G25 [location: General Reference shelves]

Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media

Identifies specific print and broadcast sources of news and advertising for trade, business, labor, and professionals. Arrangement is geographic with a thumbnail description of each local market. Indexes are classified (by format and by subject matter) and alphabetical (by name and by keyword). It is kept up-to-date between editions by supplements. Z6951.A972 [location: General Reference Desk]

Household spending : who spends how much on what

This volume, published by New Strategist Publications, bases its data on the data collected by the Bureau of Labor Statistics. The tables calculate household spending indexes, per capita indexes, aggregate spending, and market shares. The publication provides hundreds of spending categories by age of householder, household income, income type, and region. HC110.C6H68 [location: General Reference shelves]

Housing statistics of the United States

Furnishes approximately 250 data tables dealing with demographics and housing demand, housing stock production and investment, housing market outcomes, housing finance, and federal housing programs. Sources include U.S. Bureau of the Census data, U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development reports, Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System ... HD7293.A1H654 [location: General Reference shelves]

International Literary Market Place: ILMP

Arranged by country, this directory covers 180 countries and includes email addresses and industry yellow pages. It covers publishers, literary agents, book manufacturing, major book dealers, major libraries, literary associations, periodicals, international organizations, book trade calendar, and prizes. ILMP Z291.5.I5 [location: Willis Library General Reference shelves; also located in Sci/Tech Reference]

NAICS (North American Industry Classification System) manual

This U.S.-designated 6 digit code replaces the older SIC code. It is the result of a joint effort by the U.S., Canada, and Mexico to classify industries so that statistics produced in the three countries will be comparable. Eventually the SIC codes will no longer be used, but right now the directories of companies and industries that you are using have ...

Peterson's media companies

Covers advertising, books, CDs, film, Internet, magazines, newspapers, radio/TV. P88.8.P47 [location: General Reference shelves]

Plunkett Research Online

Provides in depth industry information on 29 industries ranging from Advertising to Wi-Fi. Analyzes trends, technologies, and statistics supplemented with market data and glossary.

Sheldon's major stores & chains & resident buying offices

Includes department store chains, home furnishing chains, women's specialty stores, women's specialty store chains, resident buying offices. HF5429.3.S51 [location: General Reference shelves]

Sourcebook of Zip Code Demographics (CACI)

This is a print source with demographic and marketing variables.

Statistical record of Black America

This book is designed to provide quick answers to many questions on the African-American experience. Nearly 1,000 statistical graphs, tables, and lists have been taken from a wide variety of private, commercial, and governmental sources and arranged into subject chapters. E185.5.S83 [location: General Reference shelves]

Statistical handbook of working America

Statistics on Occupations, Careers, Employment, and the Work Environment. HD8064.S73 [location: General Reference shelves]

Statistical handbook on racial groups in the United States

Provides extensive statistics that document important differences among groups, but also pointing to major similarities among them. Tables based on data from sources including the Bureau of the Census, the Bureau of Labor Statistics, and the U. S. Department of Education. E184.A1H417 [location: General Reference shelves]

StatUSA / Internet (National Trade Data Bank)

StatUSA is a full-text database of domestic and international economic and trade information. State of the Nation includes domestic information such as economic indicators, employment statistics, industry statistics, fiscal & monetary policy, price & productivity statistics, and Survey of Current Business. StatUSA also provides an extensive collection of ...

U. S. Industry and Trade Outlook

This source replaced the U. S. Industrial Outlook. It is organized alphabetically by industry. It provides trends, forecasts, tables, industry data, and product data, mostly for large industries.

American Statistics Index (ASI)

Paper copy available in Government Documents Abstracts & Indexes. Indexes a wide range of U.S. economic and demographic statistics available in publications issued by U.S. federal government agencies.  ASI has two parts, the INDEX volume and the ABSTRACT volume.

Census 2000

The last comprehensive U.S. census took place in 2000. This is a guide to sources of and guides to using data from the 2000 census.

The economic censuses are comprehensive canvasses of industrial and business activities. They are conducted every 5 years, in years ending in 2 and 7. 

County and City Data Book (University of Virginia Library)

This U.S. Bureau of the Census publication gives the most frequently requested census information for U.S., states, counties, cities of 25,000 or more, and places of 2500 or more.

Statistical Resources

Major sources of national, state, local, foreign, and international statistical data in the University of North Texas Libraries and on the Internet. Includes links to major statistical agencies at all levels of government and to major statistical indexes.

Statistical Reference Index

The SRI microfiche collection contains thousands of statistical publications from U.S. and state government agencies, trade and professional associations, independent research organizations, academic institutions, and industry magazines. It is particularly useful for market reseach, industry analyses, statistics for policy decisions, etc. Paper copy ...

