Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Document Actions

Finance

Databases only available in the COBA Access Labs

These COBA BUSINESS RESEARCH DATABASES include WRDS, Compustat, Center for Research in Security Prices (CRSP), EVENTUS, IBES, ORS/ROS, Research Insight, and NYSE Monthly TAQ Database.

WRDS Wharton Research Data Service

For more information, please see Cengiz Capan (ITDS), the COBA faculty representative for WRDS. The University Libraries and the College of Business Administration worked together to fund the Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) license for UNT. The COBA now has access to WRDS. Individual WRDS accounts are offered to UNT faculty, full-time UNT research ... Available in the College of Business Administration building. See Cengiz Capan in the ITDS Department.

UNT's registered CFP program with the CFP Board of Standards

Sponsored by the University of North Texas and the Professional Development Institute. UNT's and PDI's CFP Board-Registered Programs with Certified Financial Planner Board of Standards, Inc. ("CFP Board"). The programs have been Board-Registered with the CFP since 1987. via URL

Federal Reserve Bulletin

This periodical is the most complete source for finding current U.S. banking and monetary statistics. It covers federal finance, interest rates on money and capital markets, stock market indexes, new security issues, mortgage markets, flow of funds, consumer installment credit, and interest and exchange rates. It also provides some basic U.S. business ... Current copies are on the shelves in Current Periodicals/Reserves section. Older, bound copies are on shelves in the Willis Library Lower Level. It also has electronic edition and can be accessed by e-journal in UNT library electronic resources

Security owner's stock guide (Standard & Poor's)

Data covered includes common and convertible preferred stock price range, dividend, capitalization and earnings. Mutual fund summaries are also available. HG4915. S67 [Location: General Reference shelves]

Bond Guide (Standard and Poor's Corporation)

Statistical guide on over 5,900 corporate bonds and convertibles, with the S & P bond rating for each. HG4921. S618 [Location: General Reference shelves]

How to research an old stock certificate

These web sites cover getting started, company histories, corporate records, what is Scripophily, and fee-based services.

A. M. Best publications

Best's Aggregates & Averages: Property-Casualty; Best's Insurance Reports: Life-Health Best's Insurance Reports: Property-Casualty Best's Aggregates & Averages: Property-Casualty HG8945. B481; Best's Insurance Reports: Life-Health HG8943.B3; Best's Insurance Reports: Property-Casualty HG9655.B51

Cost of capital Yearbook

Covers data through March of the year published. It compiles data from Standard & Poor's Compustat Data, organized by industries based on Standard Industry Classification (SIC) codes. The yearbook contains critical statistics needed to analyze U.S. corporations and industries. It provides industry financial information including five separate measures of ...

CRB Commodity Yearbook

Comprehensive source of commodity and futures market information. It provides critical information on more than 100 domestic and international commodities and includes seasonal patterns and historical data from the past ten years as well as current (as of the last three months) pricing and trading patterns on a monthly and annual basis. HG6046.K651 current issue [Location: General Reference shelves]

Daily Graphs: New York Stock Exchange

Published weekly by Daily Graphs. Features of the Daily Graphs include: Top Performing Industry Group Charts; Leading American Exchange Stocks; Timeliness Rating on Each Stock; Quarterly Sales & Earnings with Percent Changes; Institutional Ownership of Each Stock; Earnings Estimates and Quarterly Dividends; and Accumulation/Distribution Ratings. HG4572. D3 [Location: General Reference shelves]

Daily Stock Price Record

Separate ranges of volumes for NYSE, NASDAQ, and OTC. The Daily Price Record for these three markets is published four times a year. The Price Record includes two sections: 1.) Major technical indicators and indexes of the market, and 2.) "Daily and Weekly Stock Action", a record of stock prices on the market for a three-month period. NYSE HG 4915.I21; NASDAQ HG 4915.S61; OTC HG 4915.S6

Directory of Venture Capital

This directory is designed to help business owners, advisors and others determine if they, or their clients, are candidates for professional venture capital and, if so, which venture firms to approach. The directory includes over 600 of the nation's most active venture capital firms. The book is a resource for planning an organized, targeted search for ... HG4751.L57 2000 [Location: General Reference shelves]

Mergent bond record

Formerly known as Moody's annual bond record, this annual provides a history of a year's corporate and municipal bond rating activity, including preferred stock ratings, with a guide to bond ratings, new issues, ratings upgrades, downgrades and withdrawals during the year, issues matured, maturing or redeemed in the year, new preferred stock, and upgraded ... HG4905. M781 [Location: General Reference shelves]

