Insurance
A. M. Best publications
Best's Aggregates & Averages: Property-Casualty; Best's Insurance Reports: Life-Health Best's Insurance Reports: Property-Casualty
Mergent Manuals
Insurance companies are listed in Mergent's Bank & Finance Manual, volume, HG4961.M6922, volume 2. Mergent manuals contain brief historical information and financial information listed on U.S. stock exchanges. Other items of information include lists of subsidiaries, businesses, properties, officers, and directors. Moody's also furnishes the balance sheet, ...
NetAdvantage - Standard and Poor's
For a survey of the insurance industry, click on Industries, then Industry Surveys, and scroll to Insurance: Life & Health; Insurance: Property/Casualty. Standard and Poors NetAdvantage is a comprehensive source of business and investment information, offering on-line access to Standard & Poors research products such as Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, ...
ABI Inform
ABI/INFORM GLOBAL via Proquest offers full text cover-to-cover journal coverage for journals in the business and management areas. Search by publication, keyword, topic or use a guided search with boolean operators to find articles of interest. Formats include full text, text + graphics, and page image. Coverage is 1971 to present. NOTE: If you are unable ...
Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete via Ebscohost provides full text and abstracts of articles in journals, magazines, newspapers and periodicals covering a wide range of topics in business and industry. For best remote access, use Internet Explorer or FireFox.
Predicast's PROMT
PROMT -- Predicast Overview of Markets and Technology. Use this database to research companies, the products and technologies they produce, and the markets in which they compete. Includes summaries and full text from nearly 1,000 business and trade journals, industry newsletters, newspapers, market research studies, news releases, and investment and ...
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly collection providing full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc. Full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, coverage ...
Research library (Periodical Abstracts Research II)
Research Library via ProQuest (formerly Periodical Abstracts Research II) provides abstracts, indexing, and full text articles from academic journals and magazines. Formats include full text, text + graphics, and page image. If search results do not show beyond first page, you should click Tools-Internet Options-Delete Files and then click on Settings to ...
Texas Department of Insurance (TDI)
Texas law requires most insurers and insurance-related businesses to be licensed before selling their products or services. The Texas Department of Insurance licenses insurance companies, agents, third-party administrators, health maintenance organizations (HMOs), premium finance companies, continuing care retirement communities, insurance adjusters, and ... via URL
National Association of Insurance Commissioners
State insurance regulators created the NAIC in 1871 to address the need to coordinate regulation of multistate insurers. The first major step in that process was the development of uniform financial reporting by insurance companies. via URL
Insurance Institute for Highway Safety
The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety is an independent, nonprofit, scientific and educational organization dedicated to reducing the losses — deaths, injuries, and property damage — from crashes on the nation's highways. The Highway Loss Data Institute shares and supports this mission through scientific studies of insurance data representing the human ... via URL
ConsumersUnion.org
Consumers Union (CU) is an expert, independent, nonprofit organization, whose mission is to work for a fair, just, and safe marketplace for all consumers. CU publishes Consumer Reports and ConsumerReports.org in addition to two newsletters, Consumer Reports on Health and Consumer Reports Money Adviser with combined subscriptions of more than 7 million. ...
National Flood Insurance Program
The Mitigation Division, a component of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), manages the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). The three components of the NFIP are: flood insurance, floodplain management, and flood hazard mapping. Nearly 20,000 communities across the United States and its territories participate in the NFIP by adopting and ... via URL
Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation
The Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) is an independent agency created by the Congress that maintains the stability and public confidence in the nation’s financial system by insuring deposits, examining and supervising financial institutions, and managing receiverships. Member banks must follow certain liquidity and reserve requirements. via URL
Plunkett's Insurance Industry Almanac
The book includes an analysis of insurance and risk management industry trends, dozens of statistical tables, an industry glossary, a database of industry associations and professional organizations, and in-depth profiles of more than 300 of the world's leading insurance companies, both in the U.S. and abroad. Latest copy in General Reference, Willis Library. Call number HG8525 .P58
Plunkett Research Online
Provides in depth industry information on 29 industries ranging from Advertising to Wi-Fi. Analyzes trends, technologies, and statistics supplemented with market data and glossary.
