Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Business Human Resources Management
Up one level
Document Actions

Human Resources Management

ABI Inform

ABI/INFORM GLOBAL via Proquest offers full text cover-to-cover journal coverage for journals in the business and management areas. Search by publication, keyword, topic or use a guided search with boolean operators to find articles of interest. Formats include full text, text + graphics, and page image. Coverage is 1971 to present. NOTE: If you are unable ...

Business Source Complete

Business Source Complete via Ebscohost provides full text and abstracts of articles in journals, magazines, newspapers and periodicals covering a wide range of topics in business and industry. For best remote access, use Internet Explorer or FireFox.

Business & Company Resource Center

Business & Company Resource Center (Business and Company Resource Center) provides company and industry information for over 300,000 companies. Includes company profiles, industry rankings, marketing information, products, brands, investment ratings, financial ratios, financial statements, market size, industries by SIC, directory information, and more. ...

Hoover's Online

Hoover's Online provides proprietary information on about 18,500 companies, 180,000 officers, and 600 industries in an easy-to-read format. The database also furnishes access to additional information on nearly 13 million companies from leading providers such as Dun & Bradstreet. Hoover's Online provides advanced tools to create targeted contact lists, ...

Texas Newspaper Collection via Newsbank

Provides full text access to the Abilene Reporter-News, Amarillo Globe-News, Austin American-Statesman, Beaumont Enterprise, Corpus Christi Caller-Times, Dallas Morning News (including Arlington Morning News), El Paso Times, Fort Worth Star Telegram, Graham Leader, Houston Chronicle, Lubbock Avalanche-Journal, Midland Reporter-Telegram, Plainview Daily ...

Predicast's PROMT

PROMT -- Predicast Overview of Markets and Technology. Use this database to research companies, the products and technologies they produce, and the markets in which they compete. Includes summaries and full text from nearly 1,000 business and trade journals, industry newsletters, newspapers, market research studies, news releases, and investment and ...

InfoTrac Custom Newspapers

InfoTrac Custom Newspapers provides full text access to 124 regional and national U.S. newspapers as well as international newspapers. Includes The Austin American-Statesman, The Houston Chronicle, The New York Times, The New York Post, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, the Knight-Ridder/Tribune News Wire, The Times (London), The Guardian, and The Financial ...

netLibrary

Contains electronic books you can read online. With the release of NetLibrary 4.0 the online checkout feature for eBooks has been discontinued. You will need to create a login name and password with netLibrary. Click here for an interactive tutorial on how to set up a netLibrary account. UNT has access to 50,479 netLibrary eBooks through Amigos Library ...

Occupational Outlook Handbook

Occupational Outlook Handbook provides the employment outlook for more than 250 occupations. Topics included for each occupation are: nature of the work; working conditions; employment, training, other qualifications, and advancement; job outlook; and earnings.

Occupational Information Network 0*NET

Occupational Information Network O*NET is a comprehensive database of the U.S. Employment and Training Administration that identifies and describes occupations, worker skills, knowledge, abilities, and workplace requirements. O*Net replaced the Dictionary of Occupational Titles.

LexisNexis Academic

Includes News, Business, and Legal Research sections. Business information includes financial statements, accounting, taxation, industries, international business, information systems. Legal Research includes law reviews, case law, codes, and statutes for all U.S. courts and all 50 states. Start here when looking for Supreme Court decisions and Texas Cases.

Associations Unlimited

Associations Unlimited contains information for approximately 460,000 international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations in all fields, including IRS data on U.S. 501(c) nonprofit organizations. For some 2,600 major U.S. national associations, provides full-text association materials such as brochures, pamphlets, ...

Encyclopedia of Associations

This is the hardcopy equivalent of Associations Unlimited, described above. Hint: use the keyword index to look up your association, get a reference number, and then look it up in volume two.

National Human Resources Association (NHRA)

Description: Represents human resource executives in business, industry, education, and government. Established to expand and improve the professionalism of those in human resource management. Established in 1951, the National Human Resources Association (NHRA) is a network of local affiliates focused on advancing the development of human resource ... via URL

Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM)

Founded: 1948. Description: Professional organization of human resource, personnel, and industrial relations professionals and executives. Offers certification through the Human Resource Certification Institute. Promotes the advancement of human resource management. Sponsors SHRM Foundation. Includes jobs and careers in Human Resource Management. Internet

College and University Professional Association for Human Resources (CUPA-HR)

Founded: 1946. Description: Professional organization made up of colleges and universities interested in the improvement of campus Human Resource administration. Carries out special research projects and surveys, including annual administrative compensation survey for higher education. via URL

The Human Resource Certification Institute (HRCI)

The Human Resource Certification Institute (HRCI) offers three professional certifications: Professional in Human Resources (PHR), Senior Professional in Human Resources (SPHR), and Global Professional in Human Resources (GPHR). via URL

Human Resource Planning Society (HRPS)

Founded: 1977. Description: Human resource planning professionals representing 160 corporations and 3000 individual members, including strategic human resources planning and development specialists, staffing analysts, business planners, line managers, and others who function as business partners in the application of strategic human resource management ... via URL

Human Resources Outsourcing Association (HROA)

The HROA is the definitive independent organization for all those who purchase, provide, or participate in HR transformation and outsourcing. Our membership encompasses over 7,500 HR executives, including the largest 50 buyers, the top 30 providers, the leading sourcing advisors and attorneys, and the best thought leaders in HR Transformation. The HROA ... via URL

Book of Lists (Dallas Business Journal)

Published annually, it provides essential information on the leading buyers, businesses, and employers in Dallas. It provides a look at the local economy and includes key contact information and facts for top businesses, industries, professions, governmental units and nonprofit organizations.