Mergent corporate news reports monthly

Monthy cumulations of Moody's Bank & finance news reports ; Moody's Industrial news reports ; Moody's OTC news reports ; Moody's OTC unlisted news reports ; Moody's public utility news reports ; Moody's transportation news reports--weekly publications. HG4961.M65 [Location: General Reference shelves]

Mergent Dividend Record

Formerly Moody's Dividend Record. Covers dividend statistics such as stock splits, stockholders rights, tax status of dividends. Updated annually. HG4028. D5M61 [Location: General Reference shelves]

Mergent Industry Review

Formerly Moody's Industry Review, this is a comprehensive statistical reference containing key financial information, operating data, and key business ratios for approximately 3,500 companies arranged in 137 industry groups. The information is arranged by industry group so that the companies may be compared with each other, and may be measured against ... HG4961.M68 [Location: General Reference shelves]

Mergent Manuals

Mergent manuals contain brief historical information and financial information listed on U.S. stock exchanges. Other items of information include lists of subsidiaries, businesses, properties, officers, and directors. Moody's also furnishes the balance sheet, financial and operating statistics, and sometimes "Management Discussion and Analysis." Bank and Finance HG4961. M6922; Corporate News Reports (Monthly) HG4961.M65; Industrial HG4961. M72; International HG4009 .M6615; Municipal and Government HG4931. M582; OTC Industrial HG 4905. M862; OTC Unlisted HG4551. M771; Public Utility & Transportation HG4961. M733

Mergent municipal news reports monthly

Provides monthly compilations of the weekly News Reports to the Mergent Municipal and Government Manual. HG4931.M5821 [Location: General Reference shelves]

Mergent's handbook of common stocks

One page descriptions of more than 900 companies. Each listing includes a 10 year summary of financials and outlines the company's recent developments and prospects. HG4905. M816 [Location: General Reference shelves]

Million Dollar Directory / Dun & Bradstreet

Included in this five-volume directory are approximately 160,000 leading U.S. public and private companies. Also included are domestic subsidiaries of foreign corporations. Vols. 1-3 list these businesses alphabetically. Entries include D-U-N-S number, headquarters address, telephone number, annual sales, number of employees, standard industrial ... HF5035.M531 [location: General Reference shelves and at the Dallas Campus Library]

Notable Corporate Chronologies

Provides chronologies (timelines) for over 1,800 of the most significant corporations currently operating in the U.S. and abroad. Includes key dates, major product introductions, tenures of key officers, mergers and acquisitions, and major stock offerings. HG4009.N68 [location: General Reference shelves]

Standard and Poor's Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives

Volume 1 (Corporations): Alphabetical listings of approximately 55,000 corporations with address, officers, stock exchange(s) on which company is traded, annual sales, number of employees, description of principal products and more. Volume 2 (Directors and Executives): Alphabetical listing of about 70,000 individuals. Volume 3 (Indexes): Divided into seven ...

Standard & Poor's stock reports. American Stock Exchange, New York Stock Exchange, Nasdaq and regional exchanges.

Quarterly stock reports: business summary, short balance sheet, stock beta, analysis and forecasts for 3,000 companies on NYSE, ASE, and NASDAQ. Call number HG4907 .S72 [location: General Reference shelves]

Stocks, bonds, bills and inflation yearbook (SBBI yearbook)

Also known as the SBBI Yearbook, this publication by Ibbotson Associates provides a comprehensive, historical view of the performance of capital markets dating back to 1926. It contains total returns and index values for large and small company stocks, long-term corporate bonds, long- and intermediate-term government bonds, and Treasury bills and inflation. [Location: General Reference shelves]

Value Line Research Center

Make sure you are "logged on" at the top right of the Value Line home page. Once logged in, click "Subscriber Index" at the top left of the Value Line home page. This permits access to the following Value Line products: The Ratings & Reports section contains one-page reports on approximately 1,700 companies and more than 90 industries. Each company report ...

Value Line Investment Survey - older issues on microfiche

The Microforms Department, located in the Willis Library lower level, has the Value Line microfiche from 1969 to current.

NetAdvantage - Standard and Poor's

Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage is a comprehensive source of business and investment information, offering on-line access to Standard & Poor's research products such as Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Corporation Records, The Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, The Outlook, and Mutual Fund Reports. NetAdvantage provides searching and ...