American Academy of Actuaries
The American Academy of Actuaries serves the public on behalf of the U.S. actuarial profession. Uniting actuaries from all practice areas, the Academy is the voice of the profession on public policy and professionalism issues. The purposes of the Academy's work are described in the mission, which was updated in 2007. The Academy was created in 1965 and is ... via URL
American Institute for CPCU and Insurance Institute of America
The American Institute for Chartered Property Casualty Underwriters (AICPCU) and the Insurance Institute of America (IIA) are independent, nonprofit organizations offering educational programs and professional certification to people in all segments of the property and liability insurance business. We respond to the educational needs of people in insurance ... via URL
Association of Finance and Insurance Professionals
The Association of Finance & Insurance Professionals was established to support in-dealership F&I personnel and the lenders and vendors that support the F&I trade. As the F&I industry's sanctioning body, AFIP provides a professional certification program and maintains an industry-derived Code of Ethics. The association also provides regulatory compliance ...
Association of Health Insurance Advisors
The mission of AHIA is to provide advocacy, services, and education to professional advisors in order to support a private, competitive health care insurance marketplace. AHIA members are NAIFA Federation members actively involved in the sale of group and individual health related products including disability, long-term care, critical illness, Medicare ... via URL
Blue Cross Blue Shield Association
The Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association (BCBSA) is a national federation of 39 independent, community-based and locally operated Blue Cross and Blue Shield companies. For more than 70 years, the 39 Blue Cross and Blue Shield companies have provided millions of families with top-quality, affordable health insurance. via URL
Casualty Actuarial Society
The Casualty Actuarial Society is a professional organization whose purpose is the advancement of the body of knowledge of actuarial science applied to property, casualty, and similar risk exposures. via URL
CPCU Society: The Professional Association for Chartered Property Casualty Underwriters
The Chartered Property Casualty Underwriters (CPCU) Society is a community of credentialed property and casualty insurance professionals who promote excellence through ethical behavior and continuing education. The Society's more than 28,000 members hold the Chartered Property Casualty Underwriter (CPCU) designation, which requires passing rigorous ... via URL
Gamma Iota Sigma: The International Risk Management, Insurance, and Actuarial Science Collegiate Fraternity
The foremost Professional Fraternity for Men and Women pursuing careers in Risk Management, Insurance and Actuarial Science. The object of this fraternity is to promote, encourage, and sustain student interest in insurance, risk management, and actuarial science as professions; to encourage the high moral and scholastic attainments of its members; and to ... via URL
Global Association of Risk Professionals
The Global Association of Risk Professionals (GARP) is a not-for-profit association consisting of 71330 individuals around the world who are involved in financial risk management. Members come from over 100 countries, and work in regional and global banks, asset management firms, insurance companies, central banks, securities regulators, hedge funds, ... via URL
Independent Insurance Agents and Brokers of America (IIABA)
The Independent Insurance Agents & Brokers of America (IIABA) is a national alliance of 300,000 business owners and their employees who offer all types of insurance and financial services products. IIABA is a voluntary federation of state associations and local boards, with affiliates in every state and the District of Columbia. via URL
Insurance Regulatory Examiners Society
IRES works to enhance the efforts of insurance regulators by ensuring professionalism and integrity among the men and women who serve with state or federal insurance regulatory bodies. IRES's professional designation program consists of two nationally recognized professional designations, Accredited Insurance Examiner (AIE) and Certified Insurance Examiner ... via URL
Million Dollar Round Table
The Million Dollar Round Table (MDRT), The Premier Association of Financial Professionals, is an international, independent association of more than 35,000 members, or less than 1 percent, of the world's most successful life insurance and financial services professionals from 476 companies in 76 nations and territories. via URL
National Alliance for Insurance Education & Research