Gartner Core Research Services

Gartner Core Research Services delivers technology-related insight necessary for users to make the right decisions, every day. Gartner serves 10,000 organizations, including chief information officers and other senior IT executives in corporations and government agencies, as well as technology companies and the investment community. EUID and password are ...

Mintel Reports

Mintel offers a series of research reports covering the US and International marketplace. Each market research report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape, market-share analysis and consumer profiles. Complex demographic issues are broken into easy-to-understand sections, explaining consumer behavior and demonstrating the structure of the ...

Regional Economic Accounts

Formerly REIS (Regional Economic Information System), this site includes estimates of personal income and per capita personal income for metropolitan areas and counties; personal income by major source; labor and proprietors' earnings by industry; employment; transfer payments by major program; and farm income and expenses.

Statistical Abstract of the United States

Statistical Abstract of the United States is a compilation of statistics (mostly U.S., but includes some international) on a broad range of topics, including demographics, economics, science and technology, geography, environment, and more.

Zip Code Business Patterns

Zip Code Business Patterns contains Zip code level business data for each industry/SIC code.

Center for Research in Electronic Commerce (University of Texas at Austin)

This site includes links to electronic resources, research centers, publications, and conferences. via URL

Ecommerce: Rutgers University Libraries: Research & Reference Gateway: Business Reference Guides

Contents: Doing business, statistics, technologies, research, infoservers, news, and e-journals via URL

Ecommerce: University of Pennsylvania Library

Topics include: marketing, Internet economy, ecommerce news, and statistics via URL

ABI Inform

ABI/INFORM GLOBAL via Proquest offers full text cover-to-cover journal coverage for journals in the business and management areas. Search by publication, keyword, topic or use a guided search with boolean operators to find articles of interest. Formats include full text, text + graphics, and page image. Coverage is 1971 to present. NOTE: If you are unable ...

Business Source Complete

Business Source Complete via Ebscohost provides full text and abstracts of articles in journals, magazines, newspapers and periodicals covering a wide range of topics in business and industry. For best remote access, use Internet Explorer or FireFox.

Predicast's PROMT

PROMT -- Predicast Overview of Markets and Technology. Use this database to research companies, the products and technologies they produce, and the markets in which they compete. Includes summaries and full text from nearly 1,000 business and trade journals, industry newsletters, newspapers, market research studies, news releases, and investment and ...

Marketing Dictionaries in the UNT Libraries

Publishers include Blackwell Publishers, Wiley, NTC Business Books, Barron's, Kogan Page.

Merchandising and Marketing Scales -- Dictionaries in the UNT Libraries

Merchandising, consumer goods, marketing scales (measures for marketing and consumer behavior research) [location: General Reference shelves]

Marketing Plan books in the UNT Libraries

Step-by-step guides for developing, implementing & managing an effective marketing plan for a business, product, or service.

Marketing Research books in the UNT Libraries

Books on market segmentation, attitude research, focus groups, business demography, consumer behavior, marketing scales.

Books on business logistics at the UNT Libraries

Also known as marketing logistics, these books cover distribution logistics, supply chain management, economic logistics, international logistics, product development, and buyer-supplier strategic alliances.

Standard and Poor's Industry Surveys (available through Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage)

Go to Standard and Poor's Net Advantage to access the Industry Surveys. Click the INDUSTRIES tab. For each industry, the Surveys provide an industry analysis and a comparative company analyses. Over 55 U.S. industries and 154 sub-industries are covered. In addition, the Global Industry Surveys cover Europe, Asia, and Latin America.

NetAdvantage - Standard and Poor's

Standard and Poors NetAdvantage is a comprehensive source of business and investment information, offering on-line access to Standard & Poors research products such as Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Corporation Records, The Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, The Outlook, and Mutual Fund Reports. NetAdvantage provides searching and ...

Business & Company Resource Center

Business & Company Resource Center (Business and Company Resource Center) provides company and industry information for over 300,000 companies. Includes company profiles, industry rankings, marketing information, products, brands, investment ratings, financial ratios, financial statements, market size, industries by SIC, directory information, and more. ...

Hoover's Online

Hoover's Online provides proprietary information on about 18,500 companies, 180,000 officers, and 600 industries in an easy-to-read format. The database also furnishes access to additional information on nearly 13 million companies from leading providers such as Dun & Bradstreet. Hoover's Online provides advanced tools to create targeted contact lists, ...

Reference USA

Reference USA Business Database provides directory information for more than 12 million U.S. businesses. The information is compiled from the following public sources: more than 5,600 Yellow Page and Business White page telephone directories; annual reports, 10-Ks, other financial information provided by the SEC, Chamber of Commerce information, and other ...

Ad*Access

Ad*Access is a collection of historical advertisements. It includes over 7,000 ads, mainly from U.S. publications dating between 1911 and 1955.