Thomson One Banker (Thomson Analytics)

Thomson One Banker conducts powerful searches against data from multiple databases and displays detailed reports and charts. Search across multiple databases for immediate access to news, quotes, earnings estimates, key financials, ratios, and growth rates for over 65,000 active and inactive global companies. The data is drawn from IBES, Worldscope, SDC, ...

ABI Inform

ABI/INFORM GLOBAL via Proquest offers full text cover-to-cover journal coverage for journals in the business and management areas. Search by publication, keyword, topic or use a guided search with boolean operators to find articles of interest. Formats include full text, text + graphics, and page image. Coverage is 1971 to present. NOTE: If you are unable ...

Business Source Complete

Business Source Complete via Ebscohost provides full text and abstracts of articles in journals, magazines, newspapers and periodicals covering a wide range of topics in business and industry. For best remote access, use Internet Explorer or FireFox.

How to do a Disclosure Search via LexisNexis Academic

Disclosure reports are available through LexisNexis, located on the UNT Libraries' Electronic Resources menu.

LexisNexis Academic

Includes News, Business, and Legal Research sections. Business information includes financial statements, accounting, taxation, industries, international business, information systems. Legal Research includes law reviews, case law, codes, and statutes for all U.S. courts and all 50 states. Start here when looking for Supreme Court decisions and Texas Cases.

NBER Working Papers

National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) Working Papers: Nearly 500 are published each year, and many appear in scholarly journals. NBER researchers initially report their findings in scientific papers aimed at other professional economists in academic institutions, business, government, and the business media around the world. Topics: Economics, ...

Plunkett Research Online

Provides in depth industry information on 29 industries ranging from Advertising to Wi-Fi. Analyzes trends, technologies, and statistics supplemented with market data and glossary.

Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED) 

FRED provides Federal Reserve Board statistical releases, the Beige  Book, working papers, historical data file series (monthly monetary data, interest rates, reserves, CPI, exchange rates).

Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation

The Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) is an independent agency created by the Congress that maintains the stability and public confidence in the nation’s financial system by insuring deposits, examining and supervising financial institutions, and managing receiverships. Member banks must follow certain liquidity and reserve requirements.

Mortgage Bankers Association

The Mortgage Bankers Association (MBA) is the national association representing the real estate finance industry, an industry that employs more than 500,000 people in virtually every community in the country.

Morningstar.com

Morningstar, Inc. is a leading provider of independent investment research in the United States and in major international markets. Our mission is to create great products that help investors reach their financial goals. We offer an extensive line of Internet, software, and print-based products for individual investors, financial advisors, and institutional ... via URL

Directory of Obsolete Securities

This volume will aid the researcher not only in determining what became of companies but also indicates the value of stock at the time of merger or acquisition. Dissolutions and charter revocations are also included. The directory provides brief information on "banks and companies whose original identities have been lost as a result of one or more of the ... Located in General Reference, First Floor, Willis Library, HG4961 .D56

American Bankers Association

Founded in 1875 and now based in Washington, DC, the American Bankers Association represents banks of all sizes on issues of national importance for financial institutions and their customers.

Provides useful, timely information about the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas, the Federal Reserve System, and the regional, national and global economies

National Association of Mortgage Brokers (NAMB)

Description: Mortgage brokers seeking to increase professionalism and to foster business relationships among members. Offers three levels of professional certification. Focuses on education and government affairs. Committees: Education; Legislative; Political Action. Divisions: Certified Mortgage Consultant. Formed by Merger of: American Institute of ... via URL

Texas Department of Savings and Mortgage Lending

Regulating State Chartered Savings Banks with combined assets of over $9 billion. Regulating over 24,000 Mortgage Brokers and Loan Officers throughout Texas. Regulating over 400 Mortgage Banking Companies. via URL

Finance Commission of Texas

The Finance Commission is responsible for overseeing and coordinating the Texas Department of Banking, the Department of Savings and Mortgage Lending, and the Office of the Consumer Credit Commissioner and serves as the primary point of accountability for ensuring that state depository and lending institutions function as a system, considering the broad ... via URL

Texas Department of Banking

Regulates in Texas: banks and holding companies, foreign banks, trust companies, money services businesses, prepaid funeral contracts, perpetual care cemeteries, and private child support enforcement agencies. via URL

Texas Office of Consumer Credit Commissioner

The Office of Consumer Credit Commissioner regulates the credit industry and educates consumers and creditors. Agency efforts help produce a fair, lawful, and healthy credit environment for social and economic prosperity in Texas. via URL

Certified Financial Planner Board of Standards, Inc.