Creating, developing, and delivering practical continuing education programs for everyone involved in the insurance and risk management industries is the challenge and purpose of The National Alliance for Insurance Education & Research. via URL
National Association for Variable Annunities
NAVA addresses the need and importance of retirement income preparation and management for retirement-focused Americans, and within this mission, NAVA focuses on the growth, acceptance and understanding of annuity and variable life products to fulfill important objectives of retirement income planning. via URL
National Association of Fire Investigators
The National Association of Fire Investigators was organized in 1961. Its primary purposes are to increase the knowledge and improve the skills of person engaged in the investigation and analysis of fire, explosions and arson, or the litigation that ensues from such investigations. via URL
National Association of Health Underwriters (NAHU)
NAHU will improve its members' ability to meet the health, financial and retirement security needs of all Americans through education, advocacy and professional development. Contents of home page: Consumer Information, Legislative Advocacy, Education, Member's Area, Media & Communications, Meetings. via URL
National Association of Insurance and Financial Advisors (NAIFA)
The National Association of Insurance and Financial Advisors (NAIFA) is a national nonprofit association representing the interests of more than 70,000 insurance and financial advisors nationwide, through its federation of over 900 state and local associations. As the nation's largest financial services membership association, NAIFA plays a vital role in ... via URL
National Association of Insurance Women International (NAIW)
NAIW (International) serves its members by providing professional education, an environment in which to build business alliances and the opportunity to make connections with people of differing career paths and levels of experience within the insurance industry. NAIW International Headquarters is located in Tulsa, Oklahoma. via URL
National Association of Mutual Insurance Companies (NAMIC)
Founded in 1895, the National Association of Mutual Insurance Companies (NAMIC) is a full-service national trade association serving the property/casualty insurance industry with more than 1,400 member companies that underwrite more than 40 percent of the property/casualty insurance premium in the United States. via URL
National Association of Professional Insurance Agents
The National Association of Professional Insurance Agents (PIA) represents independent Professional Insurance Agents in all 50 states, Puerto Rico and the District of Columbia. Our members are local Main Street Agents who serve their communities throughout America. PIA represents members' interests in state capitals and on Capitol Hill in Washington, D.C. ... via URL
National Coalition on Health Care
The National Coalition on Health Care is the nation's largest and most broadly representative alliance working to improve America's health care. The Coalition, which was founded in 1990 and is non-profit and rigorously non-partisan, is comprised of more than 70 organizations, employing or representing about 150 million Americans. via URL
National Conference of Insurance Legislators (NCOIL)
NCOIL is the voice of state legislators in Washington. The purpose of NCOIL is to help legislators make informed decisions on insurance issues that affect their constituents. NCOIL works to educate state legislators on current and perennial insurance issues and to help state legislators from different states interface effectively with each other. via URL
Professional Liability Underwriting Society (PLUS)
The Professional Liability Underwriting Society (PLUS) was founded in 1986 by industry professionals who recognized the need for a forum for individuals involved in the field of professional liability. The Society is a non-profit organization with membership open to persons interested in the promotion and development of the professional liability industry. via URL
Property Casualty Insurers Association of America (PCI)
PCI is the nation's premier property/casualty trade association, representing more than 1,000 member companies. Its purpose is to advocate its members' public policy positions at four levels: federal government, state legislatures, federal and state courthouses and the public arena, and to provide its members with targeted industry information. via URL
Public Risk Management Association (PRIMA)
PRIMA’s members coordinate risk management, purchase insurance, manage human resources, administrate safety and environmental programs, manage labor issues, handle parks and recreation programs and much more. via URL
Risk and Insurance Management Society (RIMS)
The Risk and Insurance Management Society, Inc. (RIMS) is a not-for-profit organization dedicated to advancing the practice of risk management, a professional discipline that protects physical, financial and human resources. Founded in 1950, RIMS represents nearly 4,000 industrial, service, nonprofit, charitable, and governmental entities. The Society ... via URL
Securities and Insurance Licensing Association (SILA)
The Securities & Insurance Licensing Association was established in October of 1990. The purpose of the organization is to bring together licensing experts whose occupations encompass all aspects of licensing and registration, including, but not limited to, the licensing and registration of agents, agencies, adjusters, brokers, companies, producers, ... via URL
Society for Risk Analysis (SRA)
The Society for Risk Analysis is a multidisciplinary, interdisciplinary, scholarly, international society that provides an open forum for all those who are interested in risk analysis. Risk analysis is broadly defined to include risk assessment, risk characterization, risk communication, risk management, and policy relating to risk, in the context of risks ... via URL
Society of Actuaries (SOA)
The Society of Actuaries (SOA) is the largest actuarial professional organization in the world. It is dedicated to serving 18,000 members and the public. via URL
Society of Financial Service Professionals (SFSP)
For more than 75 years, the Society of Financial Service Professionals has been helping individuals, families, and businesses achieve financial security. With their strong commitment to delivering only those financial products and planning services that are in their clients' best interests, the Society's nearly 20,000 members nationwide are uniquely ... via URL
Society of Insurance Research (SIR)
The Society of Insurance Research was founded in 1970 to provide a forum for the free exchange of ideas in all areas of insurance research. It has expanded to marketing and planning, as well as research. via URL
University Risk Management and Insurance Association (URMIA)
Founded in 1966. Represents colleges and universities that have an insurance/risk management program of any type and related commercial organizations, such as, insurance companies. Promotes the exchange of concepts and data for sound risk and insurance management. Conducts risk management projects and professional development. via URL
Woman's Life Insurance Society
Founded in 1892. Fraternal benefit life insurance society focusing on the needs of women. Each review or local club engages in local charitable community projects. via URL
Workers Compensation Insurance Organizations (WCIO)
The WCIO (Workers Compensation Insurance Organizations) is a voluntary association of statutorily authorized or licensed rating, advisory, or data service organizations that collect workers compensation insurance information in one or more states. The WCIO is composed of the managers of the various boards and jurisdictions. The purpose of the WCIO is to ... via URL
Central Texas Chapter of Risk and Insurance Management Society
Seeks to promote the discipline of risk management and enhance the image of the professional risk manager; to foster the educational and professional development of risk managers, as well as others within the risk management and insurance communities; to influence legislation and regulation at the federal, state, and provincial levels, for the benefit of ... via URL
Independent Insurance Agents of Texas (IIAT)
Founded: 1898. Description: Promotes professionalism in education, governmental advocacy, and in providing insurance markets and technical resources to all members. Computer Services: Online services, insurance reference library, called InfoCentral. Affiliated With: Insurance Information Institute. via URL
CPCU Society (Chartered Property Casualty Underwriters)
The Chartered Property Casualty Underwriters (CPCU) Society is a community of credentialed property and casualty insurance professionals who promote excellence through ethical behavior and continuing education. via URL
Consumer Protection Links (from Texas Online - Living in Texas)
Contents: Lemon Laws, Call Before You Dig, Consumer Protection Links to the Texas Attorney General's Office, Consumer Complaints, Insurance Company Complaints, Utility Complaints, Deceptive Trade Practices Info, Consumer Credit Commissioner, Credit Reports.
Consumer Information and Advice for Texas Consumers (Texas Department of Insurance)
Insurance Complaint Forms for the following: Life/Health; Auto/Home; Commercial Lines; Real Estate Title; Workers' Comp. Additional links include Consumer Complaint Information; HMO Compliant Summaries; Physician/Provider/Clinic Complaint Forms. Internet
Practical Risk Management
This reference manual covers the following aspects of risk management: administrative activities; risk finance and self-insurance; loss control/claims management; legal & political aspects; property risks & insurance; liability risks & insurance: risk manager's resources. Call number: HB615 .W3 Location: General Reference, Willis Library, 1st Floor.