The Book of Lists (Fort Worth Business Press)

Published annually, it provides rankings of the largest Tarrant County businesses, employers, and non-profits.

PsycInfo via Ebscohost

PsycInfo, formerly known as PsycLit, provides abstracts for journal articles, books, chapters of books, technical reports, and dissertations representing the international field of psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, behavior analysis, and social work. Coverage is ...

JSTOR

JSTOR provides access to archived backfiles of journals in Arts & Sciences, Language & Literature, General Science, Ecology & Botany, and Music. The full-text of journals is provided for each title beginning with Volume 1. Recent volumes may or may not be included, depending on the agreement between JSTOR and the publishers. Some titles may be from 2 to 5 ...

Human Resources Abstracts

Human Resources Abstracts provides summaries of journal articles, book chapters, and papers documenting the role and methods of human resources in society. Coverage begins with 1999.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection) provides full text coverage of 470 journals in the areas of psychology, psychiatry, mental process, anthropology. EBSCOhost database by way of TexShare.

Business Plans Handbook: A Compilation of Actual Business Plans Developed by Small Businesses throughout North America

Included is a directory of organizations, agencies, and consultants for small business. The last volume in the series provides a cumulative index of all the preceding volumes. Continuously updated.

bPlans.com

This is a commercial site (they hope that you will buy their software) however, they offer many examples of business plans, categorized by industry. Avoid using a standard template because you will lose the uniqueness that is so important for an entrepreneurial venture, but the examples may be useful.

SBA - sample plans

Provides extensive links to sample business plans.

Emerald Fulltext

Emerald publishes the world's widest range of management and library & information services journals. Our portfolio is made up of over 100 leading management and library and information services titles and form part of the Emerald Fulltext database which can be accessed electronically alongside a hard copy print subscription.

Reference USA

Reference USA Business Database provides directory information for more than 12 million U.S. businesses. The information is compiled from the following public sources: more than 5,600 Yellow Page and Business White page telephone directories; annual reports, 10-Ks, other financial information provided by the SEC, Chamber of Commerce information, and other ...

Regional Business News

REGIONAL BUSINESS NEWS from EBSCOhost includes abstracts for 67 regional business publications with full text for 52 of those titles. Funded through TexShare.

United States Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

The agency of the United States Government that enforces the federal employment discrimination laws. EEOC has five commissioners and a General Counsel appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate. The General Counsel is responsible for conducting EEOC enforcement litigation under Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 (Title VII), the Equal Pay ... via URL

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Business Connection page

The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) is a Federal civil rights law that prohibits discrimination against people with disabilities in everyday activities, such as buying an item at the store, going to the movies, enjoying a meal at a local restaurant, exercising at the health club, or having the car serviced at a local garage. via URL

State of Texas State Classification Office (HR)

The State Classification Office (SCO) is a unique team that is responsible for maintaining the State’s Compensation and Classification System and providing information on employee compensation issues to the Legislature. via URL

State of Texas State Classification Office / EEOC Categories

The Equal Employment Opportunities Act requires state and local governments file to file an EEO-4 report on an annual basis. Within the EEO reporting requirements employees must be counted by sex and race/ethnic category for each of the eight occupational categories: officials and administrators, professionals, technicians, administrative support (including ... via URL

National Labor Relations Board

The National Labor Relations Board is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1935 to administer the National Labor Relations Act, the primary law governing relations between unions and employers in the private sector. The statute guarantees the right of employees to organize and to bargain collectively with their employers, and to engage in ... via URL

U.S. Department of Labor / Occupational Safety & Health Administration (OSHA)

The Occupational Safety and Health Administration aims to ensure employee safety and health in the United States by working with employers and employees to create better working environments. Since its inception in 1971, OSHA has helped to cut workplace fatalities by more than 60 percent and occupational injury and illness rates by 40 percent. At the same ... via URL

Texas Workforce Commission

The Texas Workforce Commission (TWC) is the state government agency charged with overseeing and providing workforce development services to employers and job seekers of Texas. For employers, TWC offers recruiting, retention, training and retraining, and outplacement services as well as valuable information on labor law and labor market statistics. For job ... via URL

Office of Federal Contract Compliance Programs (OFCCP, U.S. Department of Labor)

The Office of Federal Contract Compliance Programs (OFCCP) is part of the U.S. Department of Labor's Employment Standards Administration. OFCCP is responsible for ensuring that employers doing business with the Federal government comply with the laws and regulations requiring nondiscrimination and affirmative action in employment. via URL

Texas Department of Insurance / Worker's Comp

Texas law requires most insurers and insurance-related businesses to be licensed before selling their products or services. TDI licenses insurance companies, agents, third-party administrators, health maintenance organizations (HMOs), premium finance companies, continuing care retirement communities, insurance adjusters, and public insurance adjusters doing ... via URL

Social Security Publications

"A directory of the information pamphlets and fact sheets that SSA publishes on its benefit programs

U. S. Social Security Administration / Social Security Online

Benefits, earnings and employment, forms and publications, government pension rules, international issues, laws and regulations, Freedom of Information, retirement planner, taxes. via URL

International Association for Human Resource Information Management (IHRIM)

IHRIM, the International Association for Human Resource Information Management, is the resource that HR technology professionals turn to for industry news, knowledge and networking. Formed in 1980 from informal gatherings when HR and IT professionals found themselves needing mediators, IHRIM has become the world’s leading clearinghouse for the HRMS industry. via URL

National Association of Personnel Services (NAPS)

The National Association of Personnel Services has been the staffing industry educator since 1961 and enjoys its reputation as the oldest industry association. We continue to maintain the position as the search and staffing industry educator through our certification program, continuing education initiatives, eLearning and our annual conference. via URL

SHRM Global Forum

Founded: 1977. Description: Executives responsible for international human resource management. Acts as an information clearinghouse on international concerns and issues; provides a forum for networking. Maintains information center of publications and periodicals on international human resources management. A division of the Society for Human Resource ... via URL

Texas Municipal Human Resources Association

The Texas Municipal Human Resources Association is organized to promote, encourage, and advance the development of personnel and human resources administration in Texas municipalities. via URL

This site furnishes definitions for over 1,000 legal terms. It also provides a legal encyclopedia with plain English articles about the most popular legal topics.

FindLaw

Well-organized, comprehensive index to sources of legal information on WWW, including sources of news publications and broadcasts. Includes links to other indexes and LawCrawler, a search engine that focuses on legal information.

LawInfo

A free service designed to help consumers and businesses resolve their legal issues. Included are samples of legal forms and documents, such as a contract to sell an automobile, a will, or an employment agreement. Includes answers to a wide variety of commonly asked legal questions. via URL

LLRX.com

LLRX.com is a unique, free Web journal dedicated to providing legal, library, IT/IS, marketing and administrative professionals with the most up-to-date information on a wide range of Internet research and technology-related issues, applications, resources and tools, since 1996. LLRX.com delivers current, high quality content on a broad range of topics ... via URL

Washlaw

Washburn University School of Law website. Covers Current Court News, DocLaw, Law Firms, Law Forms, Law Jobs, Federal Agencies, Federal and State Courts, International Law, Legal Directories, Master Legal Index. via URL

Law Subject Guide (prepared by the UNT Libraries' Government Documents Department)

Sources of primary documents such as statutes, regulations, rulings, court opinions, as well as secondary resources such as dictionaries, directories, and law reviews, and tips on researching and writing about the law.

Texas Courts and Case Decisions

Sources of opinions decided by state and local courts in Texas, and links to court Web sites.

Texas legal resources for specific subject areas.

Contents: Texas Administrative Code; Texas Constitution; Texas Legislature Online; Texas Statutes organized by code.

Catalyst

Founded in 1962, Catalyst is the leading nonprofit corporate membership research and advisory organization working globally with businesses and the professions to build inclusive environments and expand opportunities for women and business. via URL

Bureau of Labor Statistics

The principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics

U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services

On March 1, 2003, service and benefit functions of the U.S. Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) transitioned into the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) as the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS). USCIS is responsible for the administration of immigration and naturalization adjudication functions and establishing immigration ... via URL

Subject headings include affirmative action programs, alcoholism, applications for positions, career development, compensation management, diversity in the workplace, employee assistance programs, employee morale, employee retention, grievance procedures, labor turnover, job analysis.

American Management Association

American Management Association (AMA) is a world leader in professional development and performance-based learning solutions. AMA provides individuals and organizations worldwide with the knowledge, skills, and tools to achieve performance excellence, adapt to changing realities, and prosper in a complex and competitive world. via URL

Manpower, Inc.

Manpower Inc. (NYSE: MAN) is a world leader in the employment services industry; creating and delivering services that enable our clients to win in the changing world of work. The Manpower Employment Outlook Survey is issued quarterly and is frequently quoted by the news media. Press releases summarize the results of the survey, which covers all regions of ... via URL

World-Newspapers.com

World-newspapers.com is a portal that connects the user with thousands of international and national newspapers, magazines, and news sites, all in English. Current issues are available; availability of older content varies by publication. The site allows selection by region and/or country and searching by topic. Links connect directly to the content ...