The mission of Certified Financial Planner Board of Standards, Inc. (CFP Board) is to help people benefit from competent, professional and ethical financial planning. via URL

CFA Institute (Chartered Financial Analyst)

CFA Institute is the global, not-for-profit association of investment professionals that awards the CFA (Chartered Financial Analyst)and CIPM (Certificate in Investment Performance Measurement) designations. via URL

Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA -- formerly NASD)

The Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA), is the largest non-governmental regulator for all securities firms doing business in the United States. All told, FINRA oversees nearly 5,100 brokerage firms, about 174,000 branch offices and more than 675,000 registered securities representatives. (Formerly National Association of Securities Dealers, ... via URL

Securities Investor Protection Corporation

The Securities Investor Protection Corporation either acts as trustee or works with an independent court-appointed trustee in a missing asset case to recover funds. The statute that created SIPC provides that customers of a failed brokerage firm receive all non-negotiable securities that are already registered in their names or in the process of being ... via URL

North American Securities Administrators Association

NASAA is a voluntary association whose membership consists of 67 state, provincial, and territorial securities administrators in the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, Canada, and Mexico. In the United States, NASAA is the voice of state securities agencies responsible for efficient capital formation and grass-roots ... via URL

Texas State Securities Board

The State Securities Board is responsible for regulating the securities industry in Texas. We register securities offered or sold in Texas and oversee the firms and individuals selling securities or providing investment advice to Texans. Through our Investor Education initiative, we help our fellow Texans become informed investors. via URL

Fannie Mae (Federal National Mortgage Association)

Fannie Mae is a shareholder-owned company with a public mission. We exist to expand affordable housing and bring global capital to local communities in order to serve the U.S. housing market. Fannie Mae has a federal charter and operates in America's secondary mortgage market to ensure that mortgage bankers and other lenders have enough funds to lend to ... via URL

Freddie Mac Home Page (Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporation)

The Emergency Home Finance Act of 1970 created Freddie Mac and authorized it to create a secondary market for conventional mortgages. Parallel authority and limitations to deal in conventional mortgages were given to Fannie Mae. To alleviate credit concerns raised by acquisition of conventional mortgages (that lack federal backing), several eligibility ... via URL

Ginnie Mae Home Page (Government National Mortgate Association)

At Ginnie Mae, we help make affordable housing a reality for millions of low- and moderate-income households across America by channeling global capital into the nation's housing markets. Specifically, the Ginnie Mae guaranty allows mortgage lenders to obtain a better price for their mortgage loans in the secondary market. The lenders can then use the ... via URL

World Bank home page

The World Bank is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world. We are not a bank in the common sense. We are made up of two unique development institutions owned by 185 member countries—the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD) and the International Development Association (IDA). via URL

The IMF is an organization of 184 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty

Office of Federal Housing Enterprise Oversight

The Office of Federal Housing Enterprise Oversight's mission is to promote housing and a strong national housing finance system by ensuring the safety and soundness of Fannie Mae (Federal National Mortgage Association) and Freddie Mac (Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporation). Internet

Internet Resources for Finance (Georgia State University)

Extensive site. Contents: general financial sites, analysis, bonds, corporate financials, earnings estimates, exchange rates, exchanges (stock and commodity exchanges), indices, mergers and acquisitions, mutual funds, personal finance. Internet

Bankrate.com

Small Business Ratio Calculators: Bankrate.com provides a brief introduction to ratio analysis as well as calculators for the most common ratios. Also provides calculators for mortgage, home equity, auto, CDs and investments, retirement planning, checking and savings, credit cards, debt management, college finance, personal finance, and taxes.

This page is maintained by Jeffrey Levy last modified Wednesday, April 15, 2009. 11:12 AM
Info
News and Events

 

Finding Books!

Finding monographic materials (books) owned by the University of North Texas Libraries is accomplished via the Online Library Catalog.

Finding Articles & Papers

Finding articles and papers can be accomplished via a number of electronic resources at the University of North Texas.

Interlibrary Loan

The University of North Texas provides Interlibrary Loan for those materials that our library does not hold.

Remote Access to UNT Electronic Resources

For those users associated with UNT that need to access our electronic resources from outside of the campus network the library maintains a Web page that lists the common plug-ins and other requirements necessary for access.

 

UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection